We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a real find - just perfect food”
Review of Balducci's

Balducci's
Ranked #105 of 1 297 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily
Reviewed 9 February 2018

The V & A Waterfront has many restaurants to choose from - and we kept trying different ones - but this restaurant was special - and we ended up going back 7 times! Their salads are exceptional - pizza's just the right size, thin crust, generous toppings and beautifully cooked. Their house wines - especially the blended red - are delicious and disappear all too quickly! The waiters - all from different parts of Africa are friendly, helpful and efficient. Unpretentious, delicious Italian food.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank philipwoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Philip, what a lovely review of Balducci. Thank you very much. We really appreciate it and we look forward to having you dine with us again very soon. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 139 of 1 331 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2018

We were here for a mid week dinner for two, unfortunately most of the place was taken up by a Convention group, which we were not told when we booked. Not as romantic an experience as I had hoped for. Despite this, the food was very good and service was prompt. Would still recommend for the food and the views.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Roy, thank you for the review. It is very possible that the group booked after your booking was made already. We look forward to you visiting us again soon. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Over the past few years I have been at Balducci's many times and on this recent trip to Cape Town went twice. Both times the service was not really attentive - I took 20 minutes to get our bill for a bottle of water and two glasses of bubbles prepared as this may only be done by the waiter you serviced us. .... who unfortunately was not available when needed. The pear, avocado and blue cheese salad was nicely presented, but unfortunately the blue cheese was the crumbly and strong that no other taste could be determined. That was rather sad. It would be cool if your returned to the previous good service and nicely balanced food.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LU39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear LU39, thank you for the feedback. We appreciate it and will definitely look into this. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We had a casual early dinner here on a Tuesday evening. The restaurant was very busy and we felt lucky to get a table, so be sure to book. We enjoyed the wine selection and chose one of our favourite wines. Two of our party had gourmet pizzas which were superb. My other colleague had the lamb rogan josh curry and also raved about it. Service was very good and attentive.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Les, thank you for the lovely review. We appreciate it very much and look forward to you visiting us again soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Stopped in late and had a great Thai salad. Great service and nice atmosphere, BD always seems like it is busy but they can deliver good service. Good job!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xsoccer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Xsoccer1, thank you for the review. We appreciate it very much and look forward to you visiting us again soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing