We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Tapas near African Pride Hotel”
Review of Chalk and Cork

Chalk and Cork
Ranked #73 of 1 233 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the African Pride 15 on Orange for 3 nights and looked for restaurants within a safe walking distance at night. We discovered the Kloof Street fit that need and found this small restaurant for tapas in that area. A small place, it offers some seating on street level and a small dining room on floor two. We enjoyed the fried eggplant, cheese board and summer pizza - all very reasonably priced. The wait staff was wonderful. Many have come through a charitable training program the restaurant supports. Five rand is added to your bill for support of the charity but you can choose not to be charged if you desire. We didn't want a big dinner and this restaurant was just right with their offerings of small plates.

Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalkandcork, Manager at Chalk and Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Rhonda,

Thank you for joining us whilst in town - Kloof street is a wonderful area and we are a small part of what makes it special. Glad you found us and were able to enjoy a couple of our favourite dishes!

If you are around again you need to try more of our tapas specialities with some exciting new changes coming soon!

Kind regards,

Rachel West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

Stumbled upon Chalk and Cork while walking along Kloof looking for a spot for a drink. We were pleasantly surprised. Great wine and the server was very friendly and helpful. We decided to leave to look for another spot for dinner and ended up coming straight back here for food instead b/c the menu looked better than anywhere else. We were not disappointed - we ordered one of their pizzas, the beet hummus, and a salad and loved every bite! Highly recommend Chalk and Cork

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nireks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalkandcork, Manager at Chalk and Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hi There!

Thank you for the wonderful review - so happy to hear that we gave you the experience you hoped for.

Service and food are our passion and glad that this shows through our staff and dishes. If you are around Kloof Street again we would recommend coming again to try some of our other tapas dishes!! We also take bookings for our cosy upstairs dining area.

I will be sure to pass on your comments to our amazing team - Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Rachel West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Small bar seating downstairs with more upstairs, plus a patio. Ordered the olives (plentiful), which had a nice lemony bite. Then we shared the prawns in a piquante sauce (odd shavings of celery as a salad) which were tasty. Had to try the truffle popcorn, which was good (except there were quite a few kernels), and then the pork cheek (slightly sweet but good umami). Overall, decent tapas and reasonably priced.

Thank Ecowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We found this place shortly after arriving in Cape Town after a 23 hr journey. We sat in the courtyard in the sun and had REALLY REALLY GOOD tapas and vino. Also had lunch inside which is pretty cool too. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful and excited to have people interested in their city. We went back 3 times in a two week period. Well done guys, an asset to Cape Town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalkandcork, Manager at Chalk and Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Paul,

It was wonderful to have you join us as regulars during your week in Cape Town. The team will be thrilled to read your comments and feedback of your experience.

We do hope you join us again the next time as I am sure we will have a lot of new changes for you to indulge in :)

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Rachel West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Such an interesting menu, service was great but the food was absolutely fantastic! Relaxed vibe and a great place to get together with friends.

1  Thank W9896ZJkellyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalkandcork, Manager at Chalk and Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for the awesome review - Please come and join us again in Summer when the outside area will be in full use and some new Summer dishes on the menu!

Kind regards,

Rachel West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chalk and Cork also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Chalk and Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;