We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Taras

a fantastic, joyful boutique hotel!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 May 2024
This hotel was amazing. Everything from the cool decor to friendly staff was joyful. Rooms were bright and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The owners are foodies and gave us great restaurant recommendations. Finally the location is safe and ose to many nice restaurants. I would definitely highly recommend the Derwent House
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Derwent owners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Many thanks for your rave review, Taras! So happy that you enjoyed your stay -- and especially, our wining and dining tips 🍴. We love sharing our insider knowledge with fellow foodies -- and Cape Town offers so much choice. You'll just have to come back for a second round!

We really appreciate your recommendation on this platform and so do other travellers. Thank you again for taking the time to share your recent experience at Derwent House -- and we do hope to see you back again on a future visit!

From the whole team, warm Cape Town greetings!

Anahid & Armin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 804
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 004
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 227
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 003
1.4 km from Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 123
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 081
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 080
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 210
2.7 km from Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 940
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 241
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 746
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 240
2.5 km from Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 741
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 806
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 365
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 763
2.7 km from Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Cape Town Lodge
R 765
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 633
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 790
1.6 km from Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
R 3 798
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 610
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 373
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 608
3.2 km from Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 5 805
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 807
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 876
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 805
3.7 km from Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 358
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 360
  • Destinia.com
    R 4 299
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 5 358
3.8 km from Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 543
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
    R 971
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 418
2.6 km from Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviews (1 861)
Filter reviews
1 861 results
Traveller rating
1 746
98
12
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 746
98
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar kloof street table mountain pool and hot tub afternoon cakes our honeymoon honor bar home away from home south africa camps bay every evening restaurant recommendations stay in cape town living room restaurants within walking distance restaurants and bars garden route
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1 861 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2024 via mobile

This was our last stop on a 30 day tour of India, Madagascar and Africa. This hotel was the most welcoming and comfortable of our stays. The inn is in a quiet neighborhood with great restaurants within walking distance. The view of Table Mountain from our room was spectacular. The entire staff was very friendly and we even had the opportunity to sit with the owners and sample some new local wines they were tasting for their future menu.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank paullsoucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Derwent owners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2024

Wow, paullsoucy--thank you so much for this wonderful accolade: to be the "most welcoming and comfortable" stay on your epic journey is high praise indeed! Means all the more, coming from such discerning travellers as yourselves.

It was a real pleasure becoming acquainted over some potential new additions to our wine list, so well presented by the winemaker from Nabygelegen. As a Pinotage fan and ambassador myself, I'm personally chuffed that the Pinotage was your favourite. Hope you'll take that memory home with you and continue supporting South African wines!

We're so pleased that you enjoyed our little oasis in Gardens: such a quiet neighbourhood, so close to all the life and activity of the city, especially on nearby Kloof Street . . . and of course: that mountain!

Please come back and see us again soon!

All the very best from Cape Town,

Anahid & Armin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2024

Derwent House is perfect for personal or business travel. Truly a home away from home. Comfortable accommodations, staff are hospitality plus. Your every comfort and need are taken care of with a smile!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2024 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about the Derwent House Hotel. From the moment I booked the hotel in December 2023, I received messages from the hotel sharing information about what to do in Cape Town: restaurants, tours, events, etc. Upon my arrival, I received such amazing care from all of the staff. Special appreciation to Oliver, Luca, Gladys and Mercy. They treated me like family. The staff who supported the kitchen were gracious and warm.
The hotel is beautifully decorated. Breakfast is plentiful and delicious. I enjoyed having a scrumptious dessert along with a glass of port or Amarula courtesy of the hotel.
I appreciated being close to Kloof Street so that I could walk to great restaurants like Black Sheep and Carne.
Using Uber to get around was easy and economical.
I enjoyed waking up to a spectacular view of Table Mountain each day.
The Derwent House Hotel has captured my heart and I will stay here again when I return to Cape Town! I wish I could give this hotel more than 5 stars!

Room tip: Ask the hotel to connect you with Roger Chresswell who offers customized tours. He is a fabulous guide.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank M3217CBvictoriap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2024

Such a well located hotel with restaurants around the corner and the Waterfront and Table Mountain terminal both just a cheap cab ride away. The hotel is lovely. Our room was compact, well looked after and overlooked the pretty pool area. The breakfast was very good. All the staff were super helpful but Patience was the stand out for us.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2024 via mobile

Lovely small hotel in a great area. What a welcoming place with staff that go above and beyond and make you feel at home. We were thinking about staying at the V+A waterfront and so glad we didn't. Great communications before our arrival and helped make all sorts of arrangements (guides, restaurants, drivers, something from the pharmacy). Shout out for Mercy and Luca and all of the staff!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank vandc326
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews