We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”
Review of Chalk and Cork

Chalk and Cork
Ranked #74 of 1 233 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 July 2017

I made a reservation here for our dinner club and on arrival we were informed that there was a function booked and we could sit by the counter (right next to the pay point) No need to say more, we had to leave, it was literally 2 steps to the front door, sitting at an open counter next to a staircase. I have heard great things about this place, but our experience was really bad. I would expect that the manager would call and cancel reservations when they take on a function.

    • Service
Thank Shantellebooysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalkandcork, Manager at Chalk and Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Dear Shantelle,

Thank you for the feedback and I am sorry to hear that this has happened and a little shocked. The normal procedure is that all tables are informed on making a booking when the only seating available is downstairs and given the option. A lot of our guests enjoy and request the downstairs area having a different atmosphere completely being near to the open kitchen and more interactive with the staff. Unfortunately I am unable to trace who made the booking for you as this was clearly a miscommunication from their side.

We would love to welcome you back to show you real Chalk and Cork hospitality and experience!

Please do send us an email if you would like to discuss this further @ info@chalkandcork.co.za or if you have any further questions.

Kind regards,

Rachel West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017

Looking for a pleasant place to drink a glass of wine, we were welcomed by smiling staff (or was it the manager/owner himself?), and sat down at the only empty table on the first floor. We were taken care of by a young waitress, who recommended not only a choice of really good wines (Amnesty, Gabriels, Myriad), but also the food to go with it (mushroom risotto, tempura courgette, poached pear). Unusual combinations but all very tasteful and nicely presented. The majority of the clients were young, some tourists, some locals, but we did not feel out of place with our white hair (75+!). Decided to make a suitable donation the restaurant advertises for and received a competent and suitable lesson concerning tipping in South Africa from our outspoken waitress. Thank you! Really a nice experience, to be recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Urs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalkandcork, Manager at Chalk and Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Good day and thank you for the wonderful words!

It is great to hear feedback on staff, food and beverage all in one and that the waitress was on hand dedicated to creating an amazing dining experience for you. We hope you enjoyed some of our new combinations and will be back soon for a little more - we will be bringing some exciting new dishes on during the course of the week!

Enjoy your time in Cape Town as it is full of wonderful food and wine experiences!

Kind regards,

Rachel West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Visited twice and not again. Food was very good but portions are too small for the price. The staff use "tapas" as an excuse for food taking far too long to arrive. Service was average.

Thank bernstein15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

we only had drinks, nice atmosphere delightful service . we will be back for a meal for sure . especially on a nice day in the garden

Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalkandcork, Manager at Chalk and Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hi There!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back soon while the sun is still out, and to enjoy some of our tapas in the garden!

Kind regards,

Rachel West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Ate dinner outdoors in this charming little place. The staff were warm and friendly, and pretty efficient despite having a full house this evening.

We tried two different pizzas and shared them half-and-half and they were both really delicious. A few adjustments were made by us with regards to ingredients and this posed no problem. They also offer a tapas menu and the prices are averagely reasonable (not the cheapest, but not super-expensive).

All in all very happy with this cozy place, will definitely eat there again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bakoyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalkandcork, Manager at Chalk and Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Hi There!

Great review - happy to hear you had a wonderful evening with us!

You must definitely try out our famous cauliflower base and some tapas next time you come by. Our menu is ever changing so please ask your waiter for some recommendations and favourites in house :)

Kind regards,

Rachel West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chalk and Cork also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Chalk and Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing