We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Gluten free brownies I have ever had! ... And I have had a lot of chocolate in my life!”
Review of Brownies & downieS

Brownies & downieS
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Description: Contemporary home-style food, full of flavour and prepared with our own unique flare. Proud brewers of Truth Coffee. We are a non-profit cafe nestled at the bottom of Long Street, who train people with intellectual disabilities and find jobs for them. If you're wanting an atmosphere full of love, quality fresh food and drink...you've found us! Come and be part of our unique dining experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Contemporary home-style food, full of flavour and prepared with our own unique flare. Proud brewers of Truth Coffee. We are a non-profit cafe nestled at the bottom of Long Street, who train people with intellectual disabilities and find jobs for them. If you're wanting an atmosphere full of love, quality fresh food and drink...you've found us! Come and be part of our unique dining experience.
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Great service... But the yummiest Brownies I have ever HONESTLY tasted! Moist and flavourfullllll! Quite sensational!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank ClaudiU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you for your review Claudi!
We're all very happy that you had an awesome experience at our shop. The brownies are out of this world and my personal favourite dessert (not being biased, just factual!) - we made sure to make them as scrumptcious as possible! The reason they are gluten-free is due to some of our trainees being gluten intolerant, and it's so easy to grab a small taster - they need to be able to eat it as well! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2017

As a company, Rawson Properties Ottery, we were invited by our attorneys Bissets to a breakfeast at this establishment. What a pleasure!! It was absolutely inspiring to be attended to by down syndrome waiters and waitresses. For me, it had a personal impact as I have an autistic grandson. In today's day and age, with all it's challenges, it humbles one to see that the owner of this establishment cares. Not only about providing a quality service and menu, but also about bringing dignity to the lives of mentally and physically challenged individuals. I would advise everyone to visit Brownies and Downies and experience the warmth and inspiration I felt.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DebbieD2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for your awesome review Debbie!
We had fun serving and speaking (Wendy) at the ladies breakfast. It was a great prove lage to be chosen and we're so very happy to have made an impact! The work, training, and placement of special needs adults is our absolute privilege, and we love seeing the pride and happiness well up in our trainees when they see traineeship work gives them a purpose. Thank you for your kind support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Such a great place to visit. I went during the school holidays with my daughter and her friend. Coffee and sandwiches are delicious. A worthwhile visit whilst in town.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Wanderlusterer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Thank you for your review Dominique.
It was out pleasure to serve you, your daughter and her friends. Thank you for your support, and we welcome having you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We visited on a Friday lunchtime and enjoyed very good sandwiches. The coffees were served with a nibbles of brownies and a shot of cream, a lovely touch and just enough to satisfy a sweet craving. The menu is perfect for breakfast, lunch or tea and cake.

The young people did an great job taking the order and serving the food. It is wonderful to see them being empowered and trained to work in the larger community, just a shame that so few companies are prepared to employ people with less visible / obvious disabilities.

We asked to chat with Wendy, one of the founders, who was passionate, engaging and inspirational.

The food makes it worth visiting. Supporting a brilliant initiative is a bonus. The whole visit...priceless!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank AbigailH720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Thank you for your visit and review Abigail!
We're pleased that you enjoyed yourself and are thankful for your support. When you see enough brownie nibbles like we do, we're more than happy to let customers have them because they are a huge temptation (they're slightly addictive!).
Wendy enjoyed talking to you, and we hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

My husband had the Garden salad and I had the Apricot and Butternut salad. Both were beautifully fresh and nicely presented. We had gluten free brownies with a Cappuccino and a tea. One is given a tray with 6 glass containers of different types of tea. You are able to smell and chose your preference and place your choice into a sieve which fits into the glass cup. A happy place run by special people.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank adelek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WadeChinChilla, General Manager at Brownies & downieS, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review Adele! We were happy to serve you and your husband and are thankful for your support. Please be welcomed back anytime, and a joyous and prosperous 2017 to you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brownies & downieS also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Brownies & downieS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing