We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Balducci's

Balducci's
Ranked #109 of 1 288 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

We were a group of 15 people for a business lunch. I ate grilled calamari starter and Norwegian salmon with lemon butter for mains. Both plates of food served very hot and tasted great. Salmon extremely tender and flavoursome. For SA, thought food and wine a bit on the pricy side. Salmon R220 and wine, Beyerskloof Synergy Cape blend R260.

Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Keith, thank you for the Trip Advisor review. One needs to remember that Norwegian Salmon is not a local fish, but rather an import. As you said that Salmon was tender and flavoursome confirms that our quality is of the very best. We look forward to you joining us again soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 236 of 1 307 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

We felt like something different after having eaten a lot of meat and seafood over the past week. The menu here is huge catering for almost anything anyone could think of! We kept it simple settling with a pizza and pasta dishes - both of which were very good!

Unfortunately the service was the slowest we have experienced in a very long time. There may have been some confusion as to which waiter was actually responsible for our table at the start so we were left sitting for around 15 minutes before even ordering a drink! It didn't get much better after that but we did get an apology from him at the end of the night for it. A pity as this detracted from what could have otherwise been an excellent meal/evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Scott, my apologies that you did not get the service that we are renowned for offering in our establishment. I hope that the manager dealt with this effectively? We hope that you will give us another opportunity to wow you with what Balducci is all about. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Balducci's never fails - we've been eating there for over a decade and it is a Cape Town standout in terms of service (which is generally poor in Cape Town) and food that is inventive and exceptional.

This place is a winner by any measure and it also has a great wine list of South African wines.

In May we ate at Balducci's three times and were never disappointed. On one visit our waiter - Anthony - stood out for his attention to detail and engaging demeanor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Robert, thank you for the accolades. We really appreciate them, and we are happy to always be able to meet the standard. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

We've really enjoyed our lunch at Balducci's. Our waiter, CASPER was on top of his game. He took our order without messing it up without even writing it down. The food was amazing! It was to the liking of my guest from South Africa, France & New Zealand. We can't wait to go back. Best spent R3000.00 on lunch. Excellent wines and fast service. The food is as close to authentic Italian food with an SA touch. We had to finish it off with a lovely tiramisu. We want to explore the whole menu.

Thank BesterNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear BesterNJ, what a wonderful review. Thank you for posting it. We really appreciate it and thank you for the accolade for Casper. We look forward to having you visit us again to try out some of the other dishes on the menu. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

I love Balducci's! We constantly return for the fresh gnocchi, pizza, and wine selection. It's always busy but we've never had to wait very long. Overall a great and comfortable place to dine out, and one of the best at the waterfront.

Thank lgabreski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Lgabreski, thank you for the TripAdvisor review. We appreciate it and we hope to have you visit us again soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing