We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

Acacia Africa - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1 030,77*
and up
7-Day Small Group Kruger and Victoria Falls Safari from Johannesburg
Ranked #112 of 331 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Acacia Africa offers value for money Overland & Small Group Safaris, Adventure tours, Treks and Private Day Tours in Southern and East Africa. We operate tours and safaris with passion & two decades of experience, ensuring high standards allowing us to grow successfully in a socially and ecologically responsible way. Owner managed team & dedicated guides guarantee passionate attention to quality.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 23 July 2016

I just finished the overland camping trip from Cape Town to Victoria Falls/Livingstone. Amazing!! The guide and driver - yo Big Sam! - were great, nothing was too much trouble and they really worked hard to make sure we all had an incredible time. The itinerary was perfect, we got to see and do so many amazing things - the okavango delta, dune 45, sandboarding, skydiving, chobe national park, vic falls... I could name so much more! And the campsites were incredible, think watching shooting stars on a huge rock in the middle of nowhere, or camping literally next to a elephant watering hole with no fences around you! If you have doubts about camping please don't - the mattresses were A LOT more comfy than i expected, the tents were HUGE and i had hot showers most of the time! And the FOOD. I definitely put on a few kgs. Overall it was an incredible experience with an amazing group of people that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend! Thanks acacia!

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy34_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    5
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“7 Days - Kruger to Victoria Falls”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

The highlight of our tour to Victoria Falls was our excellent guide Simon. He really went above and beyond to keep us happy and safe. Simon's enthusiasm is infectious, he is extremely knowledgeable and passionate about show what Southern Africa has to offer. We had an unavoidable change of itinerary due to the political situation in Zimbabwe and Simon was able to keep us well informed and make alternate arrangements.
The tour itself was a great way for us to see Kruger, Botswana and Victoria Falls. There are some long days driving but the spectacular views of Victoria Falls are worth it.
The accommodation is adequate, with the first 2 nights at Nsele Lodge a highlight. The host are very welcoming and the food amazing.
We would recommend Acacia Africa to anyone looking for a guided tour in Africa.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“7 Day Safari - Zambia, Botswana, S. Africa”
Reviewed 3 June 2016

From Vic Falls to JoBurg - camping all the way. So much fun and what an experience. Great guide! Beautiful places to visit. Highlight was Elephant Sands!!

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Great tour, great value ”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Fantastic tour from joburg to Victoria falls. Very knowledgeable guide who gave great facts without personal opinion. Fantastic value also.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine_Acacia, Manager at Acacia Africa - Day Tours, responded to this review, 13 May 2016
Hi Dean R

Great to hear you enjoyed your trip with us - hope to see you again in future!

Cheers
The Acacia Africa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“7 Day Safari Botswana”
Reviewed 11 May 2016

My wife and I did this Safari with 2 other couples last week. I went in with low expectations on this, as I usually do with trips so as to not disappoint myself.

I was SURPRISINGLY DISAPPOINTED with Acacia Africa. I consider myself a season traveler, having been to over 20 countries Europe, Asia, SE Asia, Caribbean, and about half the US States. This was my first trip to Africa.

First the Good Stuff:
The Game Drives. Chobe specifically was the highlight of the trip. It was the first day and nothing seemed to compare after that.

Flight over the Okavanga Delta- a must do. However, do NOT book this through Acacia, they had the price at $425 a PERSON. We had our guide take us directly to the airport in Maun and we walked into a shop with the exact same Company, it was Delta Excursions and booked directly there. The ENTIRE plane was $425, for 5 people. $2125 vs $425, Acacia is gouging is customers. Only 4 of us wanted to do it so we took our awesome guide Simon up with us and just split it 4 ways. This was awesome. Make sure you have a camera with a good zoom lenses.

Simon (our guide) was great. Very enthusiastic and friendly.

Karma Rhino was cool, but they purposely delayed the Rhinos to the end and they were kind of far away.

Basically, the game drives are the best parts, everything else was lacking.

The Bad Stuff

Accommodations
We did the Accommodated tour which is mostly hotels and one camp site. I wanted to do the camping, but my wife said no.

I actually really like the camp site despite the bush toilets and showers, the cots were not bad. The best parts of this were seeing the stars at night (thousands of them) and hearing the animals. The food here was amazing, campfire cooked African dishes-balboati specifically. We also had two game walks, pretty cool, but i like the drives better in hindsight because you see more.

