We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
104
18
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
18
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace de waterkant steep cobbled streets downstairs room tiny pool loader street eggs to order secure area secure parking table mountain comfortable bed perfect location restaurants and bars like coming home perfect stay guest house is within easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We stayed at Cape Finest Guesthouse in Cape Town for 5-nights in early Oct ($137). The guesthouse had a great location at the top of the De Waterkant district, just off Strand St and an easy walk to all of the downtown sights (Long/Bree Sts, Castle, Company Gardens, Bo Kaap, etc) and only a 25 min walk to the V&A waterfront. The area was full of amenities – a mall 2 blocks away with a supermarket, bottle shop, ATM and Vodacom store, and a plethora or restaurants and bars an easy walk away through safe neighbourhoods.

Cape Finest Guesthouse appears to be a former townhouse of 3 floors and a roof-top deck that has been renovated with an eye to style – trendy and chic. The entry gate on Loader St leads to a set of steep stairs (the ground floor had only a single apartment) to the 1st floor that housed a common area, kitchen, dining room and a couple of rooms off to the side. Up another set of stairs, the 2nd floor had 3 rooms plus an alcove with 2 coolers and a counter for the honour bar (R10 for everything – water, pop, beer). Then up another exterior stairway to the roof deck, with its tiny pool (5'x5', 3' deep) and large seating area (part covered by large umbrellas, part open) with stunning views of Table Mtn and the City Bowl.

Our room was probably the smallest in the guesthouse, long and narrow with a shuttered window at one end overlooking Loader St (very quiet at night, though). Despite the size, it seemed spacious and airy with 10' ceilings, white walls (except the feature wall with its full-wall photo of old Cape Town) and good lighting. It was furnished with a double bed backed by a shelf for storage, a couple of ceiling lamps, an open wood rack barely adequate for clothes storage (some remained in the luggage against the wall), and a long bench with the sink backed by several circular mirrors along one wall. The toilet was separated from the room by a half-width wall, and a shower with a full glass front filled the end of the room. There was a small, wall-mounted TV and an in-room safe. Some nice touches included milk chocolates on the pillows every night and a bottle of wine as a welcoming gift. Over all, the room was comfortable, adequate in size and quite elegantly finished.

Breakfast was very good, with good coffee, juice, fresh bread for toast, special yogurt, eggs to order, and fresh fruit.

Behind the guesthouse, there was secure parking in a fenced and gated area shared by the whole block. The staff were excellent, with suggestions for activities, help with the local area and recommendation and reservations (even discounts) for local restaurants. All in all, a great base in a safe area for exploring Cape Town on foot, a comfortable bed in an elegantly appointed, quiet room, and great staff who make it feel like your second home. Recommended.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Finest G, Manager at Cape Finest Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Ndser,
On behalf of Cape Finest Team I would like say thank you very much for taking time to write us a thorough review. We always thrive to offer great service and whenever we receive comments such as yours it gives us more motivation to go extra mile.
We are mostly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Should you have any suggestions on how we can improve in our product and service offering please let us know.
Warm Regards & Greetings from Sunny Cape Town,
Michael & Cape Finest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Very close to V&A Waterfront it us the perfect stay if you want to spend a day or more there. City Sightseeing Bus kiosk close at hand. Rooms have a modern hotel chic style. There is a rooftop terrace from which you have a gorgeous view onto the harbour and the mountains. It also hosts a tub for if you need a cooling down. Staff is very friendly and give personal attention. A special welcome with your name on the door? We had it. A bottle of wine or a piece of cake extra? No problem at all. Willie and Chantal are always ready to help if you need any, e.g. with the safe or any question, and in their informal way make you feel at home at once.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Finest G, Manager at Cape Finest Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Lucie,

Thank you for your wonderful comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location and the guest house suited your needs.Willie & Chantel will be happy to hear that they their assistance was highly appreciated.
Should you be visiting Cape Town in he future please let us know as we would love to host you again.
Warm Regards,
Michael & Cape Finest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

We've booked for 5 nights and got the downstairs room "Van Gogh". The room is nice (if a bit loud) and the bed is comfy and big. The staff is very friendly - they make you feel like coming home every evening rather than coming back to the hotel. The roof-top with loungers, chairs and tiny pool is the perfect spot to take a sundowner including stunning views on Table Mountain.
The location of the guesthouse is absolutely fantastic - everything is close by: restaurants, bars, shopping opportunities and sightseeing.
We can't recommend this place enough.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NaddyNad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Positiv:

From our point of view this hotel has its very good recommendation only due to the manager "Willy". He is so friendly and helpful and creates such a nice atmosphere that this really makes the difference. We are sure that without his great service this hotel would not be ranked so high. Thanks Willy! It has a nice roof top terrace with a great view. The breakfast is fantastic. The location is also very good and in a secure area.

Negative:

On our arrival we were disappointed by the room. It was downstairs, with only a very small window to the staircase. It felt like a prison. The room was quite small and did not meet our expectations based on the description and the pictures on booking.com. Our recommendation would be to also put some more pictures of the rooms in which clearly shows the differences between the rooms like windows. And also to change the description. "Deluxe", "Superior", "Standard" does not really help but it would be great if you would write that it is a room downstairs with only a small window or on the first or second floor because then we would not have booked the downstairs room. We also think that this downstairs room should not be the same price as the Ines on the first floor. Another issue was the noise in the morning produced by the staff. If the manager "Willy" was present, everything was perfect and quite but without him the staff talked loudly at 06:30 when they arrived and the preparation of the breakfast was also noisy. So please Willy teach your staff how you do it because you do it perfect. Unfortunately the other staff also produced some noise lately after 10 pm, music was still running in the breakfast area and some staff was having loud telephone calls. This should be avoided.

Room tip: We would recommend a room on the second floor or first floor.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarkNinjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

The staff at Cape Finest Guesthouse were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble - trying to help us reload a flat tyre or boiling some eggs for our late night supper. Great breakfast and other treats left in our apartment., All the amenities were first rate and the view from the rooftop was spectacular. Thanks for a great experience

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Finest G, Duty Manager at Cape Finest Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Catherine,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.
It gives us such a comfort to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and other little treats provided.We would absolute love to see you come back again in the future therefore if you ever come back again to Cape Town please let us know.

Warm Regards from Sunny Cape Town!

Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews