We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Away Cheesecake”
Review of Smak

Smak
Ranked #126 of 1 304 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: US$60 - US$160
Description: smak is a Cape Town based delicatessen and restaurant. Founded by Katia Scherf, she has combined her local and global cheffing experiences to create a warm and welcoming environment for all guests. Every item on the menu is made-to-order, including the handmade pasta. smak delicatessen brews fresh coffee every day. Guests can enjoy anything from a traditional cappuccino to a more ‘hip’ flat white. Also available are iced coffee frappes, macchiatos, espressos and americanos. smak delicatessen was founded on the belief that great food doesn’t have to be complicated. The kitchen is led by head chef, Divan Snyman, who has been a part of the smak family from its very beginning. Katia and the rest of the team pride themselves on serving high quality consistent dishes using only the freshest ingredients Cape Town has to offer. The seasonal menu changes often, with firm favourites available all year round.
Restaurant details
Description: smak is a Cape Town based delicatessen and restaurant. Founded by Katia Scherf, she has combined her local and global cheffing experiences to create a warm and welcoming environment for all guests. Every item on the menu is made-to-order, including the handmade pasta. smak delicatessen brews fresh coffee every day. Guests can enjoy anything from a traditional cappuccino to a more ‘hip’ flat white. Also available are iced coffee frappes, macchiatos, espressos and americanos. smak delicatessen was founded on the belief that great food doesn’t have to be complicated. The kitchen is led by head chef, Divan Snyman, who has been a part of the smak family from its very beginning. Katia and the rest of the team pride themselves on serving high quality consistent dishes using only the freshest ingredients Cape Town has to offer. The seasonal menu changes often, with firm favourites available all year round.
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I didn't eat there but had a take away caramel cheesecake for a dinner party which was the best I have ever tasted. When "banters' seriously consider giving up their diet then you know how good it was. Try it!

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank uzberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017

Great breakfast or lunch venue serving standard "not too posh" meals.

Great coffee and the bacon & egg breakfast butty is my favourite.

Easy parking.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JTHZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Stopped by for a quick lunch and got a friendly welcome from the waitress. The staff remained attentive throughout.

I ordered the Good Ol Scramble and was blown away by the the effortless way in which the ingredients complemented each other. A symphony on a plate.

From my vantage point, I could see the kitchen. Even the manner in which the food was prepared is orchestral. It is like watching a show.

If you have a sweet tooth, try the salted caramel cheesecake. You won't be sorry.

The extraordinary food made me look for the proverbial Achilles heel. I tried very hard to find fault here, but found none.

What amazes me most about this little place is not many people know of it's existence.

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank RalphS1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

SMAK is just one of those places where they really try their best. The food is original, well plated and portioned. For its price range, you really do get a superior meal to most places around. The venue is perfect for a quick lunch or a meeting, and note best toilets for any restaurant in town :)

I am a regular customer and the staff now how to treat you as one.

Definitely recommended.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Evliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Popped in here with my son for a quick lunch. Staff are friendly and efficient and our waiter had a great smile. I had the burger which was so good. Freshly ground beef that was cooked to perfection and so tasty. My son had the meatballs and they too were delicious. We came there by chance and if I lived in SA I would definitely go back. This place looks great for everything from just a coffee to a great meal with family or friends

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank graunyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smak also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Smak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing