We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Percect location with 360 degree rooftop bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Newly renovated and opened Cloud 9 is a great place very close to all the reataurants and places along Kloof Street, and halfway up to table mountain and the nek to Camps Bay. Very stylish with Spa and great rooftop bar lounge to chill the afternoons or early evenings away.
It is a complex of various old bulidings which got interconnected. Seems many rooms including ours dont really have a view for that reason. Yet given the very central location and style and space of the place that was acceptable to us. And the breathtaking 360 views from the 3 rooftop terrasses and the rooftop bar with comfortable lounge chairs and rooftop pool made up for that 100 per cent.
Only real shortcoming from our side was the breakfast service. Seems there is a collaboration for breakfast service with the place next door with is more a cocktail bar type of place. Service did not meet the expectations and the level of the hotel (poor service: things being forgotten often, long wait, ....) which we thought was a pity as the overall experience at Cloud 9 was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Petra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadre B, General Manager at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Hi Petra

We really appreciate your input and please now that we are working very closely with The Sorrows Restaurant to get the level of service to what is expected of in a Boutique Hotel.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and staff, it really makes our day seeing such positive reviews:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017

This small 'boutique' hotel is spread out over several adjacent buildings. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. There are two small swimming pools, a jacuzzi, and a roof top bar. The breakfast area had just re-openend and the very friendly staff was struggling a bit with the service. No doubt all is ok now.

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank Martijn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadre B, General Manager at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Dear Martjin

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your kind words! The Sorrows restaurant is still in their teething stages but every day they are learning and getting a bit better:) Hope to see you again on your next trip to Cape Town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Good location, friendly staff and clean rooms with air condition. There's a rooftop bar with a very nice view. The breakfast was pretty decent although it would be nice with a few more hot options. Would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank mnaverfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadre B, General Manager at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

We really appreciate you taking the time to give us such positive feedback on our hotel! We loved having you here and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Cape Town:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Hotel is central,clean,view from our room was beautiful,staff is very friendly.Siphokazi & the bar man recommended other places that we can visit while in cpt.However the hotel needs to have a parking space reserved for each & every room..We had a best stay in Cloud 9 & we will stay there again when we visit CPT

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nokwandam426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadre B, General Manager at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

We would like to thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of our hotel. Sipho asked us to send her regards as well:) Parking in the city bowl is a major problem and although we would have loved having parking for each room we unfortunately only have the property we rent from the school next door. You are more than welcome to pre book a parking bay prior to arrival on your next stay with us:):):)

See you next time you are in Cape Town!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Stayed while they were finishing last renovation of restaurant. My room was not large but had all the stuff I needed. Nice courtyard but roof terrace with pool has incredible views! Friendly staff. Breakfast was nice but a bit slow. Location is also very good with many restaurants on doorstep and close to Table Mountain and beaches.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank AmsterdamJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadre B, General Manager at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Jasper

Thank you so much for your great review, much appreciated! Hope to see you again on your next visit to Cape Town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 472 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 356 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#49 of 112 in Cape Town Central
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
403 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 086 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 12 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Leeuwenvoet House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 558 - R 3 358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Table Mountain lies Cloud Nine Boutique Hotel perfectly placed in the trendy Tamboerskloof area of the Cape Town city bowl. The Hotel is within easy walking distance of the hip & vibrant Bree, Kloof and Long Streets with their many shops, restaurants, bars, clubs & cafes. The property comprises of 5 heritage Victorian buildings dating back to 1892. As part of our preservation original elements including marble fireplaces, pressed ceilings & wooden floors have been retained. Cloud Nine offers the guest original Victorian architecture combined with modern standards of services & accommodation, making this prestigious luxury boutique hotel the venue of choice for tourists, executives & other discerning travellers. All of this blends seamlessly together to provide the guest with a relaxed environment of contemporary elegance at the foot of the mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing