We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate & Different”

Reverie Social Table
Ranked #2 of 1 288 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$75
Description: Join the Social Table for a totally unique dining concept. An eclectic space to eat, drink and be merry with some fabulous company. Table d' Hote style eatery with a set 5 course dinner, each paired with boutique wines from around the Western Cape. Perfect for the lone traveler, couple, friends and groups. It's a must try when visiting the Mother City!
Restaurant details
Description: Join the Social Table for a totally unique dining concept. An eclectic space to eat, drink and be merry with some fabulous company. Table d' Hote style eatery with a set 5 course dinner, each paired with boutique wines from around the Western Cape. Perfect for the lone traveler, couple, friends and groups. It's a must try when visiting the Mother City!
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Julia the chef has done a great job in creating great food in a different atmosphere where you can mingle and meet different people from around the world. We were very lucky to get a seat at the table as someone dropped out. We have a great 5 course meal with pairing wines. All food was cooked to perfection and hamdled with care. Julia has a love for her food and it is a must if in Cape Town. If we are ever back we will return for sure.

Thank daman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Hattingh, Owner at Reverie Social Table, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Hello Patrick,

Thank you for joining our Social Table, it is always a pleasure having other chefs visit!
I am glad you enjoyed your experience and I hope Cape Town was inspiring.
See you next time in Malta :)

warm regards,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

We found out about this restaurant via Trip Advisor. When we told South African people we were going they wanted to know how we found out about what is Cape Towns best kept secret. Well it’s not a secret if you like Tripadvisor !

We had a great evening there , met people from Jo’berg, England and the USA. We had exceptional food 5 courses, fantastic wines and each course was interspersed with the chef telling us what the food was and where it was from. Lots of locally sourced produce.

Don’t hesitate book a table quick !

Thank Lardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Hattingh, Owner at Reverie Social Table, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so glad you found out about us!
I hope your dinner at La Mouette was amazing- definitely one of my favs. Our Social Table is awaiting your next visit to the Cape ...

warm regards,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Great food, wine and company. Julia is a lovely person and very passionate about what she does. Highly recommend.

Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Hattingh, Owner at Reverie Social Table, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Hello Haley,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was great meeting you and your husband around our Social Table. I hope to see you both back again soon!

warm regards,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

What a lovely experience, the passion from Julia and her staff was fantastic. It was lovely to meet new people! We were the only South Africans so was very interesting!
Food was superb!! Well done!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dawncD2576FO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Hattingh, Owner at Reverie Social Table, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Hello Dawn,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad we were able to welcome you and your hubby to our Social Table at the last minute, the power of TripAdvisor :)
It was a super global night and we all had great fun, thanks for joining us! I hope the wedding was wonderful, see you again on your next time in Cape Town.

warm regards,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

From start to finish this incredibly special dining experience was a gourmet delight and our very favourite in Cape Town! All I can say is WOW! Each of the 5 innovative courses were perfectly paired with local wines and explained by Chef Julia. The experience was only made better by the added pleasure of dining with 18 other guests at a communal table...including a winemaker from Swartland and his lovely wife. What a treat! Chef Julia and her team warmly welcomed and hosted us like we were in their home and leaving was like saying goodbye to new friends. Beautiful food, gracious hospitality, a unique setting and exceptional value...what a rare and treasured find!

Thank TraBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Hattingh, Owner at Reverie Social Table, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Hello Tracy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Reverie experience, it was wonderful meeting you both and having you join our Social Table!
I'm glad you enjoyed our Swartland collaboration, Hermias does make some superb wines and it's always something a little more special when we have the winemaker join!
I hope to welcome you back to Cape Town again soon!

warm regards,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reverie Social Table also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Reverie Social Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing