We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super good!”

Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #9 of 1 194 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 183 - R 822
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Belthazar, a veritable theatre of fine food and wine on the cutting-edge of "shoppertainment". A multi-purpose restaurant, grill, wine bar and gourmet home accessory shop, Belthazar brings a chic new concept in the culinary arts to Cape Town.Belthazar is the realization of a lifelong passion for wine shared by the Belthazar team. Their vision was to create the largest "wine by the glass" wine bar in the world. Experienced sommeliers expertly serve up to 250 of the Cape's finest wines by the glass and advise customers on a wine-list of up to 600 fine wines and sought-after rare vintages.Indulge your palate. Belthazar is so much more than good food and wine. Indulge in the best - from the world's finest wine glasses and revolutionary wine technology to the slick service, superb aged Karan beef, export quality Mozambican shellfish and the freshest South African seafood. We invite you to indulge in the grand finale - a platter of boutique South African cheeses perfectly paired with a selection of Cape port wines...
Reviewed 18 November 2023

Amazing meat, we had the ribs and a steak, everything was sooo good. They find us a table, altough the place was super busy. Wendy takes care of us, she’s lovely!

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank 577flac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2023

Dear 577flac. Thank you for your compliment. glad you had a memorable occasion. Looking fiorward to seeing you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (4 341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 247 of 4 341 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2023 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal before watching the England vs South Africa rugby match .
The steaks were delicious and the choice of wines by the glass was exceptional .
We were served by the marvellous Fabrice who was both very helpful and also very friendly .
The sommelier also provided excellent advice.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank NigelBrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2023

Dear NigelBrodie. fabrice like the rest of our team is very passionate. Great that you enjoyed the overall experience. Did you know we are one of the biggest wine by the glass bars around with up to 150 wines on offer by the glass. looking forward to seeing you on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2023

Nice place to eat out. By the banks. Chilly weather. Warm environment with smiling faces. Highly recommended. Deborah was very welcoming and attending.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank TALAJ20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2023

Dear TALAJ20. Deborah loves what she does and is very passionate. Glad you had a memorable occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2023

Deborah was an amazing host!! She gave us some great recommendations and kept checking on us throughout the night. The whole experience from getting here, dining and post meals was great.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gape S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2023

Dear gapes2018. thank you for the amazing review. Glad that yiou had the most amazing experience. Looking firward to seeing you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2023

Balthazar Restaurant in the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is popular and lively with great food and service. I had the steak - excellent!

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank neeratraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FOODIE WINIE, Marketing at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2023

Dear neeratraveler. Glad to know that your steak was excellant. We hand select all beef and mature it fior a minimum of 28 days. Our line fosh is also very fresh straight out the water. Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.