We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi, great service”
Review of Balducci's

Balducci's
Ranked #60 of 1 207 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily
Reviewed 29 December 2017

This was a perfect mid day stop for a light bite to eat. We sat in the sushi bar and tried various options from the sushi menu - the tempura prawns were the best we have tasted anywhere!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Munchie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Munchie2014, thank you for the lovely review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the Tempura Prawns. We look forward to joining us again very soon. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 1 185 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We had ordered five sushi and sashimi dishes. All were made from tuna that was thawed- frozen at least three times. With pale grey colour and texture of decomposing flesh. With salmon to match - soaked in its own defrosting juices. All sushi appear like being pre-made, then frozen and thawed a couple of hours before serving. The staff was apologetic, but came up with conflicting messages on where the fish was sourced and how it was handled.
Stay away

Thank anton1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Anton, I can assure you that we do not freeze, refreeze and thaw again any of our menu items, raw or cooked. I am not sure what "conflicting messages" were told to you by the staff, but the manager would have been the best person to speak to as the waiter and sushi chefs are not totally aware of our suppliers and where the products originate from. I sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your sushi meals with us and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to investigate this. If you have a copy of your bill, please email it to me on support@slickrestaurants.com so I can discuss with our kitchen manager regarding the issues you raised. If you are still in Cape Town, please let me know, as I would like to invite you to join us again. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

This is a good choice for the Waterfront with a prime seafront location but like many of the places in the waterfront is rather characterless. The menu is like a book - you can have sushi, curry, pasta, pizza, and diet specific food. Whilst it's good to have all these options - you end up eating as if you were in a food Hall with everyone having different kinds of food. We had Poke bowls, Sushi and grilled salmon. The fish was very high quality and the sushi very well prepared. The service was very friendly and the prices are reasonable. We got a table for 5 without a reservation but the place was very busy so good to book in advance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NewYorkH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear NewYorkH, thank you for teh review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate it and look forward to you joining us again very soon for more of our great quality dishes. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

I have previously reviewed this restaurant and given it 5x stars. Unfortunately this Christmas lunch experience was a disaster and I feel very let down by this restaurant.
I took my elderly mother to Balducci's for Christmas lunch. She wanted a traditional Christmas lunch and as she is not mobile Balducci's seemed a good venue. My mother booked and prepaid in September 2017. The cost was R1000 per head. We arrived at Balduccis and were served sparkling wine, the tables were nicely decorated with crackers etc. I ordered the seafood option and my mother ordered the turkey with trimmings. My crayfish and prawns were good. My mother was served a plate with a large, whole turkey leg, the sight of this was just disgusting, but I did not comment as I did not want to put my mother off. Although the menu stated that the turkey was served with vegetables, stuffing and gravy, the plate my mother was served consisted of a HUGE, unsliced turkey leg, NO stuffing and no vegetables, two potatoes and some gravy. My mother could not eat this and I complained and asked the staff to bring her some white turkey meat. The staff took away the plate and returned with a small plate with a few slices of very dry, white turkey meat, no stuffing, no vegetables, no gravy. This for R1000. Apalllng service, apparently no understanding of a traditional Christmas menu and ridiculously over priced. My mother gave up trying to eat the tough, dry turkey meat and ordered the Christmas pudding which was too sweet, ice cold with congealed, cold custard. Really? R1000 for this? On Christmas Eve we had an impeccable dinner at Kloof St House with additional excellent wine for R600 per head. What on earth were Balduccis thinking??

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank leah01155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Leah01155, we have spoken already telephonically about your dining experience with us, and it has been resolved. As explained, the turkey leg was a garnish for all meat platters on the day. The platter was served with roast beef sirloin, turkey and gammon. The vegetables and sides was for the table and the waiter did not bring them out as he was meant to. We apologise for the inconvenience caused and we look forward to having you join us again soon. Regards, Andrew (please remember to forward me the info requested to support@slickrestaurants.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
41
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

The only thing this restuarant has going for it is the view and the service. I've had better pizza and noodles at the local takeaway joint for a fraction the cost. The menu is confused with the same ptions and toppings for both pizza and noodles. I sense they have mass produced these and simply add then to either pizza or noodles. Very disappointing!!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Traveller, my apologies that you did not enjoy your meal. We have adapted our menu over the past 21 years to what our customers have requested, as well as keeping up with the international trends and taste profiles. I hope that on your next visit you will try some of our outstanding dishes, like Lamb Shank, Butter Chicken Curry, Prawn Curry, Veal or our fantastic salad choices. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing