We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price, and great views”
Review of The Capital Mirage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capital Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only complaint I have is a friend of mine came to visit me, and they gave him a key to my room I did not like that at all, besides that everything was great. The bar/restaurant in the hotel has beautiful views and great food and service.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ikerienl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was definitely not worth what we paid for it. It was a bit of a bittersweet experience. The checking process was somewhat tedious. Firstly, when you arrive at the hotel you’re told you can’t park underground, you have to go to the back of the building on another street and park there. But you can’t park until you’ve checked in. So, you have to checking with your car parked outside. Then get back in and drive to the other street and park. However, Jennifer from the reception desk was very welcoming and extremely sweet.

The rooms were comfortable and enormous! But it lacked basic amenities that you’d pay for a hotel of a similar price. No hotel slippers were provided, the minibar only consisted of 2 bottles of water and a carton of milk. It didn’t have much character.

The Breakfast was a major letdown! Besides the stunning view (it’s really stunning) there wasn’t much to shout about. In fact, it was really disappointing. The buffet was extremely limited, especially if you do not eat sausages or pork. The waiters never took our drinks order, you always had to go and physically give it to them behind the counter (and even then they’d stuff it up), you only have the option of ciabatta bread and if breakfast is busy it’s really stuffy and cramped!

It is quite a comfortable stay but I feel as if we over-paid and were sold less than we were made to expect. For R200-400 more per night (sometimes the same price or even less!) you could have stayed in one of the top 5 star hotels in the same location.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Zayyaan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our first time in Cape Town and we were very pleased with the hotel. First, we had a one bedroom apartment which was even better than the photos on-line. Very spacious with a large kitchen. Double bed was very comfortable. Staff are very happy to help. Free parking (apparently you can park anywhere on level 1 even though there are reserved signs for different establishments - check with hotel though).

Best bit was a great view of table mountain from the window (see picture). In addition, as we were celebrating an anniversary (we told the hotel prior to our arrival), they put down rose petals and some complimentary wine which was a lovely touch!

The Vue on floor 15 has nice views.

Very minor con was that the shower doesn't drain too well (water seems to bounce away from the drain). We had very quick showers given the water crisis, so wasn't too much of a deal.

Finally, notwithstanding the water crisis, there was no limitation on use of water - it was up to the guest to use their common sense (and sense of responsibility).

Cape Town tips: get a car. 1. Driving is safe and is very cheap. Plus free parking at the Hotel. 2. Wind factor also determines the cloud cover on table mountain in their summer - wind attracts cloud (the table mountain website is very unreliable whilst BBC weather gave accurate windspeed levels). 3. When bad weather on Table Mountain climb Lions Head or drive up to the top of Signal Hill. 4. Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank holidaymaddddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, nicely designed and thought through hotel apartments and rooms. The views are limited in the hotel section, but who needs a nice view when you can enjoy such lovely, homely rooms. Loving the washer and dryer in the room. Exceptional reception staff, Renee was such an inspiration! She made us want to stay here even more.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank mebneter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We had a great stay in late December over New Years Eve. The room was spacious and had everything you need. Although they didn’t have irons in the room, one was provided if requested. We had a studio apartment and it was a lot bigger than what I was expecting. The bed was very comfortable too.

The staff were very friendly and were always available to help us get reservations at restaurants and arranging taxi’s. Every one of the staff members were willing to make sure we had a great stay.

The hotel is situated in the city centre and they provide a free shuttle to the V&A waterfront a number or times throughout the day.

The Cattle Baron steak restaurant is really good and very cheap compared to a good steak restaurant in the UK. We had breakfast most days at The Vue on the top floor. Although, not that cheap, the views are incredible. It’s also a good bar to grab a cocktail later on and seemed to be busy most days.

There are also two coffee shops across the road that are good for breakfast.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again if I return to Cape Town. The staff deserve a lot of credit for making our stay so good.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 406 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 472 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 009 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Mirage

Address: 40 Chiappini Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 865 - R 4 978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Mirage 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capital Mirage is the picture of style and sophistication. Each of The Capital Mirage's 65 oversized rooms and apartments will envelop you in opulence from the moment you step inside. Every feature and finish is designed to exude luxury and elicit gasps. The property offers a selection of luxury and superior studios, or spacious one, two, or three bedroom apartments. Where stunning floor to ceiling vistas, immaculate en-suite bathrooms and inviting lounges with oversized LED televisions allow you to truly leave your cares behind. Whether you're seeking leisurely lunches, roof top cocktails, trendy nightclubs or retail therapy, The Capital Mirage puts it all within strolling distance. Be awestruck by the Cape Town panorama and savour the epic views with a drink in hand at the Sky bar (Opening Soon). Enjoy world class services with in-room dining, complimentary uncapped high speed Wi-Fi, HD satellite television, complimentary parking and scheduled shuttles to the V & A Waterfront and Cape Town International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capital Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing