We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just passing”
Review of Bardelli's - CLOSED

Bardelli's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bardellis has been serving Italian styled food for 24 years in the suburbs of the Western Cape. The pizzas are described by many locals as the best in the Cape and the restaurant has been awarded best pizza on two occasions by public voting.Its common to hear world travelers regard Bardellis as the best pizza ever eaten. Always rated in the top pizza and the pasta is said to be a yardstick for Italian cuisine by some highly rated foodies. We serve only top quality ingredients, the fillet steak is a good example of the high food quality supplied. A small offering of seafood and meat dishes allows for some variety when in a large group. We also we get excellent feedback on our desserts and have been told that our creme brule is the best. The atmosphere is buzzing with an Italian pizzeria style. on busy nights and season booking is advised as we full up quickly especially if you would like roadside patio seating.
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

We hadn't planned to go here after walking out of another restaurant further up Kloof Street due to being ignored, but we were glad we did. From walking in we were met by very friendly staff and were offered seating outside or in, smoking or non smoking. A good start. Note, smoking and non smoking sections are not seated directly next to each other. Since it was still in the high 70s, humid and strangely for Cape Town in November not blowing a gale, we decided to eat outside and were given a choice of seats overlooking Kloof Street. We already knew we'd made the right choice to leave the previous place. The waiter who we later learned was the manager took our order. To start we shared a small Italian salad and a Focaccia with feta, garlic and herbs and caramelised onions. Very nice. For mains, she who must be obeyed ordered Pasta Anabella with courgettes, mushrooms, asparagus and olives, sautéed in olive oil and garlic with a hint of napoletana and mozzarella (delicious I'm told) and I had a Lasagne di Agnelo which was layers of roast Lamb, pesto infused sweet potato, with a rosemary sauce and pasta. I've never had Lamb in a lasagne before but trust me you won't be disappointed with this. All this washed down with a bottle of Porcupine Ridge Sauvignon Blanc at a reasonable R129. The entire bill came in just under R500 which I feel for the centre of Cape Town was fairly decent. Couple that with the thoroughly relaxed atmosphere and friendly and attentive staff and manager and it all blended together to form a lovely experience. We're moving on from Cape Town, travelling for a month but we already know where we'll be eating on our first night back.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank PaulCannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant H, Owner at Bardelli's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Hi

Thank you so much for the review it goes a long way to encouraging good service in our industry. The fact that you took the time to write in such detail says a lot.
Business in this industry is very competitive so we thank you for your business, it is appreciated.

Wishing you safe and happy travels.

Warm regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

First time here and had a superb meal. Will definitely be back to try more of their magnificent menu!

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank NicciCB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant H, Owner at Bardelli's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Thanks Nicci

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We had our end of year Christmas function at Bardelli kloof. What an amazing experience. The service from the get go was outstanding . The food was to perfection. The vibe really made the night. And as confirmed by everyone who attended. The best Christmas function by far. Thank you to the team who really went out of their way to make our work function a success. Rachel

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank H8845TXrachelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant H, Owner at Bardelli's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Hi Rachel

Thank you for choosing us firstly. I am really happy that we could meet your expectations knowing your companies high quality requirements. Our food is what has always kept us busy for the past 24 years, and our loyal kitchen staff will appreciate your feedback.

Wishing you and Browns jewelers a good season and a prosperous 2017.

Warm regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We have heard this place has the best pizza in Cape Town. And we're sure they do. Amazingly good. Fabolous. Out of words... great service, good atmosphere, open fire and great wine.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cillahellberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant H, Owner at Bardelli's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Hi

Many thanks for your review. We really appreciate the feedback as many staff rely on the income generated from our humble business and your feedback assists future customers with making decisions on where to dine when travelling.
Thank you for visiting Cape Town, we hope to welcome you back soon.

warm regards and blessings from Cape Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

It was our very last night in CT and went with friends to Bardelli-s.
Let-s say it right away : just don't go there.

It-s supposed to be italian food but they actually have no clue what italian food is. We had pasta and 2 different pizzas and we can tell it-s not italian at all and it-s really NOT GOOD. Pasta sauce and pizza toppings were the same (?), some chicken peri/peri with a sweet taste...(?), yes sweet.... One of those sauce that is industrialy made...
We suffered all night of stomach pain and felt bad after that catastrophic food.

It-s not very difficult to have a proper pizza and~or pasta, but messing up that much pasta and pizza as they did is an masterstroke...

I won't say anything about the wine, the service and the bill... no i won't. Please if you don't want a bad image of south african restaurants just don't go there....

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mehdi_Mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant H, Owner at Bardelli's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

It is apparent that this review is with malice and maybe of no co incidence that you hail from the same place as my girlfriends ex.
Small world ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bardelli's also viewed

Kenilworth, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing