We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very neat and cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Ranked #45 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was nice and cozy. The other thing is it was near for everything and couple of dollars for uber to get to the furthest places. Breakfast was superb. The lady with dreads was very friendly. They had a bottle of wine in the room which was nice

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank easy-breezzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2017

Cape Finest has exceeded our expectations. The small guesthouse is absolutely charming in a central, hip and safe location in the Waterkant area. Our room was not too spacious but stylish and absolutely sufficient for my partner and me. The roof-top terrace with a little pool has stunning views. The breakfast and Willie, who gives amazing recommendations, were other highlights of our stay.

In summary, we will be happy to return.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Finest G, Manager at Cape Finest Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Ben,
Thank you for your compliments.
We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and roof top terrace with the little pool. We are fortunate to have Willie in our team who have added so much to our guest’s experience. When you plan to visit again Cape Town please do let us know.
Warm Greetings from Sunny Cape Town!
Michael & Cape Finest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We stayed at Cape Finest Guesthouse in Cape Town for 5-nights in early Oct ($137). The guesthouse had a great location at the top of the De Waterkant district, just off Strand St and an easy walk to all of the downtown sights (Long/Bree Sts, Castle, Company Gardens, Bo Kaap, etc) and only a 25 min walk to the V&A waterfront. The area was full of amenities – a mall 2 blocks away with a supermarket, bottle shop, ATM and Vodacom store, and a plethora or restaurants and bars an easy walk away through safe neighbourhoods.

Cape Finest Guesthouse appears to be a former townhouse of 3 floors and a roof-top deck that has been renovated with an eye to style – trendy and chic. The entry gate on Loader St leads to a set of steep stairs (the ground floor had only a single apartment) to the 1st floor that housed a common area, kitchen, dining room and a couple of rooms off to the side. Up another set of stairs, the 2nd floor had 3 rooms plus an alcove with 2 coolers and a counter for the honour bar (R10 for everything – water, pop, beer). Then up another exterior stairway to the roof deck, with its tiny pool (5'x5', 3' deep) and large seating area (part covered by large umbrellas, part open) with stunning views of Table Mtn and the City Bowl.

Our room was probably the smallest in the guesthouse, long and narrow with a shuttered window at one end overlooking Loader St (very quiet at night, though). Despite the size, it seemed spacious and airy with 10' ceilings, white walls (except the feature wall with its full-wall photo of old Cape Town) and good lighting. It was furnished with a double bed backed by a shelf for storage, a couple of ceiling lamps, an open wood rack barely adequate for clothes storage (some remained in the luggage against the wall), and a long bench with the sink backed by several circular mirrors along one wall. The toilet was separated from the room by a half-width wall, and a shower with a full glass front filled the end of the room. There was a small, wall-mounted TV and an in-room safe. Some nice touches included milk chocolates on the pillows every night and a bottle of wine as a welcoming gift. Over all, the room was comfortable, adequate in size and quite elegantly finished.

Breakfast was very good, with good coffee, juice, fresh bread for toast, special yogurt, eggs to order, and fresh fruit.

Behind the guesthouse, there was secure parking in a fenced and gated area shared by the whole block. The staff were excellent, with suggestions for activities, help with the local area and recommendation and reservations (even discounts) for local restaurants. All in all, a great base in a safe area for exploring Cape Town on foot, a comfortable bed in an elegantly appointed, quiet room, and great staff who make it feel like your second home. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Finest G, Manager at Cape Finest Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Ndser,
On behalf of Cape Finest Team I would like say thank you very much for taking time to write us a thorough review. We always thrive to offer great service and whenever we receive comments such as yours it gives us more motivation to go extra mile.
We are mostly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Should you have any suggestions on how we can improve in our product and service offering please let us know.
Warm Regards & Greetings from Sunny Cape Town,
Michael & Cape Finest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Very close to V&A Waterfront it us the perfect stay if you want to spend a day or more there. City Sightseeing Bus kiosk close at hand. Rooms have a modern hotel chic style. There is a rooftop terrace from which you have a gorgeous view onto the harbour and the mountains. It also hosts a tub for if you need a cooling down. Staff is very friendly and give personal attention. A special welcome with your name on the door? We had it. A bottle of wine or a piece of cake extra? No problem at all. Willie and Chantal are always ready to help if you need any, e.g. with the safe or any question, and in their informal way make you feel at home at once.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Finest G, Manager at Cape Finest Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Lucie,

Thank you for your wonderful comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location and the guest house suited your needs.Willie & Chantel will be happy to hear that they their assistance was highly appreciated.
Should you be visiting Cape Town in he future please let us know as we would love to host you again.
Warm Regards,
Michael & Cape Finest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

We've booked for 5 nights and got the downstairs room "Van Gogh". The room is nice (if a bit loud) and the bed is comfy and big. The staff is very friendly - they make you feel like coming home every evening rather than coming back to the hotel. The roof-top with loungers, chairs and tiny pool is the perfect spot to take a sundowner including stunning views on Table Mountain.
The location of the guesthouse is absolutely fantastic - everything is close by: restaurants, bars, shopping opportunities and sightseeing.
We can't recommend this place enough.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NaddyNad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1,3 km away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#40 of 156 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
1,4 km away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
616 reviews
1,9 km away
Leeuwenzee Guest House
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#50 of 156 in Cape Town Central
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,6 km away
Bayflowers Guest House
Bayflowers Guest House
#10 of 156 in Cape Town Central
316 reviews
0,1 km away
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
#49 of 156 in Cape Town Central
101 reviews
0,8 km away
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Finest Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Finest Guesthouse

Address: 17 Loader Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 360 - R 5 755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Finest Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting areas in Cape Town, this 6 room luxury guesthouse is a perfect base to explore the city. Not more than 5 minutes to the V&A Waterfront, CTICC, Table Mountain and city centre, this is an ideal spot. In need to relax? Go to our relaxing rooftop terrace and absorb the beauty of this city or simply bask in the sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape Finest Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing