We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent tapas”
Review of Chalk and Cork

Chalk and Cork
Ranked #75 of 1 245 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Small bar seating downstairs with more upstairs, plus a patio. Ordered the olives (plentiful), which had a nice lemony bite. Then we shared the prawns in a piquante sauce (odd shavings of celery as a salad) which were tasty. Had to try the truffle popcorn, which was good (except there were quite a few kernels), and then the pork cheek (slightly sweet but good umami). Overall, decent tapas and reasonably priced.

Thank Ecowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We found this place shortly after arriving in Cape Town after a 23 hr journey. We sat in the courtyard in the sun and had REALLY REALLY GOOD tapas and vino. Also had lunch inside which is pretty cool too. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful and excited to have people interested in their city. We went back 3 times in a two week period. Well done guys, an asset to Cape Town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalkandcork, Manager at Chalk and Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Paul,

It was wonderful to have you join us as regulars during your week in Cape Town. The team will be thrilled to read your comments and feedback of your experience.

We do hope you join us again the next time as I am sure we will have a lot of new changes for you to indulge in :)

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Rachel West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Such an interesting menu, service was great but the food was absolutely fantastic! Relaxed vibe and a great place to get together with friends.

1  Thank W9896ZJkellyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalkandcork, Manager at Chalk and Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for the awesome review - Please come and join us again in Summer when the outside area will be in full use and some new Summer dishes on the menu!

Kind regards,

Rachel West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

When we travelled France we looked for the Tapas type eatery because it was the most affordable. Well this is not France and this is not cheap BUT in each plate of tapas you get fantastic quality. There is nothing cheap about the quality in preparation and presentation. The staff is friendly and engaging. We arrived on a Saturday morning at 1130 and ordered the Wood roasted beetroot and burned orange tapas as well as the special of the day the Crumb covered hake with potato gnocchi. I also had a Smokey joe pizza. The two tapas was way above the norm ito quality. The pizza was better than most but next time I will order from the tapas because it is so well prepared and presented. We sat in the loft but there is also excellent outside seating. I was most impressed with the variety of the wine list. Yes the prices is not the lowest but this is Kloofstreet and the competition is tough. But this is a gem.

Thank Frik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalkandcork, Manager at Chalk and Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi There,

Always wonderful to read positive feedback to start our week at Chalk and Cork! So glad you got the chance to stop by to try a couple of our dishes, next time you definitely need to add a few more to have the full dining experience.. but of course paired with a fantastic glass of local wine. If the selection is too difficult, just ask your waiter as we have ever changing specials and they too all have their favourites! :)

I will certainly pass all your comments onto our team who will be thrilled to read them and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Rachel West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

This restaurant does delicious food in a lovely relaxed environment. I don't think it can be called tapas as the choice isn't really Spanish at all, but it has a non showy and interesting menu of small plates, which were very tasty indeed. Would highly recommend it here (especially the chicken liver pate!) It's not cheap, but is worth it!

Thank Asgbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalkandcork, Manager at Chalk and Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi There,

Thank you for joining us and for the fantastic feedback on our food and menu selection. Our chef does take extra care, time and thought when designing the menu and changing it often to keep things interesting. Although not all Spanish, we have chosen to bring in many other influences into our dishes more recently to offer a nice variety of flavours.

We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Rachel West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chalk and Cork also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Chalk and Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing