We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average ”

Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #82 of 1 297 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Belthazar, a veritable theatre of fine food and wine on the cutting-edge of "shoppertainment". A multi-purpose restaurant, grill, wine bar and gourmet home accessory shop, Belthazar brings a chic new concept in the culinary arts to Cape Town.Belthazar is the realization of a lifelong passion for wine shared by the Belthazar team. Their vision was to create the largest "wine by the glass" wine bar in the world. Experienced sommeliers expertly serve up to 250 of the Cape's finest wines by the glass and advise customers on a wine-list of up to 600 fine wines and sought-after rare vintages.Indulge your palate. Belthazar is so much more than good food and wine. Indulge in the best - from the world's finest wine glasses and revolutionary wine technology to the slick service, superb aged Karan beef, export quality Mozambican shellfish and the freshest South African seafood. We invite you to indulge in the grand finale - a platter of boutique South African cheeses perfectly paired with a selection of Cape port wines...
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

But nothing exceptional.
This place was recommended as great food. There’s certainly plenty of it. The portions are HUGE. But that’s about all I can say. I’m not confident that the quality is anything of note and the service is very slow. Pity really because we were in the mood for dessert but after all that main course and desperately slow server lost interest.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank dianthus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3 274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 3 276 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2018

Supposed to be the best steak on the Waterfront. While I cannot compare it to other Cape Town steakhouses, the steaks themselves were not particularly impressive. Medium is clearly interpreted as something closer to medium well and the steaks had no trace of this wonderful crispy crust you should expect of a great, perfectly done cut. The quality of meat was not out of the ordinary either. Extra points for the extensive wine selection (also by the glass), but it is hard to recommend especially that, unlike most restaurants in Cape Town, it was not exactly cheap and the desserts were downright awful. We had ‘Peppermint crisp’ and tiramisu and I still can’t decide which was worse.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Thomas077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Once a year I'm in Cape Town and I have my typical procedure: Belthazar - Kudu and "alles verloren" cabernet sauvignon. Yes it's touristy, yes it gets crowded. Still the food and the service are good.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank CountVanCount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a great steak before heading on a photography safari and was told the best place in town was the Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar on the waterfront.
We made reservations through our hotel concierge and with her recommendation we headed over.

Our reserved table was on the busy lined up with the wine cellar. Our selected steak was not available and when a medium steak arrived it was very pink. The texture was not what we are used to in the states and the steak was greasy. Not the great experience we were looking for.
On a positive not, the wine selection was massive and the wine steward really new how to present the options.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank cszostak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We ate at Belthazar on our first night in Cape Town following a recommendation from our transfer driver and our local rep. The VA waterfront where the restaurant is located is definitely worth a visit it is a beautiful working dock with modern shops and restaurants but still charming.

We ordered steaks and have every sauce going... they didn’t disappoint for our first impressions of SA the highlight of the meal for us was the Onion Blossom which is a must try!!! I don’t know if that speaks more about the steak quality or just the novel way of serving friend battered onion!

They have an extensive wine list and the prices for the meal were comparable to the UK so a more commercial restaurant paying for the beautiful setting in my opinion.

All in all decent meal and service and lots of bars to visit after for cocktails on the waterfront.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank P969CBalisonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing