We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$136
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$149
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$856
US$836
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 511)
Filter reviews
1 511 results
Traveller rating
1 406
89
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 406
89
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barkloof streettable mountainpool and hot tubour honeymoonlittle toucheshonor barmobile phonemillers thumbhome away from homesouth africacamps bayrestaurant recommendationscommunal areasevery eveningstay in cape townrestaurants within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 1 511 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

My fiancée and I stayed at Derwent House in Jan 2018 for a week and our stay from start to finish was perfect. Anahid the owner couldn’t be more helpful, her staff are gorgeous and the hotel (perfectly located between the city and beaches) is like a home away from home. Amazing breakfasts, gorgeous rooms (our bed was super comfy), fresh cakes and wine put out for guests in the afternoon/evening... all of our expectations were surpassed. I cannot recommend this gorgeous hotel enough.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fussyflyerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thanks so much, fussyflyerLondon, for your generous feedback on your recent stay with us at Derwent House! It was such a pleasure hosting you two -- if hard to keep up: I can't remember the last guests who've been as active, summitting every hill/mountain Cape Town has to offer before breakfast every day . Little wonder Florence's amazing breakfasts hit the spot -- you definitely earned them.

I'm personally overjoyed after all your efforts to get here that you felt at home with us. That's exactly how it should be, including the "super comfy bed" (we've recently upgraded all our mattresses to this end). Indeed, our central address is perfect for visitors who want to spend their time sightseeing, climbing mountains or relaxing at the beach, rather than sitting in traffic to get around.

On behalf of the whole team, we really appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with other travellers here. Thanks a million for your recommendation and we'll be looking forward to a return visit in future -- come back soon!

Sunny greetings from the whole team,

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

This hotel deserves it accolades.
All the staff are excellent and the service superb.The breakfasts are absolutely delicious and the public rooms wonderfully furnished.
The only thing that has stopped me giving this review a 5* is that our room wash basin was truly tiny and the bedroom dominated by the clothes cupboards!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear michael a,

On behalf of the entire team, thank you so much for your kind feedback on our service, breakfast and decor. We're rightfully proud of our great staff and are still celebrating our recent TripAdvisor award, rating Derwent House No. 1 for service in South Africa, thanks to reviews from guests like you.

I am, however, profoundly sorry that features of our room and bathroom design spoiled your full enjoyment of your stay. We take guest comments very seriously and are revisiting these design features on your advice. We learn something new from each and every guest, and will certainly look at what might be done better in this regard.

I'm delighted that you otherwise enjoyed the design of the hotel, and hope that we did a good job helping to make your birthday with us special -- great teamwork and planning with your entire family! I believe that the other arrangements and recommendations I assisted with for this surprise visit all worked out smoothly.

We really appreciate your taking the time to post this review and hope we may see you again in future.

All our very best wishes to you both,

Anahid
& the entire Derwent team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Easy to book; super easy to correspond with. Superb staff attending to every detail. Wonderful breakfast. Small but clean & well appointed room (#5) near the pool. Airport pick up arranged & performed seamlessly. Arranged wine tours for me which turned out excellent. One of the staff walked me to Church on Sunday morning so I wouldn't get lost. Undoubtedly the best boutique hotel in Cape Town. Anahid & her team deserve highest praises!!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmurrayolympic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thanks for your fabulous accolade, jmurrayolympic! I know you're an inveterate traveller and very discerning customer, so your "highest praises" really mean a lot to all of us -- everyone is thrilled at your lovely review!

Of course, we took you to church! Didn't want you to be late . . . And on the wine side, I'm personally delighted that my winery picks and itineraries worked out so well for you -- not to mention, our ever-fabulous Tania. May you think of us with every [future] bottle of Raats, de Toren and Rust en Vrede back home in Florida .

On behalf of the whole team, we loved having you with us -- please do come back soon!

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Derwent house during our visit in Cape town. It is beautifully located in an area full of great and trendy restaurants, as well as close to the Table mountain.

The rooms are neat and tidy, with interior of a true person. Our room made us feel like guests at someone's house, which we really think is a great thing. The breakfast was good - fresh fruit, yoghurt, hot plates and more.

Last, but not the least, the staff is extremely service minded and friendly. We would definitely want to recommend Derwent house to everyone going to Cape town. It's great!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

It's wonderful to hear from you that you enjoyed the home-away-from-home atmosphere at Derwent House, Julia S -- that's really what we're trying to achieve! And no surprise that you two gourmets enjoyed our proximity to Kloof Street with its abundance of excellent restaurants, bars and cafes. I don't think that there was a culinary experience in Cape Town that you left undiscovered in your three intense gastronomic days with us (starting of course with our famous breakfast) . . . I also hope some of our gastro tips for your onward travels were good!

Thank you for this great recommendation and recognising our staff. We really enjoyed hosting you for this visit and hope that it won't be the last -- come back soon!

On behalf of the entire team, our very best regards from Cape Town,

Anahid & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

I don’t know where to start... just blow’n away by this lovely, friendly, nicely decorated boutiquehotel well located in Gardens, just a few steps away from vibrant Kloof Street. I stayed in one of the Beautiful rooms, with a very nice view/terrace (large and sunny terrace) facing the Table Mountain.
Comfortable room/bed where nothing is missing. Even a free handyphone with internet to use during the stay. Breakfast is just delicious with a hot menu to choose from. I tried quite many things as i stayed for 12 nights and EVERYTHING was very yummy! Florence, the chef, makes the best omelette i’ve ever had. Free afternoon tea/coffe with freshly baked cakes and the honesty bar with wines displayed every afternoon makes this place so different, cozy and homely !
The staff is very polite, helpful, caring, professional, yet personal. Always very helpful and happy to give you advises, book trips/tickets/tables at nice restaurants.
I can’t recommend this place enough! Already booked another 12 nights in december and can’t wait to go back to lovely Derwent House and faboulous Capetown again. Thanks to all the staff and owners for an unforgettable stay with you

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
6  Thank majaGothenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

We all miss you, majaGothenburg--Derwent House is just not the same without you! You just became part of our family . . . Florence sends special regards and asks when you'll be back for more omelettes, crepes, and cakes . . . and your birthday cake was a special labour of love -- thank you so much for sharing!

The heartfelt warmth and enthusiasm of your review gives us all warm and fuzzy feelings. You're so sweet to elaborate on what you enjoyed in such great detail -- it not only helps and motivates us to have such detailed feedback, but also your fellow travellers. We're all delighted that we made you feel at home for this visit and that you'll be coming back for more. There's no greater commendation that a return booking, after all!

Thank you for taking the time to share this generous review--we really do appreciate it. Looking forward to welcoming you back before the end of the year!

On behalf of the whole team, every one of us, very best regards,

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews