We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and friendly atmosphere”
Review of Brownies & downieS

Brownies & downieS
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Description: Contemporary home-style food, full of flavour and prepared with our own unique flare. Proud brewers of Truth Coffee. We are a non-profit cafe nestled at the bottom of Long Street, who train people with intellectual disabilities and find jobs for them. If you're wanting an atmosphere full of love, quality fresh food and drink...you've found us! Come and be part of our unique dining experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Contemporary home-style food, full of flavour and prepared with our own unique flare. Proud brewers of Truth Coffee. We are a non-profit cafe nestled at the bottom of Long Street, who train people with intellectual disabilities and find jobs for them. If you're wanting an atmosphere full of love, quality fresh food and drink...you've found us! Come and be part of our unique dining experience.
Reviewed 22 December 2017

What a pleasure having a cup of coffee here. These kids are extremely polite and helpful. What a great idea and it is certainly working as the place were packed during my visit

Thank 774daniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for your awesome review 774daniek! We appreciate your patronage, and welcome you back anytime! Thank you for your support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017

A delightful find - Truth coffe, superb brownies and service that I can only describe as an uplifting experience. Well done to the whole team at Brownies and Downies

Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for your awesome review Jean! We appreciate your patronage, and thank you for supporting our cause! We were happy to serve and what we do is so rewarding, we all thoroughly enjoy it! Please help us to spread the word!
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Brownies & Downies is a cute little place in the heart of Cape Town. Besides the great options on the menu and fair prices, the coffee shop has a beautiful initiative: They employ people with mental disorders to promote social inclusion, and this for sure, helps their service to be amazing! A must try from their lunch specials is the vegetarian pie with side salad and croissants!! And obviously, don't forget to try the coffee and brownie! If you book with Feastfox, you not only have a table with your name, but you get 10% off the bill on weekdays mornings! I have too much love for this app....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fernanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

It was great to have you with us Fernanda! Thank you for the awesome review! Looking forward to dining more amazing guests such as you through Feastfox!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

The atmosphere, the food, the drinks, the staff!
My partner was offered a flavour of milkshake that wasn’t even on the menu and it was incredible. We made sure he knew how good it was.
Staff are all super friendly, it’s such a pleasant place to be.
The drinks were definitely the best we have had in Cape Town.
The food was delicious and very well presented.
The brownie, well let’s just say it they definitely lived up to all of the hype!
The price... to good to be true. I’m sure you will feel like leaving them a tip like we did.
Highly recommend and completely devastated that we only discovered this place on our last of 8 days here.

Thank Meagan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you so much for your very kind review Meagan! We really appreciate your patronage and taking the time to visit us! It's always a pleasure to serve, and we're just sorry you couldn't come a few more times so we could knock your socks off with awesome flavours, foods & drinks! Hope to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We visited the establishment and they let us try the gluten free brownies we purchased a few. Great service if you like strong coffee go to another place. I'd return.

Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for review and rating Ben. We're glad that you and your group had an awesome experience at Brownies&downieS, and look forward to welcoming you back! Next time you're in, please ask to try our new VEGAN DARK CHOCOLATE BROWNIES. They're yummy!
We're sorry that the coffee didn't live up to your expectations. The beans are imported from Brazil and have been roasted in Cape Town to highlight the bean's fruity characteristics, and all our coffee drinks contain double shots. If I could humbly suggest trying our decadent hot chocolate, a gourmet milkshake, or to even shake it up by having our bullet coffee - a creamy coffee meal in liquid form!
See you soon, and thank you once again for your awesome support! We really appreciate you, and your feedback! It really helps us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brownies & downieS also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Brownies & downieS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing