We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt a bit like a chain”

Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #9 of 1 194 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 183 - R 822
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Belthazar, a veritable theatre of fine food and wine on the cutting-edge of "shoppertainment". A multi-purpose restaurant, grill, wine bar and gourmet home accessory shop, Belthazar brings a chic new concept in the culinary arts to Cape Town.Belthazar is the realization of a lifelong passion for wine shared by the Belthazar team. Their vision was to create the largest "wine by the glass" wine bar in the world. Experienced sommeliers expertly serve up to 250 of the Cape's finest wines by the glass and advise customers on a wine-list of up to 600 fine wines and sought-after rare vintages.Indulge your palate. Belthazar is so much more than good food and wine. Indulge in the best - from the world's finest wine glasses and revolutionary wine technology to the slick service, superb aged Karan beef, export quality Mozambican shellfish and the freshest South African seafood. We invite you to indulge in the grand finale - a platter of boutique South African cheeses perfectly paired with a selection of Cape port wines...
Reviewed 26 December 2019

The restaurant is vey much like any in a shopping centre which the V & A Waterfront is. It is along a walkway with a number of restaurants. It feels a bit like a chain. That is probably because it is and 3 or 4 nearby are woned by the same group.

We found the sevice excellent. Attentive and very effecient.

We had a salad one lunchtime whcih was excellent. Had a evening meal of fish which was not so great. Felt it was a little overdone. I think they are probaby more of a meat restaurant.

As a safe bet and good value I would recommend but if you are looking for fine dining I would suggest elsewhere.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richardosgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (4 341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 634 of 4 341 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2019

This place isn’t the same anymore. It’s probably why it’s usually fairly quiet. The wine list is great and drew us back. Our salads were very tasty but the meat not great.

The service was shocking, but was addressed.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank fartyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2019

Thank you for the review, however we find it extremely disappointing to read your comments. We get many compliments about our meat and food in general, so we very shocked to hear.
It's a pity you didn't let the service ambassador or manager know that the meat was not greta as they would have gladly replaced your piece of meat if was not up to standard
You also state the the service was 'shocking'?? We get mainly compliments on the service so not sure what you are referring to? Pls can you email me on support@slickrestaurants.com so that I can investigate further
As you can read from the many reviews we receive, we are extremely highly regarded as a food destination in the V&A Waterfront, however, we are sorry to hear that you didn't feel the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2019 via mobile

Amazing menu. Lots of seafood & wild game as well as steaks, burgers, chicken etc. Our waiter was fantastic - such a lovely guy & great service.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Odyssey445463
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2019

We thank you for your amazing review and are thrilled that you enjoyed your seafood and wild game awa excellent service from our staff. We have a daily variety of 12 different types of wild game on offer awa a single giant game kebab so you can try 4 different types on one kebab.
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful experience with us and the rest of the Tripadvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2019 via mobile

Amazing dining experience! Superb food, great ambiance and exceptional service from Malcolm. Thank you!

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank ctwconly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2019

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review and are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience awa excellent service Malcolm.
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful experience with us and the rest of the Tripadvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2019 via mobile

Very good food, place and proficcionals. I eated salmon and potatoes. Ver good food. I Loved. I recomend

Date of visit: November 2019
2  Thank 574nadjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2019

Thank you for your 5 star review and are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience awa professional service
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful experience with us and the rest of the Tripadvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.