We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$134
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$790
US$751
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$148
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$122
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1 507)
Filter reviews
1 507 results
Traveller rating
1 403
88
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 403
88
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barkloof streettable mountainpool and hot tubour honeymoonlittle toucheshonor barmobile phonemillers thumbthought of everythingsouth africahome away from homecamps bayrestaurant recommendationscommunal areasevery eveningstay in cape town
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 1 507 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017

I loved everything about the Derwent House Boutique Hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were welcomed with a glass of wine and a tour of the property. The hotel is beautifully decorated and kept immaculately clean. The breakfast was surprisingly plentiful, lots of options including a hot menu. Tea and coffee are always available and cakes are put out each afternoon. In addition there is an honor bar in case you want other beverages or snacks.
The hotel is located on a quiet block so there is no noise to keep you up at night. However just two blocks away is Kloof Street where there are several good restaurants and shops.
And if the that weren't all enough, they lend you a smartphone for the duration of your stay so that you can make calls, use google maps, order an uber and research where you want to go next without having to find a place with decent wifi or pay roaming charges.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank l0rilainyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, General Manager at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear l0rilainyc,

What an amazing compliment! On behalf of the whole team, we're thrilled that you so enjoyed your Derwent House experience, the "best in 22 years." You've made our day-- so happy that we could do the same for you on your recent visit!

It was great to get to know you and we were happy to be able to share some insider tips. Kloof Street is indeed a [not-so-]secret weapon in our neighbourhood. No-one expects such a lively, vibrant avenue steps away from a peaceful residential street as Derwent Road.

Come back soon and see what we have in store for you next time: we're constantly working on improving at Derwent House, so you're sure to find something new to your liking. We'll be waiting for you two!

Heartfelt thanks from all of us,

Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

The difference between a nice place and a fabulous place is in the details and the care that you receive from the staff. It is clear from the food, the decor, and the selection of the items in the room that Derwent House is not just another hotel. I got the sense right away that management has exquisite taste and work very hard to make guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank anagross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thanks so much, anagross! We could say the same about nice vs fabulous guests . . . It was such a pleasure to host you both and assist such enthusiastic, appreciative and avid visitors with travel planning and arrangements. I'm delighted that Derwent House met your exacting standards--yes, we do all work very hard to make guests feel welcome and love Cape Town like we do, so it's incredibly rewarding to get feedback like yours'.

We also greatly appreciate your support for our Rhino conservation initiative--please pass on the message back home as well. We need all the help we can get.

Do come back any time: there's so much more to see!

All the best from all of us,

Anahid & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

We stayed here for 6 nights. I gave it 5 stars as a Boutique hotel, and the overall value and service. The room was great with 2 balconies, though due to the windstorms we were unable to avail ourselves of there use. It was not the best room we had on our South Africa travels, but certainly did not lack and the whole place is very well maintained. For more money you could get better a better room, but not better service. (Like I said 5 star for value).

The location was about 10-15 minutes walk from the heart of Kloof/Long Streets, plenty of excellent eateries within 5 minutes walk. It is in a quiet neighbourhood.

Included breakfast was excellent, good cold buffet, and good hot food menu to choose from, plus interesting daily breakfast specials. Breakfast room was excellent too. Pool and common rooms were excellent, though we did not use the pool (that windstorm thing again).

From the moment we arrived the staff treat you like family. Always attentive to your needs and definitely watching out for you. If they weren't helping with suggestions, they were always checking on your plans as you went out the door. We felt like they were making sure we didn't do anything foolish and knew exactly where we were going.

Our only complaint was the occasional noise. The place seemed full all the time, and all the guests were quiet so generally not a problem. We were above the breakfast room so sometimes at 07:30 we had some noise but again quiet guests. You could tell the staff tried to be quiet. Only once were we woken up by a guest at 02:30 talking on the speakerphone somewhere on some balcony (what were they thinking?). The biggest noise makers the pigeons on the balcony roofs every morning.

If we return to Capetown we will not hesitate to return to the Derwent.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thanks so much, Randy Z, for your thorough and generous review of your stay with us at Derwent House -- it's really welcome to get such detailed feedback! Indeed, it was a shame that the famous "Cape Doctor" chose your dates to sweep through the city: it's one of the few things we don't love about our town, and does limit your options as Cape Town is such an outdoorsy place.

But I'm delighted that our renowned breakfast fit the bill and you enjoyed the specials -- we have lots of fun coming up with new ideas from our travels around the world a couple of times a year to make sure there's variety for longer-staying guests like you. Mostly, I'm delighted to hear that you felt like family and well-looked after. That's really what we're all about, and it's heartening to get feedback like your's.

Apologies meanwhile for the inconsiderate guest (what were they thinking indeed!!) and likewise for our tiresome feathered friends! If it's not the ubiquitous pigeons and Starlings, then the raucous Hadedas practicing choir early in the morning . . .

We'll be waiting for your next visit; thanks again for your wonderful review.

Warm greetings from sunny (and still windy!) Cape Town,

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

If you are a first timer to South Africa, I can’t recommend this enough. Great service even before we arrived with recommendations, bookings and everything in between. It continued when we arrived and sitting in a nice central location at a reasonable price this was so worth it.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vidale_Rodri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Manager at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Well, we hope you'll be back for a second time, Vidale_Rodi . . . Very glad that we were able to assist with your pre-arrival arrangements: we believe that personalised service, tips and advice are the best reasons to choose a boutique hotel like ours', so take this very seriously.

I'm so pleased that you felt comfortable and happy with our location and value. Thanks for your great review and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best from the entire team -- and our very best wishes for the holidays,

Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

From the moment we walked in the door The Derwent House felt like home. Michael, Luca, Dorcas, Xolani, Florence, Mash.... the list goes on and on. The staff was attentive, professional friendly, and on hand 24 hours a day for whatever was needed. They were able to provide a most memorable experience for 15 Americans who will always remember their first trip to Cape Town. The property and rooms were perfect and fit our needs to a tee. We loved getting together every morning for breakfast and downloading with one another in the evening over one of Flo's sweet delights.

I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an authentic, personal lodging experience in Cape Town.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great and offer something different
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nec1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

We're all still talking about you guys to this day, especially Florence, who reminisces daily about everyone popping into the kitchen to ask "what's in the oven for tea today " (she keeps asking when you'll all be back!). It was such a huge pleasure to host you for your astonishing family gathering here in Cape Town -- and I'd say in this case, it's we who felt like we became a part of your family . . . Derwent House was so quiet when you'd gone! Your collective joy, energy and enthusiasm was inspiring and it was truly wonderful to host all of you for this visit.

I know it won't be the last time we see you, whether all together or separately, but know that you are missed and most welcome any time! Thanks so much for your generous words -- it really means a lot to the team.

We're looking forward to the next visit/s . . .

Sunny greetings from all of us at Derwent House (and a special hello from Flo),

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews