We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dining experience I’ve ever had”

Greenhouse Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A state of the art dining room and cutting-edge kitchen sets the scene at Greenhouse, where produce of the Constantia Valley and the region are presented as culinary creations in an intimate taste space. Here guests are invited on a multi-sensory journey of distinctly South African flavours and hospitality, as they savour and indulge in the delectable creations of Peter Tempelhoff and his team. Greenhouse stretches the boundaries of traditional South African cuisine, brings conceptual creations from the garden, veld and sea to the plate and shares local stories and culinary insights through the dining experience. Expect the unexpected... Greenhouse is where meals translate to memories.
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

I wish I could give this place a 10/5. Everything was perfect. From the time we walked through the doors we were greeted, walked to our table and sat in the courtyard section and it was so beautiful. There were 9 courses, you could see they put so much detail and attention to every single dish they do. I absolutely enjoyed every single bite. I would say that this was the best restaurant I’ve ever been to! Highly recommend BUT you do have to book months in advance!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Steph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

This is one of the top South African restaurants and the food was exquisite. Thoroughly enjoyed the creative process. The area is a bit far, the ambiance is stylish but cold .. and very quiet. For an uplifting dinner I wouldn’t recommend this. Service was good though at times too much in your face. Especially if you want to spend a romantic dinner with your other half.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Mariya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

The most inventive, thoughtful and delicious tasting menu showcasing the delights of South African specialist ingredients and producers. Impeccable presentation, wonderful flavour combinations and a charming chef. You MUST visit if you can get in!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank ClaireL3866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

I have eaten at the Test Kitchen as well as the Greenhouse on different trips to Cape Town.
I can say both where unique dining experience.
The Test Kitchen was a far more interesting and intricate dining experience, but considered the difference in cost as well as the difficulty of getting reservations at the Test kitchen I would definitely eat at the Greenhouse, the food was excellent and the service impeccable.
I consider the Greenhouse a better value, but if you can go to both do so.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

The chef here is quite amazing. 9 course degustation menu, every dish superb. Charming staff and well priced. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greenhouse Restaurant also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Greenhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing