We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jambo Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$223
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$148
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$132
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$149
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$120
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$779
US$742
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
93
20
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitesterile hotelbay roomwithin walking distancelovely hostshelped us plancooked breakfastspent nightsplace to staysouth africafelt like homelocation is greatcentral locationbarryminaguesthousecape
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We stayed at Jambo Guesthouse in early November for 3 nights but so wish we could have stayed longer. We were allocated the Bay Room which was exactly as it is described on the Jambo Guesthouse website. We were transported back to Victorian era, were more than comfortable and had everything we needed. The owners, Barry and Mina, are a lovely couple who go over and above to make your stay a memorable one and are more than happy to give advice or assist in bookings. We were walking distance from the Waterfront so restaurants and the hop on, hop off buses were easily accessible.

Room Tip: Every room has a theme so take a look at the website if you'd like to request a specific room.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Minstrel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJambo, Owner at Jambo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Minstrel23,
We too wish you could have stayed longer and experienced even more of Cape Town, in our view the best City on the Planet !
Many thanks for airing your views onTripAdvisor - much appreciated
Warm Regards
Barry and Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

I stayed at the Jambo four years ago while a solo traveler off to see the world and returned this year with my mum and brother in tow to spend Xmas in Cape Town. Coming back to the Jambo felt like coming to visit old friends. We were warmly greeted with hugs and shown to our rooms after nearly a full days travel. I love the decor of the Jambo as it has personality, unlike generic box hotels, and the personal touch you get staying there. The location is great as you are an easy walk to the waterfront but not on top of it so can actually sleep at night. I hope it won't be another four years for my next visit.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great but the garden room is extra special.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliodhnaZtoical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJambo, Owner at Jambo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dear Cliodhna,
We are so glad you enjoyed your second visit to Jambo and thanks for posting a review. We too hope you will return before 4 years !
Regards
Barry and Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

We were greeted warmly by the owners and they accommodated us earlier (with the storage of our bags) than indicated. Very beautiful house (inside and out), our room was clean and well layed-out. Hospitality was in overflow and the company at breakfast was a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank F7711XCandred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJambo, Owner at Jambo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Candred,
Many thanks for your kind words and for taking the trouble to post a review.
Regards
Barry and Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We had a really nice time at this hotel. We arrived a little early but that wasn't a problem. Our hosts were gracious and welcoming. The wifi worked better than most places on our trip. We got guidance on the area and on what to do and see, which worked out very well for us.

Breakfast was plentiful and good. Room was comfortable.

While there is parking on the main road, it is not as plentiful as we were told and we were not able to make use of one of the hotel parking spaces, despite the fact that one was empty during our visit.

Minibar fridge was noisy in our room. And there was a sign asking for it not to be turned off which we respected.

We took their advice and mostly walked to the centre of town. A nice couple of days and a comfortable place to unwind after a 12 hour flight from the UK.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pmjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJambo, Owner at Jambo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear PMJD,
Thank you for posting this review on TA. It is much appreciated. And thank you for mentioning the minibar - a pity you didn't tell us while you were here, we could have done something about the noise.
Yes parking is a problem here in this old part of town but we do have opposite us on the main road a very big parking area, P14, for the stadium which has a lot of spaces and is free. Maybe we didn't explain it to you properly ?.
Thanks again

Barry and Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

The hospitality of Barry and Mina is something we have never seen and experienced before during our trips in South Africa.
Go to them and feel the warmth. A glass of wine in the bar and chat about anything you want in a very friendly and comfortable way.
The house is around 130 years old. Each room has its own specific creation!
The breakfast is great!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank fdejong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJambo, Owner at Jambo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Frans,
Thank you for writing a review for us. Greatly appreciated. You must come again and stay longer next time !
Warm regards
Barry and Mina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews