We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$33
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/09
Agoda.com
US$29
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/09
Trip.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
4
9
11
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4
9
11
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We stayed in the Kimberley Hotel over New Year, there was 5 of us in a room. When we got there we were handed the keys for room on the top floor, there was one plug socket that worked and the rest were broken, it was a boiling hot room with no fan. during the first night i was woken up to a big bang, i looked over to see one of the double bed had collapsed with 2 people sleeping in it, the 2 people complained and got moved into another room, the next morning i woke up and went to plug my phone charger into the only plug socket that was available, as i pulled the plug out, the whole socket blew up and let off sparks, This was so dangerous so we complained and had to move rooms again

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We had a great experience in South Africa and it was amazing all your advice, all the taking care of us and everything. We had a especial time here. They give a complimentary drink which is most welcome when arriving

Thank you !!
Leticia from Brazil.

Room tip: higher floors have less bar noise
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hikermike49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 December 2014

We had a few drinks and grabbed a quick dinner on our last night in CT. Staff very friendly, but one can see that the building is in need of an update. We sat outside on the pavement which is good for some "people-watching" - of which we saw all shapes and sizes - a real mixed culture pot. Food is average, but it fills the gap. When we were there the "special" at the bar was that doubles were cheaper than singles (;D). There is also no such thing as a smoking and non-smoking section. I suppose it is as good as any other place in the vicinity to grab a quick drink or beer?!

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Busy_Bee_0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 December 2014 via mobile

We stayed over for a weekend in august as a birthday present for my boyfriend. The 'haunted' room was our home for 2nights. With our own balcony overlooking the beauty of the heart of cape town, the room was well equipt with the basics. The staff were friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed spending time in the bar. Located close to several clubs and bars and a thrill to experience the night life of town. Thank you

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AneriB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Clean room, but sheets with holes and didn't feel nice, kitchen VERY greasy and dirty. Dirty dishes left in the fridge (gross), washed dishes (by the staff) still greasy, sometimes no dishwashing liquid there to clean them by oneself. Everything is very, very old and doesn't give the feeling of a real backpackers. Staff friendly. Furniture on the balcony also greasy. Toilet on carpet right next to bed. Didn't feel comfortable at all and left 4 nights early (!). Noisy at night due to pubs around.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Corinna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews