We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for date night”
Review of The Fat Cactus

The Fat Cactus
Ranked #168 of 1 193 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 5 June 2019

Great spot for date night, love the frozen margaritas and chilli poppers. Nice chilled vibe especially if you wanting to relax after a hard day at work.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2019 via mobile

Only went for drinks at Fat Cactus CT central so can not rate the food yet. Most amazing selection of Taquilas. Not the usual stuff that makes you struggle to get it down. Have to try their house brand Ginger Dead, awesome flavour and very smooth.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank JacquesM1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2019 via mobile

Food was decent/good but the waitress who served us did a terrible job. Extremely unfriendly and rude, extremely unhelpful with questions, and overall super strange/awkward and made us all uncomfortable. When we tipped her poorly she legitimately became hostile and questioned us about it. Will NEVER go back to this place.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank chultman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2019 via mobile

One of my absolute favourite restaurants in Cape Town. The managers Brett and Owen are fantastic and make the experience great! Highly recommend The Fat Cactus for anyone that wants the best Margarita, chilli poppers, cheesy nachos and a vibe :) Best Mexican restaurant in Cape Town!!!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank msr1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2019

Tacos and pulled pork were very very good. Burgers were rubish but same as most places in town. Good atmosphere and friendly wait stafff.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Fat Cactus also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Mowbray, Cape Town
Woodstock, Cape Town
 

Been to The Fat Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.