We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true tasting experience”
Review of La Colombe

La Colombe
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: La Colombe, one of Cape Town's most well-loved and awarded restaurants. Contemporary French-meets-Asian fine dining.
Reviewed 10 August 2019

One of the best highly rated restaurants I've been especially with regards to the presentation of their food. The flavor combinations are superb. Service is great and wine list is extensive and suitable for all. Great job la Colombe! The tuna dishes were my absolute favorite.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank AarthiS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3 274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 357 of 3 274 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2019

We took advantage of La Colombe's Winter Special this year and thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. The greatly reduced price for the food makes it more possible for diners to experience one of SA's best restaurants.They do remove some of the expensive ingredients from the special however. For example, one of the dishes had foie gras and springbok as part of it on the regular menu but this was not included in the winter special version. So expect to have a pared down version of the original full priced courses. It was all very delicious,theatrical and memorable nonetheless.The wine prices however will make your eyes water if you are local. The cheapest- Klein Constantia Sauvignon Blanc- cost R 800 per bottle and this basically ruins any savings you made on the food. So Winter Special notwithstanding, you still need to fork out a lot of money to dine there. I have no regrets, loved every dish but will not be back for another few years!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maggy1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2019

Really outstanding vegan menu - the best we experienced in South Africa (apart from La Petite Colombe!); great service and an enjoyable meal. Note it is amongst the priciest restaurants we came across in South Africa, but still reasonable by international standards

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveller170000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2019 via mobile

This is a love letter!
From beginning to end, La Colombe is pure class. Fun, mind blowing and utterly delicious class. The Winter Special menu is a steal at R495. To have this magnificent experience at an 'affordable' price (when a lot of Cape Town feels (and is) a rip off nowadays), makes La Colombe in my eyes a true gem of Cape Town.

Flawless. Vegan menu options too. They are so accomodating, so kind.
Thanks for keeping it within reach for locals, guys! Seeya for Spring.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank bibirides
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2019 via mobile

Excellent food great Service wine delicious Lunch took us two hours

Not easy to find

See menu We certainly Will come back

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank SimonBraat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed La Colombe also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Colombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.