The Mokoro was disappointing in a few ways. 1st, our guy rocked the boat a bit and I was constantly worried I would fall into the water, this made it difficult to relax.
2nd, the ride was short, only about 45 minutes.
3rd, we really didn't see any animals because of the tall grass, i can forgive this given the time of the year we went.
4th- THE WORST BUMPY RIDE out there. Nearly a 3 hour drive to get to the mokoro, only 45 minutes on smooth road and 2 hours of the worst ride ever. Bouncing off your seat literally a foot high and then getting your back slammed into the railing is not fun. The seats are wood benches which pop up from some of the bumps. I was trying to hang on and the bump popped my seat up and smashed my finger drawing blood. Nothing to ruin your "relaxing" mokoro like 2 hours of speed bumps. One lady in our group actually started crying with disappointment.

The other hotels were all ok. Maun hotel, which we stayed at twice was the worst one, the pool was green, the food was atrocious, they actually served as a cold "warm" breakfast because we got up and they forgot to make our breakfast and we had to leave. Their was nothing to do in this hotel or nearby.

Gweta sucked-pool area was nice and it had a bar which was the only salvation. We arrived here late and "just missed" our sunset activity to see the Balboa trees or meerkats, so we sat around the pool. I can do that at home. I didn't fly halfway around the world to lounge by a pool. The shower was outside which i didn't mind but my wife didn't like it.

The "traditional village" was, pardon my language, a HELL HOLE. I was thinking like wooden yurts with tribal elements or something. No, this was a ghetto, slum, "modern" cinder block houses, not to mention it was a holiday so the town was deserted. its the village you see when you drive into the hotel area and everyone was looking uncomfortably at each other. Thank god it was a holiday and it only wasted an hour of our money and we left. I looked on the price board and they charged $15 to literally walk us down one street and look at a slums. No thanks.

This trip to Gweta caused us to miss our sunset activity, see a slum, and waste almost 2 full days of our 7 day safari, take into account the 7th day is all driving and now our 7 day safari is really only 4. Advice to Acacia, take this part out or make sure the Game drive truck is there to take your guest on tours. I asked our guide if their was anything we could do, if we could take the bus on our own and he said yes. We could go see the trees in the morning before we left. Needless to say this didn't happen b/c of "road conditions"

Yes I was aware of the drive times, but I had accounted for being able to do all the optional activities and i was fine with paying more to do so.

Karma Rhino sanctuary was neat, but its in the middle of the afternoon in the hottest part of the day so not a lot of animals are out, but we did get to see the Rhinos.

Food
Pretty much basic sustenance to keep me alive everywhere. Poor choice of options, we basically ate chicken every meal, and had cereal for breakfast. Lunch several times consisted of "chips and cookies" we bought at gas stations. They don't have a lot of selection. The best food was at the camp because they actually cooked stuff.

Bus
Ah the bus, no AC, which was fine for being late autumn early winter, we just threw open the window, temps were in the low 60's at night and high 80's during the day it wasn't to bad, but we only had 6 people taking up a 22 seater, so everyone had their own row. Had it been packed it would have been much less pleasant. Now the bad part is, our bus shocks went out on the good ole bumpy roads.

Our bus got downgraded to an 11 seater also with no AC. Worse it only had 4 windows in the back and only 2 of these actually opened. The seats where smaller, and we were much more cramped. All of us agreed we would have preferred the other bus without "shocks" over this cramped bus.

In summary, knowing what i know now, i would NOT recommend Acacia Africa. Maybe its just the experience I have travelling on my own, but the "tour safari package" was definitely NOT worth it, and I can see easily that their is probably a 50% markup on the cost after asking the hotels and game drives directly about cost.
There was way too much down time on this trip, im not talking about driving to places, im talking about sitting around waiting to do the activity. I like to be doing stuff, 2-3 activities a day, this only had 1 thing a day, with driving half day and about 4 hours of sitting around on average per day in your room. What a waste.

The food certainly wasn't expensive either. (My wife and I ate at 4 star restaurants in Vic Falls and Johansburg and had meals with drinks for $50- and they were damn good)

Next time I will rent a car or guide and drive on my own, stay at hotels on my own which would be cheaper and arrange the game drives at the hotel, which is basically what Acacia has your guide do when you arrive. I can do all that on my own.

Save yourself half the time, half the money and see twice as much and just do the planning before you head out. You will have a much better time than joining Acacia on their "safari."

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Dynas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine_Acacia, Manager at Acacia Africa - Day Tours, responded to this review, 17 May 2016
We are grateful for feedback from passengers following a tour. On a small number of occasions it is critical we look at what may have gone wrong and how we can continue to improve the services we offer to our customers. The Okavango Wilderness Trail tour is one of our most popular small group tours and has been so for many years. If the correspondent above writes to us we will be pleased to reply in detail.

The Acacia Africa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acacia Africa - Day Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Acacia Africa - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing