We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent excellent excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
Ranked #36 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Excellent excellent excellent stay at Redbourn Hilldrop. The two hosts Johnny and sharon were very helpful indeed as this was my first trip to Cape Town. The guidance and assistance from Johnny and Sharon really made our holiday in Cape Town. And the view from the breakfast area is simply wonderful as is the view from the back door looking at Table Mountain. Cannot recommend this place highly enough,

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank O7502MZjohnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018

Cannot recommend this property more highly. Simply brilliant. Johnny and Sharon do a great job in helping the guests get the most from their visit to Cape Town. Their help to us was absolutely brilliant and made our holiday in Cape Town
and in South Africa. If you are a first time visitor to Cape Town then you could not do better than stay with Johnny and Sharon. If I could stay for eight days in the week I would.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Sharon and Jonny run an amazing bed and breakfast in a beautiful house in the hills of Oranjezicht overlooking the City Bowl and harbor and in the shadow of Table Mountain. Everything about this place is superb - great views, great breakfast, great pool and patio, comfortable beds, unparalleled service.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E9497WYjamesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Jonny and Sharon are perfect hosts, with lots of knowledge about the city.
Breakfast was fingerlicking good.
Very nice rooms, clean and fresh.
Stunning view over Capetown from the very original breakfast room.
Robert

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

I'm going to really struggle to get across how amazing Johnny and Sharon are so please bare with me.

Redbourne Hilldrop is homely but in a laid back sophisticated way and it is located in a safe and well looked after area. You are extremely well catered for with the honesty bar and selection of tea's and coffee's on offer. The rooms are nicely furnished, very comfortable and spacious. You have everything you need from USB charging plug sockets to fresh cold water every evening with a cheeky chocolate each. There are free safes to use and you only need ask for a hairdryer. The laundry service offered is very cheap and 24 hour turnarounds are available if required. The views over Cape Town, Lions Head, Signal Hill and Table Mountain are incredible and you could stare out of the window for hours. It was too cold for us to enjoy the outdoor areas but I can imagine how lovely it would be lying by the pool. There are takeaway menu's lying around for those long days when you just want to eat and get yourself off to bed.

Johnny and Sharon cannot do enough for you. Every night they recommended restaurants for us to eat (and their recommendations were on point every time). They arranged Ubers and even drove us one evening. They were only ever a call away. It was Sharon's fathers birthday whilst we were away and she was off to a party and then the rugby, yet she said to message her if we wanted her to arrange Table Mountain tickets (needless to say I didn't as I wanted her to have a break).

Breakfasts were an exciting affair. Each morning we had a delicious bowl of fruit and following this there was an amazing choice of things on offer. I opted for eggs with mushrooms and bacon. These guys cook an amazing breakfast. The mushrooms were earthy and mouth watering, the eggs were always cooked to perfection and the bacon was always on the right side of crispy. Each morning during breakfast these guys were interested to know what you had done and what you wanted to do that day (to see if they could help in anyway). Nothing was ever too much. One morning we had a lie in and said not to worry about breakfast but when we left our room there were two bowls of fruit waiting for us. So thoughtful.

Phil and I were really sad to leave here and will definitely return. It was their anniversary the day we left so we gave them a Fairview Cheese platter, just a small token of our appreciation. When we left Sharon presented us with a gift for our honeymoon.

I could write all day about how incredible this place is but you know what you just need to go and find out for yourselves. From reading all the reviews these guys take time to make everyone's stay so incredible and memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emileee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
3,8 km away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#39 of 112 in Cape Town Central
509 reviews
3,3 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 831 reviews
3,5 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3,8 km away
4 On Varneys
4 On Varneys
#38 of 156 in Cape Town Central
159 reviews
3,7 km away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#40 of 156 in Cape Town Central
283 reviews
3,6 km away
Leeuwenzee Guest House
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#50 of 156 in Cape Town Central
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse

Address: 12 Roseberry Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 898 - R 1 820 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing