We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant with great view”

Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #9 of 1 188 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 191 - R 859
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Belthazar, a veritable theatre of fine food and wine on the cutting-edge of "shoppertainment". A multi-purpose restaurant, grill, wine bar and gourmet home accessory shop, Belthazar brings a chic new concept in the culinary arts to Cape Town.Belthazar is the realization of a lifelong passion for wine shared by the Belthazar team. Their vision was to create the largest "wine by the glass" wine bar in the world. Experienced sommeliers expertly serve up to 250 of the Cape's finest wines by the glass and advise customers on a wine-list of up to 600 fine wines and sought-after rare vintages.Indulge your palate. Belthazar is so much more than good food and wine. Indulge in the best - from the world's finest wine glasses and revolutionary wine technology to the slick service, superb aged Karan beef, export quality Mozambican shellfish and the freshest South African seafood. We invite you to indulge in the grand finale - a platter of boutique South African cheeses perfectly paired with a selection of Cape port wines...
Reviewed 30 January 2024 via mobile

We had a lovely evening here. Everything we had was first class. We can highly recommend the seafood platter also the sirloin steak (one of the best). Our server Wendy was excellent both friendly and very efficient. We hope we can return again and shall ask for Wendy.
The couple from Wales had a lovely time. Thank you.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank HOLS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Dear HOLS. All our beef is hand selected and aged. Our selection is one of the very best around. Seafood is fresh out the ocean! So happy ypu had an amazing experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (4 275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 124 of 4 276 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

We had an amazing dinner at Belthazar. The location looks touristy but the high quality beef, an impressive wine list and Fabrice‘s warm-hearted and courteous service made it a memorable evening for us! Thank you, we will come back!

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Voyager01045274477
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2024

Dear Voyager01045274477. Thanks for your review. Yes, we are in one of the most magnificent locations in the world that attracts tourists, but all our food and wines are of the very best quality obtainable anywhere. We take pride in being one of the very best internationally! Travel safe and looking very forward to welcomimg you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Atmosphere in Belthazar was lively and vibrant. Sea food was delicious. Warm thanks to our sweet waitress Wendy who looked after us so attentively.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Tessaliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Dear Tessaliina, Many thanks for the positive feedback. All our line fish is fresh out of the ocean. Service is our pleasure as we love what we do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Thank you for a delicious long lunch and to Fabrice thank you for the fantastic service we loved it our last lunch in Cape Town

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Dear Ellie H. Fabrice is very passionate about what he does. Glad you had a memorable occassion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Siya and Peter at the bar are very nice. Very knowledgeable about wine. They have over 200 "by the glass wines" and Siya knows them all. We met Ian, the owner, and he wants to have the feel of a US steak house and still have a Local vibe and he has accomplished that! The entire staff is friendly and welcoming.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Dear Mark L. Glad to have met you at the bar. Like we chatted about we here to provide you with an unbelievable experience! Looking firward to seeing you again! Travel safe and you always welcome back home at Belthazar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.