We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the best!”
Review of Pigalle Restaurant

Pigalle Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 1 228 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Well-known as the perfect venue for a stylish evening out, we offer guests live entertainment from our dance floor alongside superb dinner courses. Renowned for our fresh seafood and Chalmar steak, our menu comprises of classic dishes with a subtle Portuguese flair. Including a spacious cigar lounge and private dining room our venue is versatile as well as suitable for private functions.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took a group of English friends for a meal here as had been recommended and I was showing them the fantastic food on offer in Cape Town and SA in general. Pigalle's prices are at the upper end of the restaurant scale and it's clearly an upmarket restaurant.

Not a place I'd dine at regularly but nice to treat yourself every now and then. Decor is old fashioned but it's clearly posh and you feel like you are splashing out.
Everything feels classy and there was a nice welcome at the front desk.

The menu is quite varied but focuses on seafood. I did find our waiter quite off putting as he clearly recognised "tourists" and was trying to push the most expensive dishes on the party. Being the only local SA in the group, I detected this, but one of our group asked if this was standard in SA. I have not encountered it before.

Everyone enjoyed the food, with no complaints from the party. I felt the food was good, if not a little overpriced. Most of the group went with the Lobster and general feedback was positive, others opted for kingklip and again positive reviews. My prawn starter and kingklip was enjoyable, although have had better.

In summary, Pigalle is worth trying for a treat but I wouldn't rush back regularly, given the number of other superb options in Cape Town

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spotman555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Spotman555 ,

Thank you for choosing us as one of your stops on your Cape Town food experience ,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us , the best items on our menu are unfortunately the most expensive , that would be the reason the waiter was pushing those items , apologies if you or any of your friends felt pressured in anyway.

Hope to see you soon

Kind Regards
Pigalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1 162 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a definite night out or restaurant to celebrate an event. Food is wonderful, the vibe is special and the live music and dancing lends itself to old school excellence.

My wife loved the duck as a main course!

Thank rodney120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear rodney120 ,

So glad to hear you enjoyed your night with us , the Pigalle experience is one we strive to perfect daily and its always great to know we got close for you.

Please do join us again soon

Kind Regards
Pigalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We celebrated our son's 21st birthday at their Wall of Lights venue. It was a wonderful evening with lovely food and live music. In terms of arranging the event, the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. They were attentive to our guests and made the evening a success.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chantyld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Chantyld ,

Thanks again for celebrating your sons 21st with us , wonderful news that a good evening was had by all.

Please do join us again soon

Kind Regards
Pigalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

We went for dinner own our first night in Cape Town after having travelled around JNB and the Garden Route. We decided to come as it was the 3rd best restaurant on TripAdvisor - I just say I am shocked ... definitely not the 3rd best place in CPT - the decoration is very 70s... not sure if they were looking for that look or they haven’t changed the place in the last 40 years but looks tacky and cheap ... service is very slow and the food is nice but probably after having visited so many other places around we were disappointed... you can eat much better in CPT ...
we had the trio seafood which was very good but the mains ... salmon teriyaki was overcooked, linefish just ok and fillet average for South African standards ... probably this restaurant somewhere else would have ranked higher for me but given how well you eat in South Africa I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone ...

1  Thank espanol21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Espanol21,

Sorry to hear your experience was not of the highest standard , rest assured all of your concerns have been raised with the various departments and we will correct all issues in our constant effort to attain perfection.

Regards
Pigalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Setting is romantic. Lovely comfortable chairs. Live band singing jazz added to atmosphere. Delicious, rather rich foods with emphasis on seafood but also meat selection good and traditional yet delicious puddings. Service was excellent with friendly bright who were attentive yet unobtrusive. Thanks Diana. Now all I need is a man to dance with on the dance floor!

Thank lottimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigallecapetown, Manager at Pigalle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Lottimac ,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us , very happy to hear your service was excellent , we are continuously striving to offer a higher level experience.

Please do join us again when in the area,

Kind Regards
Pigalle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pigalle Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Pigalle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing