We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Acacia Africa
from US$2 431,29
More Info
from US$1 736,35
More Info
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
95
17
3
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
95
17
3
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews okavango delta vic falls amazing wildlife fellow tourists felt safe at all times amazing trip great company driver africa gorillas continent accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

In my opinion, Acacia Africa is the perfect way to see the spectacular splendor of Africa. The trips combine a perfect combination of tourism and exposure to the real Africa. The guides are extremely knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. Each days itinerary is very carefully explained the night before. The drivers keep your safety in mind at all time and double as excellent spotters of animals while on safari. While the accommodations are not luxurious, they are perfectly satisfactory and I loved supporting local businesses rather than chains. The food provided exceeded my expectations. It was delicious and there was always enough to have seconds. While traveling through Africa itself can present unexpected challenges, traffic, bad roads, unexpected breakdowns, the team handled everything professionally and kept us happy and well cared for. It all just added to the experience. A special shout out to our guide Liz Njuguna whose energy and enthusiasm made our trip unforgettable. If you want a vacation, go to the Caribbean. If you want an adventure go with Acacia Africa.

Thank Roldanlopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine_Acacia, Manager at Acacia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you for your review Roldan L - we'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Liz & Ben and hope to see you travel with us on our southern routes in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

I had a fantastic time on this accommodated Cape Desert Safari Tour. It was perfectly organised. All the accommodation was great. We also slept 2 nights in a tent, which was easy to put up. The truck we used was perfect for this kind of trip. It fits 26 people but we were with 10 (included driver and guide) so we had plenty of room. These trucks are comfortable for the unpaved roads of Namibia.
It had a freezer, cool boxes so we could keep our drinks and food cold. With the big windows you have a perfect view and this combined with the hight of the truck makes it excellent to go on game drives.
You will spend a lot of time on the truck but you will pass through the most beautifull and varied landscapes.
Seeing the wild animals in their natural habitat is fantastic.
Being from Belgium tto much light pollution), I had never seen such a beautifull sky full of stars.
Our driver (Khumbu) and guide (Philile) were amazing. They did everything to give us a good time. The meals they prepared were outstanding. Never had better meals during an overland like this.
They clearly know what they where doing, are very professional, gave us lots of information.

The optional activities on this trip were great as well and of good value.

I can definitely recommand this trip and company for your trips to Africa.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank wernervanvlasselaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arno D, Manager at Acacia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Werner

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip with us and we are glad you enjoyed the Cape Desert Safari Accommodated tour. It's always great to hear that our crew were able to show you how special this part of Africa is and that you enjoyed the facilities in Namibia and South Africa en-route.

We shall pass on your compliments to your Acacia tour crew - Khumbu and Philile.

Kind regards,
The Acacia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

The main problems I had with this tour was our guide and the issues at the national parks. It just seemed like the itinerary made it seem like you had more game drive time than we actually got. This is the main reason I came and spent so much money, to see the animals. when 1400 of my 2800 dollar tour was just to see the national parks, I felt like we were cheated out of time there. out of the five game drives that were on the itinerary, only one was even close to a full day. the tour was good at getting us out early in the morning, but would frequently make us go back early in the day. the itinerary only had one masai village on the tour, yet we went to two, an extra one that was outside the masai mara. this cut that day shorter, it was supposed to be a full day in the park, yet we had to leave to be at the masai village. i would have rather had more time at the park than go to two masai villages, especially as this wasn't on the itinerary. the first day at the masai mara, we ended up only having about two hours on our first game drive and on the way back for dinner we heard there was a leopard off the side of the road... this was the one thing I wanted to see and it is rare to see anyway...we told the driver that another car saw a leopard and he acted very annoyed and said

Date of experience: June 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Cherstie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arno D, Manager at Acacia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Cherstie,

Thank you for your post following your recent tour with Acacia.

Precise timings for gamedrives depend on various factors - such as where in the park viewings have been successful in preceding days - but two hours on the first afternoon after arriving from Nairobi sounds normal, and for the 2nd day, two shorter drives – morning and afternoon - often preferable because it maximises the likelihood of sightings when it’s cool and animals are more active. In each case vehicles must be outside the reserve by 6pm.

In regard to the Maasai villages, our scheduled visit is to a village near Arusha in Tanzania but in Kenya we will stop outside the Mara if members of the group request.

Your message was cut off but if you wish to email us with your feedback I’d be pleased to investigate anything arising from your trip. Please send to info@acacia-africa.com

Kind regards
Arno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

I joined as a camping guest but only actually camped for 3 nights where we had excellent facilities. In Swaziland we were able to upgrade from camping to log cabin dorms for just 15rand a night. On the final night we were in permanent tents with beds and linen.

All locations had excellent communal facilities.

There was lots of meals included and catered for vegetarians and gluton free too. The food was very very good. Jack was our guide and a fabulous guide and chef!

Lots of included activities and everything was arranged perfectly.

Compared with other tour operators, Acacia were much cheaper but do not compromise on quality so highly recommended - cheaper than doing this route independently too.

3  Thank travelaholic007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arno D, Manager at Acacia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear travelaholic007,

Thank you for taking the time to review our 7-day Kruger, Swaziland and Beach Overland Tour. We are delighted that you enjoyed your tour with us. We make every effort to include a variety of highlights in each country visited and to supply good wholesome food along the way.

We hope to see you travel with us again.

Kind regards,
The Acacia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

The one week tour with Acacia was phenomenal, however as they say it is just a 'taste' of Africa, there is so much more to see and do! On this tour there is a good amount of included activities that will leave you with great memories and incredible photos.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arno D, Manager at Acacia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Rex S,

Thank you for your amazing review. I do believe the memories you made will last a lifetime. They say ‘The eye never forgets what the heart has seen’ ~ African Proverb.

We hope to see you again for another Africa adventure.

Kind regards,
The Acacia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews