We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BROWNIES I"VE EVER TASTED”
Review of Brownies & downieS

Brownies & downieS
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Description: Contemporary home-style food, full of flavour and prepared with our own unique flare. Proud brewers of Truth Coffee. We are a non-profit cafe nestled at the bottom of Long Street, who train people with intellectual disabilities and find jobs for them. If you're wanting an atmosphere full of love, quality fresh food and drink...you've found us! Come and be part of our unique dining experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Contemporary home-style food, full of flavour and prepared with our own unique flare. Proud brewers of Truth Coffee. We are a non-profit cafe nestled at the bottom of Long Street, who train people with intellectual disabilities and find jobs for them. If you're wanting an atmosphere full of love, quality fresh food and drink...you've found us! Come and be part of our unique dining experience.
Reviewed 10 April 2017

When you cant drive past the shop without stopping for a brownie,you know youre addicted

By far the most amazing piece of chocolate brownie i have EVER tasted. A perfect blend between a cake and no bake slice... AMAZINGGGG!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bianca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you so much for your review Bianca. We are honoured to have you choose us (and our brownies), and hold them in such high regard. The brownies are not only made by our chefs, but also by our special-needs trainees. They help to weigh out, mix and bake the ingredients. I think you've hit the nail on the head, as all of us (trainers and trainees included) have to resist the temptation to indulge in leftover batter or brownie offcuts!

Looking forward to indulging your brownie addictions going forward!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017

The coffee is consistently good, and the staff are exceptionally friendly. The scones are huge and delish! Shop is permanently clean.

Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you for your kind review Susan! It's only a pleasure to make and serve our food to our awesome patrons! Thank you for your continued support! Looking forward to serving you again when you next come in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This coffee shop is an amazing initiative. The people in there are so great. The service is 5* and the coffee and brownie was delicious! better then any Starbucks guaranteed.

Thank Omar546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you for your outstanding review Omar! We're humbled by your words and thankful that you supported us and that you enjoyed your visit. Please be welcomed again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

it is just amazing to see these people having a purpose in life, and the food is worth it even more.

Thank Rencia2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thank you for coming to support us Rencia! We appreciate your patronage and can speak for all of our trainees and staff in welcoming you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

This is a café worth visiting! I was very hungry mid-morning and found the first enticing café in my path - Brownies and Downies! So friendly, such attentive service and such good food! Thank you for feeding my stomach and my mind! Keep baking, keep smiling! Thank you!

Thank Chyld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us Chyld! We appreciate your patronage and are happy that your tummy quit talking after a yummy breakfast and coffee! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brownies & downieS also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Brownies & downieS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing