We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch With Great Service”
Review of Balducci's

Balducci's
Ranked #108 of 1 294 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Tremendous family lunch. Value for money, selection, atmosphere and service.
Kids had pizzas which were large, tasty and thin base.
We had prawn Asian noodles and a lovely pasta. The peanut and crunchie milkshake was sublime.

Casper was our brilliant waiter.

Thank 81iainc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Iain, thank you for the review and the kind words. We appreciate it and we hope to have you join us again soon for more. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 351 of 1 316 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Super food, best frozen margarita in town and really friendly staff and super service. Has no outside terrace but really recommend!

Thank Jeanime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Dear Jeanime, thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We look forward to you joining us again soon. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Lunch #3: could be Xmas or something, service not prompt and waitress was confusing herself more than than us on her. She forgot to bring us bread and us if her colleagues brought us the bread. Then she came back to recheck one of the orders. Lastly, she suggested to use pepper for my seafood pasta and yet she forgot to bring it (there was already quite some pepper inside!). Maybe it wasn't ready for the crowd on Xmas? I wouldn't Rec but this is convenient choice after late lunch (famished) after Robben Island tour.

Thank Claudia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Dear Claudia, my apologies for this experience. Please can you send me a copy of the bill. I would like to follow up on this. Please can you email to support@slickrestaurants.com with Balducci Xmas Lunch as your subject. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

They have no children's menu so you end up paying adult prices for children. We had a starter to find the plates with the last meal food stuck to the bottom of the plate. Which means when those plates were stacked that would had been on the sides we had eaten off. Then we had a pizza and found a hair in the meal. The table mats had inbeded food in them. The toilets were dirty and had not been cleaned regularly. The whole experience was very poor and not recommended.

Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

Dear Stephen, my apologies for the experience with us. We do not, and have never had, a children's menu. We are not that kind of establishment. We do however have a number of items that are regularly ordered by parents for the children at their table (chicken strips, fries, starter calamari, side mac & cheese, sushi, etc). The plate having dried food stuck to the bottom is not acceptable and is most definitely not our standard. I will investigate this with out kitchen managers. The hair in the food is not from anyone in our kitchen. With the restaurant being extremely busy and guests coming and going past the tables, it could have come from anyone. Our toilets are checked every 15 minutes, and is very possible that in between checks it was used and left in a state. It does happen when we are busy and are serving over 200 per sitting and up to 1000 guests per day. I do apologies that you had this experience but please note, as can be seen from many of our reviews) that this is not the standard at all and yours was clearly a once off one. We hope that you will reconsider and visit us again. Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Had a lunch meeting today at Balducci and ordered the Carbonara, my colleagues ordered the pizza. Pizza's looked great, garnished with shaved parmesan cheese. My dish looked good as well except for the bowl of powdered fake cheese next to it. I called the waiter and asked if I could have some fresh Parmesan cheese, as is customary at all restaurants I have ever been to. I was told there was a "surcharge" for fresh Parmesan?? I said no.
The manager came over just after that and I explained the situation after he asked, he then told me the same thing!!!!! The sad thing is that the food was good, but the attitude of the staff is all wrong. Won't be back or recommending.

Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

Dear Dooogs, my apologies that you found the attitude of our manager and service ambassador to be one that was "wrong". We offer freshly grated Parmesan cheese for all our pastas, complimentary. We use shavings of Grana Padana for our pizzas and our salads. We do not offer an option of the two. The grated Parmesan that is offered complimentary with your pasta is most definitely NOT "fake powdered" that you purchase in sachets or shakers in the supermarkets. My apologies if you feel that this was not handled correctly, however, both manager and service ambassador were following our standards. If a guest chooses to order something extra that is not part of our menu item recipe and dish, then it is a surcharge. Kind Regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing