We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a budget tour!”
Review of Acacia Africa

Acacia Africa
Book In Advance
More Info
US$2 059,36*
and up
14-Day Small Group South Africa Safari from...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Acacia Africa offers value for money Overland & Small Group Safaris, Adventure tours, Treks and Private Day Tours in Southern and East Africa. We operate tours and safaris with passion and over two decades of experience, ensuring high standards allowing us to grow successfully in a socially and ecologically responsible way. Owner managed team and dedicated guides guarantee passionate attention to quality.
Reviewed 26 November 2018

I just got back from the Desert and Delta Express Northbound (12-day) route and I am happy with the tour overall. I enjoyed the camping and the tents and campsites were all good. You also could upgrade at most places if you ever needed. Breakfast/lunch was very basic and got a bit redundant (cereal/toast/sandwiches), but dinners were delicious usually something grilled at the campsite! We did make plenty of stops to restock on water and snacks. This was a participation tour, and we all rotated jobs between packing the truck, cleaning the truck, washing up, and cooking. I liked pitching in, but of course you have those that don't. Keep in mind this is an overland tour so you will have long days in the truck (with no a/c), and you just have the bare minimums! We did a lot of game drives and saw plenty of animals! This was always fun, but you also must have patience in the hot sun! Our group had 15 people and good mix of 20-somethings. A few couples, but mostly solo travelers. Also with this company, people are coming and going depending one their route, so you may or may not be with the same people the whole time. On my particular tour, I joined a group from Cape Town that had been together a week. The highlight for me was ending in Victoria Falls and whitewater rafting on the Zambezi. This has been on my list for quite a while and it did not disappoint! Highly recommend! Overall, the tour went as planned for a budget-friendly tour and I would recommend as long as you know what you are getting yourself into!

Date of experience: November 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Courtyard44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine_Acacia, Manager at Acacia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Dear Courtyard44 - Thank you for your comments on your recent Acacia overland tour. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the trip and all the aspects that make overland travel in Africa so unique. We hope to see you on our East African or South Africa tour again in future. Regards, Sabine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"okavango delta"
in 13 reviews
"optional activities"
in 7 reviews
"vic falls"
in 14 reviews
"tour leader"
in 6 reviews
"long days"
in 4 reviews
"small group"
in 8 reviews
"long driving"
in 3 reviews
"chobe national park"
in 3 reviews
"blyde canyon"
in 2 reviews
"gweta lodge"
in 2 reviews
"game drives"
in 5 reviews
"camping safari"
in 2 reviews
"white rhino"
in 2 reviews
"life changing experience"
in 2 reviews
"feel unsafe"
in 2 reviews
"wild animals"
in 3 reviews
"day tour"
in 5 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2018

We've been in 2 months Overland trough Africa; started from Nairobi, went trough Uganda, from east to west and than all the way down to Cape town. It's Been AMAZIN, even because our crew (Pete & Francis highly reccomended).

Date of experience: September 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank pietropaolor978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine_Acacia, Manager at Acacia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Dear Pietro - it's always lovely to hear that our crew and wonderful continent were able to give you lasting memories. We'll be sure to let Pete & Francis know how much you enjoyed your Ultimate African Overlander!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

I went through Acasia Africa to do an Africa Insight, the tour lasted a week and was jam packed with good times!

Date of experience: October 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank oliverlord31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine_Acacia, Manager at Acacia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Hi Oliverlord31 - thanks for taking the time to post your review and glad to hear you had such good times ;). Regards, Sabine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine_Acacia, Manager at Acacia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

It was my first tour with Acacia, but maybe not the last one. I did the tour from Livingstone to Swakopmund and really liked the set of the tour: it was a combination of a lot of different experiences: Vic Falls, Safaris, Okavango Delta and then the desert in Namibia. Our driver and guide were both very professional, enthusiastic, but also funny and we all had a great time. I can highly recommend it!

Date of experience: August 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Theresa12398765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine_Acacia, Manager at Acacia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Theresa12398765 - thank you for sharing your comments on your recent tour with us. We are thrilled to hear your Desert & Delta Express tour exceeded your expectations and that the crew were able to share their love of Africa with you. We look forward to welcoming you back! Regards, Sabine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acacia Africa also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to Acacia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing