We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pet-friendly Cottage with beautiful views of the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of House of this magical cotttage with a garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House of this magical cotttage with a garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Front of House of this magical cotttage with a garden.
The upstairs main bedroom leading onto a patio overlooking Cape Town Harbour.
The main bedroom with its own television.
Comfortable and relaxing.
The bathroom for the main bedroom with shower.
View of Table Mountain from Balcony
The lounge.
Main bedroom with balcony and en suite bathroom.
Bathroom.
Interior in dining room.
Kitchen fun.
Morning Coffee on your balcony.
Bedroom bliss.
Kitchen fun.
Bathroom elegance.
Bathroom elegance.
Ahh relaxing and cooking on the gas braai on the front patio.  Ready for guests.
Relaxing.
Bedroom with a view.
Nowie Qwabe -  wonderful host and housekeeper.
Sunlight on the patio.
Dining room dinner....
Hello laughing zebra...
Quaint Village streets and houses
Stairs up to the main bedroom.
The Village Cafe for Breakfast
De Waterkant cobbled streets
Beautiful village atmosphere in De Waterkant
Garden with umbrella.
Front of house.
Bathoom for 2nd bedroom.
Views of Table Mountain from the back patio.
Views views views. Help yourself to some fresh vegetables and herbs growing in the pots.
Interior with magazines and books.
Well stocked kitchen.
Mary Bailey your host.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cape Town Central, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
V P
Benoni, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pet-friendly Cottage with beautiful views of the Mountain and Harbour!”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This was truly a home away from home but with the most spectacular views! We enjoyed every minute of it. We even entertained guests there who simply loved it. There is enough cutlery and crockery to host a dinner party and you can braai either on the patio facing the mountain or the one facing the harbour. we booked out the entire cottage for our stay. the parking is right next to the front door in a safe garage so you don't have to worry about your car. Our dog was so relaxed and it was easy for us to take him on walks, morning, noon and night. there are many top restaurants and shops within walking distance and we really felt safe there. It is a truly magical place. We didn't want to leave!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed the cottage and felt so at home and were able to entertain and that your sweet dog felt at home too. Thank you for staying. It was a pleasure hosting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you for the fabulous review, wonderful hosting such gracious and super guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
philly201...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage in De Waterkant”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Mary's cottage is wonderful and Mary is an amazing host. We were supposed to stay in a different location owned by Mary in another part of Cape Town. However the morning we were supposed to fly from Jo'berg to Cape Town, my daughter got sick and after seeing a doctor, by the time we got to OR Tambo, it was too late to board our flight. We had to buy new tickets to Cape Town and were going to be late. In addition to that, there was a government event in the Cape Town CBD and a lot of streets were closed which would have made it very difficult for us to get into the CBD but also get picked up next by a tour company. Mary was incredibly helpful in switching our reservation to her cottage and was in constant touch with us so we could settle into the cottage. I only wish we could have stayed longer instead of just one night.

The cottage is quaint and has everything you need. Comfortable rooms, great decor that truly makes you feel like you are in Africa. Three different outdoor areas for you to enjoy wine or tea.

Mary and her wonderful cottage made our tough day much more bearable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. So greatly appreciated it. Hope to see you back again oneway. Happy travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Woodbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed here with friends for 6 days. Found it very homely and comfortable. Mary the owner is very helpful and there was a welcome pack in the fridge and a generous amount of tea bags, coffee and all the condiments you could need. Even lovely fresh herbs growing on the roof - most unusual but as one of the boys loved cooking they were most welcome. The kitchen is very well equipped but there is no dishwasher which didn't bother us as it was a novelty washing up! The rooms are large with loads of storage and the beds very comfortable. The upstairs bedroom is ensuite and there is a nice bathroom next to the downstairs bedroom. There is no air conditioning but we managed in the downstairs bedroom with the ceiling fan at night once we'd got the hang of it. We made great use of the washing machine and particularly the gas barbecue (gas provided) most evenings in the charming little garden overlooking Cape Town.
There's plenty of security with window and door bars which we only used when we went out, or to bed, and we felt quite safe. A friendly security guard walked by fairly frequently.
It's in a quirky area surrounded by nice little coffee shops and restaurants with a small but very useful shopping centre close by. It's well positioned for the V&A Waterfront which is walkable. We taxied back as we weren't happy about wandering around at night but I think it possibly would have been safe. The walk back is quite steep, but short, at the end so not good if you struggle with hills.
There were a few negatives like a couple of wobbly chairs, a rather dangerous hole in the drain right outside the downstairs bedroom door, a safe in only one bedroom and a particularly old oven and hob neither of which worked very well. We were having cooked breakfasts so this was a bit of a bind but overall we loved staying here and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Dear Christine
Thank you for your wonderful review - always greatly appreciated. We love all your positive comments and take any constructive observations seriously - so thank you for these too.
The recently broken tile over the hole outside the bottom bedroom has been replaced and the stove is being replaced.
We provide complimentary cleans which include doing dishes and a good clean. Hope that worked well for you?
Look forward to seeing you again.
All the best
Mary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABLer
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Truly a magical cottage in the heart of Cape Town”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Could not have asked for a better place to stay in Cape Town. The De Watercant area was lovely and a short walk to the V & A and Long Street...very central. There was a great selection of little bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood and private security patrolling the neighbourhood so you felt very safe.
Mary, the property manager, was amazing and very accommodating. The place was scrupulously clean and well stocked...including the herb garden that provided lettuce and herbs for our cooking endeavors. It had wonderful character with a great selection of CD's, books and movies.
I would highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great pillows and bedding and I loved the fact that breakfast supplies were in the fridge for us.
Liked least: The reality of Cape Town is you do have to be very security conscious so locking and bolting gates and doors was a necessary evil.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing