We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilly Poppers are the BOMB”
Review of The Fat Cactus

The Fat Cactus
Ranked #168 of 1 193 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 10 September 2019

Had a great time on Saturday, awesome spot for a date - warning, once you start to party here, cancel all your other plans!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank MeganDopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2019

Good menu with various Mexican favorites. Nice cocktail menu and selection of tequilas. Good vibe, good portion sizes, good prices. I thoroughly enjoyed the place and will be back!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grumpybufallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2019 via mobile

Food was mediocre - decent portion sizes but lacking in any real flavour that one would expect from a Mexican. Spices weren’t really there especially vegan meal which was very bland (let’s be honest going to a Mexican as a vegan you expect the spices and sauces to have a bit of a kick). Food took an hour to arrive - the menu isn’t particularly complicated and we ordered what must be run of the mill dishes (fajitas nachos and burgers) so delay plus lack of flavour was a big disappointment. They also had run out of milk (???) so milkshakes off the menu. They still had the audacity to levy a 10% service charge onto the bill when I handed over card to pay - they pointed out that this is stated on the menu but it feels underhand and undeserved. They need to work out what ‘service’ means and then earn it.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank Wannabee-writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

A fun night with friends. Unfortunately there was a wait on most items ordered as the restaurant was full....But when the food came it was good.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank RokiCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2019 via mobile

Awesome food, awesome prices, great service. We went there because we had no idea where to go and we weren't disappointed at all, super place!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Alexandre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Fat Cactus also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Mowbray, Cape Town
Woodstock, Cape Town
 

Been to The Fat Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.