We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & service!”

Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #9 of 1 194 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 184 - R 826
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Belthazar, a veritable theatre of fine food and wine on the cutting-edge of "shoppertainment". A multi-purpose restaurant, grill, wine bar and gourmet home accessory shop, Belthazar brings a chic new concept in the culinary arts to Cape Town.Belthazar is the realization of a lifelong passion for wine shared by the Belthazar team. Their vision was to create the largest "wine by the glass" wine bar in the world. Experienced sommeliers expertly serve up to 250 of the Cape's finest wines by the glass and advise customers on a wine-list of up to 600 fine wines and sought-after rare vintages.Indulge your palate. Belthazar is so much more than good food and wine. Indulge in the best - from the world's finest wine glasses and revolutionary wine technology to the slick service, superb aged Karan beef, export quality Mozambican shellfish and the freshest South African seafood. We invite you to indulge in the grand finale - a platter of boutique South African cheeses perfectly paired with a selection of Cape port wines...
Reviewed 11 June 2024 via mobile

Fabulous food with great service from Deborah who was most attentive and made great recommendations for us. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: June 2024
Thank Wanderer25662047843
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2024

Wanderer25662047843. thanks for the feedback. This is very important to us. Great to know that you had an awsome experience. Looking forward to seeing you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (4 341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 4 341 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2024

We actually ate here twice. First time with our friends in May for lunch and we had a fantastic meal.

Second time just my wife and I went there for our last meal in Cape Town before heading back to Europe. Service was very good first visit however second visit it seemed that we were between servers on break and coming back from break as when we asked a waiter for assistance he said I'm not your waiter but didn't offer to get our waiter who by then had gone and another waiter returned.from break. Given that we did not know who our new waiter was we asked another waiter for assistance and he said I'm not your waiter but I will let your waiter know. Eventually we were served but service nowhere near as good as first time. Food was very good. Their seafood and steaks are really excellent.

Date of visit: June 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EddieOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2024

Dear EddieOnTour. Graet to know that you enjoyed the steaks as well as the seafood. Apologies that the waiter had changed but hope the great food made up for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2024

My boyfriend and I had a lovely time at Balthazar in the Waterfront. Zola, our server, was very welcoming and attentive.
Food was prepared quickly and was delicious. Perfect for a date night, especially on warm evenings so you can sit outside and enjoy the views of the boats passing by.

Date of visit: June 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Escape02541434399
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2024

Dear Escape02541434399. Zola is very passionate about his career and loves serving guests. Thanks for the great feedback about the food and good to know that you had a memorable occasion. Looking firward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2024 via mobile

Very enjoyable experience. Excellent food, very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Fabrice was good fun and very helpful.

Date of visit: June 2024
Thank mikecarnegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2024

Dear mikecarnegie. Thank you for your review. Yes , thats what Belthazar is all about! An amzing memorable experience. Looking forward to welcoming you back home in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2024

Excellent service, speedy delivery, and amazing food. I came here with my family in a rush to eat dinner because we needed to catch a show. We were met with such welcoming and accommodating service. 5 meals took no longer than 10 minutes. All our needs were met and we were filled and happy to the max. Overall, exemplary experience compared to a lot of restaurants in Cape Town.

Date of visit: June 2024
Thank Venture09955715382
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2024

Dear Venture09955715382. Many thanks for the kind words.We are really passionate about what we do and this shows in our experience. Looking firward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.