We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Capital Mirage
Nearby Hotels
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$127
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$46
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$54/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$969
US$836
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
112
32
9
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
32
9
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscattle baronwasher and dryerfree laundryrooftop restaurantactive sushivue baressential itemssky bar on the roofrecently stayed for nightsspar grocery storefull size fridgecheck in and check out processtop floornespresso machinemicrowave ovencall to prayerrooms are big
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel was definitely not worth what we paid for it. It was a bit of a bittersweet experience. The checking process was somewhat tedious. Firstly, when you arrive at the hotel you’re told you can’t park underground, you have to go to the back of the building on another street and park there. But you can’t park until you’ve checked in. So, you have to checking with your car parked outside. Then get back in and drive to the other street and park. However, Jennifer from the reception desk was very welcoming and extremely sweet.

The rooms were comfortable and enormous! But it lacked basic amenities that you’d pay for a hotel of a similar price. No hotel slippers were provided, the minibar only consisted of 2 bottles of water and a carton of milk. It didn’t have much character.

The Breakfast was a major letdown! Besides the stunning view (it’s really stunning) there wasn’t much to shout about. In fact, it was really disappointing. The buffet was extremely limited, especially if you do not eat sausages or pork. The waiters never took our drinks order, you always had to go and physically give it to them behind the counter (and even then they’d stuff it up), you only have the option of ciabatta bread and if breakfast is busy it’s really stuffy and cramped!

It is quite a comfortable stay but I feel as if we over-paid and were sold less than we were made to expect. For R200-400 more per night (sometimes the same price or even less!) you could have stayed in one of the top 5 star hotels in the same location.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Zayyaan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Our first time in Cape Town and we were very pleased with the hotel. First, we had a one bedroom apartment which was even better than the photos on-line. Very spacious with a large kitchen. Double bed was very comfortable. Staff are very happy to help. Free parking (apparently you can park anywhere on level 1 even though there are reserved signs for different establishments - check with hotel though).

Best bit was a great view of table mountain from the window (see picture). In addition, as we were celebrating an anniversary (we told the hotel prior to our arrival), they put down rose petals and some complimentary wine which was a lovely touch!

The Vue on floor 15 has nice views.

Very minor con was that the shower doesn't drain too well (water seems to bounce away from the drain). We had very quick showers given the water crisis, so wasn't too much of a deal.

Finally, notwithstanding the water crisis, there was no limitation on use of water - it was up to the guest to use their common sense (and sense of responsibility).

Cape Town tips: get a car. 1. Driving is safe and is very cheap. Plus free parking at the Hotel. 2. Wind factor also determines the cloud cover on table mountain in their summer - wind attracts cloud (the table mountain website is very unreliable whilst BBC weather gave accurate windspeed levels). 3. When bad weather on Table Mountain climb Lions Head or drive up to the top of Signal Hill. 4. Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank holidaymaddddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Clean, nicely designed and thought through hotel apartments and rooms. The views are limited in the hotel section, but who needs a nice view when you can enjoy such lovely, homely rooms. Loving the washer and dryer in the room. Exceptional reception staff, Renee was such an inspiration! She made us want to stay here even more.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank mebneter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We had a great stay in late December over New Years Eve. The room was spacious and had everything you need. Although they didn’t have irons in the room, one was provided if requested. We had a studio apartment and it was a lot bigger than what I was expecting. The bed was very comfortable too.

The staff were very friendly and were always available to help us get reservations at restaurants and arranging taxi’s. Every one of the staff members were willing to make sure we had a great stay.

The hotel is situated in the city centre and they provide a free shuttle to the V&A waterfront a number or times throughout the day.

The Cattle Baron steak restaurant is really good and very cheap compared to a good steak restaurant in the UK. We had breakfast most days at The Vue on the top floor. Although, not that cheap, the views are incredible. It’s also a good bar to grab a cocktail later on and seemed to be busy most days.

There are also two coffee shops across the road that are good for breakfast.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again if I return to Cape Town. The staff deserve a lot of credit for making our stay so good.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Capital Mirage was a positive surprise to most of us. We were not expecting a lot of the hotel, and this one is pretty much a flat, or residence in, that also works for short term stays. the rooms are very comfortable and indeed very large; people are very friendly, they welcome foreigners and do everything to help. The breakfast at the rooftop restaurant is fantastic, with a quite unique - one of the best, in fact - views of Capetown.
People at the reception are very friendly and honest in purpose; I had a problem with the transfer from the airport and they immediately agreed and offered to refund if it was their mistake (it was not necessary). And, something rare in South Africa, I
never saw any mentioning of “tipping” what is so recurrent in Johannesburg.
The location is ok, but some blocks away from the waterfront. They say it is not recommendable to walk to the water front, at least at night. We did not feel insecure in the city, which is a feeling we had all the time in Johannesburg.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Demapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews