We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$138
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$132
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$146
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$779
US$731
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$146
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$119
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
142
12
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect hostsbreakfast barbreakfast roomtable mountainoverlooking cape townfriendly and helpful hostsimpersonal hotelfew minutes drivegarden routecomfortable accommodationcity bowlevery morninghome away from homefirst morninghonesty barevery eveningrestaurant recommendations
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Cannot recommend this property more highly. Simply brilliant. Johnny and Sharon do a great job in helping the guests get the most from their visit to Cape Town. Their help to us was absolutely brilliant and made our holiday in Cape Town
and in South Africa. If you are a first time visitor to Cape Town then you could not do better than stay with Johnny and Sharon. If I could stay for eight days in the week I would.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Sharon and Jonny run an amazing bed and breakfast in a beautiful house in the hills of Oranjezicht overlooking the City Bowl and harbor and in the shadow of Table Mountain. Everything about this place is superb - great views, great breakfast, great pool and patio, comfortable beds, unparalleled service.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E9497WYjamesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Jonny and Sharon are perfect hosts, with lots of knowledge about the city.
Breakfast was fingerlicking good.
Very nice rooms, clean and fresh.
Stunning view over Capetown from the very original breakfast room.
Robert

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

I'm going to really struggle to get across how amazing Johnny and Sharon are so please bare with me.

Redbourne Hilldrop is homely but in a laid back sophisticated way and it is located in a safe and well looked after area. You are extremely well catered for with the honesty bar and selection of tea's and coffee's on offer. The rooms are nicely furnished, very comfortable and spacious. You have everything you need from USB charging plug sockets to fresh cold water every evening with a cheeky chocolate each. There are free safes to use and you only need ask for a hairdryer. The laundry service offered is very cheap and 24 hour turnarounds are available if required. The views over Cape Town, Lions Head, Signal Hill and Table Mountain are incredible and you could stare out of the window for hours. It was too cold for us to enjoy the outdoor areas but I can imagine how lovely it would be lying by the pool. There are takeaway menu's lying around for those long days when you just want to eat and get yourself off to bed.

Johnny and Sharon cannot do enough for you. Every night they recommended restaurants for us to eat (and their recommendations were on point every time). They arranged Ubers and even drove us one evening. They were only ever a call away. It was Sharon's fathers birthday whilst we were away and she was off to a party and then the rugby, yet she said to message her if we wanted her to arrange Table Mountain tickets (needless to say I didn't as I wanted her to have a break).

Breakfasts were an exciting affair. Each morning we had a delicious bowl of fruit and following this there was an amazing choice of things on offer. I opted for eggs with mushrooms and bacon. These guys cook an amazing breakfast. The mushrooms were earthy and mouth watering, the eggs were always cooked to perfection and the bacon was always on the right side of crispy. Each morning during breakfast these guys were interested to know what you had done and what you wanted to do that day (to see if they could help in anyway). Nothing was ever too much. One morning we had a lie in and said not to worry about breakfast but when we left our room there were two bowls of fruit waiting for us. So thoughtful.

Phil and I were really sad to leave here and will definitely return. It was their anniversary the day we left so we gave them a Fairview Cheese platter, just a small token of our appreciation. When we left Sharon presented us with a gift for our honeymoon.

I could write all day about how incredible this place is but you know what you just need to go and find out for yourselves. From reading all the reviews these guys take time to make everyone's stay so incredible and memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emileee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Sharon and Jonny were just perfect hosts. They will make you feel at home and make sure that your stay will not only be pleasant but enjoyable as well. The staff were very friendly and attentive to the needs of the guest. An excellent place to stay in Cape Town

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anthonyaM5098JG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews