We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food, wine and service!”
Review of Balducci's

Balducci's
Ranked #112 of 1 233 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Whenever we visit the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town, we tend to choose Balducci's restaurant for lunch. This is not because we are creatures of habit. We really enjoy the food, wine and good service there. The vibe is good. The menu choices are great. The wine list is endless. Being a pizza fan, I can enjoy a good pizza with my favourite toppings while my wife will usually choose a pasta or a veal dish. We have also had some very good steaks and burgers there. The staff is very attentive and service is excellent even at busy times. If you like people watching, ask for an outside table.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seniortraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear SnrTraveller, thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate it very much and look forward to having you join us again soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 166 of 1 249 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

While the others really enjoyed the pasta dishes, I really enjoyed an ostrich fillet. The wines were good too. A very relaxed atmosphere in the upscale shopping area of the V&A Waterfront.

Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear DadDave, thank you for the great review. We hope to have you dine with us again soon. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

LOVE love love Balducci! For a vegetarian of sophisticated palette, there is a vast array of delectable dishes. From Asian veg and noodles to outstanding aubergines and broccoli. And the best Miso Soup!
Waiters are clearly trained to a high level. They are professional and knowledgeable yet relaxed and quick-witted. A pleasure to interact with them. Brian's service was impeccably gracious and delightful.
Best thing about Balducci's is CONSISTENCY. Never an 'off' day. Always top class!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Holly, thank you for the amazing review. I loved reading it and we look forward to having you join us again very soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely restaurant with good service from James Crowie.
The steak was perfectly cooked served with a good portion of fries and a sauce. Beetroot & butternut salad was delicious.
The pizzas are highly recommended. Wine is a bit pricey compared to other restaurants.

Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Cara, thank you for the Trip Advisor review. We look forward to having you visit us again very soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Just had a wonderful meal with my travel companions. James was our waiter. Happy, welcoming and professional. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Ann. Boston Ma.

Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Ann, thank you for the review. We look forward to having you join us again soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing