We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
42
58
11
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
58
11
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild fig category hotel main building has reward points close to the airport stayed nights at this hotel nice lounge on site restaurant save water welcoming hotel road noise easy access egg station three star bed was very comfortable minute drive a lovely place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Stayed here for 5 nights, Highly recommend this Marriott / Protea hotel from where you can get around to the Cape Town sites e.g Waterfront / Table Mountain, Cape Point Kirstenbosch are easily accessible, as it is located within a km of the main roads (N1 / N"). Stunning views of Table Mountain.The rooms were very clean, comfortable and in a good state of decoration, which surround a large grassed courtyard. Staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The hotel only serves breakfast (very good) as The Wild Fig Restaurant & The Rivers Club which both serve good food - within walking distance.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bryster_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMowbray, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Bryster_T,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray through Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
LINDSAY PALIWODA
Marketing Plan Coordinator
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
lindsay.paliwoda@proteahotels.com
021 442 5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

I was booked into a really nice little suite with a kitchenette, quite dark but clean, massive, comfortable bed and with a large bathroom. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, particularly Feze (the queen of reception!) who recommended the Museum of Modern Art (MOCCA) to me on the harbour front in Cape Town which is quite simply spectacular and the best I've been to - highly recommend this to anyone. The Protea Mowbray has a really nice little bar and restaurant (The Wild Fig) which has great food and really, really nice wines. Situated next door to a prison facility for the criminally insane, which is a first for me, but overall this couldn't be better...

Room tip: Go and eat at The Wild Fig and go and see MOCCA! These two things alone will make your stay worthwhile..
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMowbray, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Jon C,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray through Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.
Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service.

Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Lindsay Paliwoda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel. It was very quaint, great breakfast buffet and the view outside amazing. The price is very reasonable too. We rented a car and it was so easy to get to most destinations from the hotel. I would stay there again. I just hope they don’t run out of water in Cape Town because we were considerate when there and took five minute showers!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mkbdo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMowbray, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Mary B,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray through Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.
Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
LINDSAY PALIWODA
Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
lindsay.paliwoda@proteahotels.com
021 442 5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

A charming little hotel with courteous and helpful staff that will do their best to make your stay comfortable. They helped us organize a cab for an early morning airport drop at a very reasonable Uber-like price and stored our luggage for almost a week when we were gone. The room decor felt a little dated but the rooms were neat and comfortable. Couldn’t ask for more for a quick one night stopover. Don’t expect anything fancy and you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vagab0nd4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMowbray, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Vagab0nd4life,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray through Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.
Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
LINDSAY PALIWODA
Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
lindsay.paliwoda@proteahotels.com
021 442 5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We were offered water to drink when we arrived , but when my son asked for water to drink , he was charged R20 for the bottle .

Earlier , we were offered an umbrella to use in the rain . BUT were told that the deposit was R300!

With the plethora of hotels in Cape Town , I doubt if I will return

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RobbiRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews