We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

A massive thank you to the whole team at Derwent house. We’ve just had a lovely 5 nights in this little bolt hole in the top of city bowl just off Kloof St. Nice location in one of the safer parts of town, easy distances to table mountain, airport, Kloof st restaurants and shops and yet still only a short taxi down to the water front. Rooms are well equipped and nice touch for water salvage with a collapsible bucket in the shower to catch the initial cold water. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh with daily specials too. Honour bar and open kitchen were a nice touch and very pleasant to relax in. Will return for sure and thank you again to the whole team - especially for a couple of great restaurant bookings we couldn’t get in advance! Very much recommended.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

And massive thanks in return to you, whiterabbitjb, for taking the time to share your recommendation with other travellers here -- we really do appreciate it!

Very happy to help with challenging restaurant bookings whenever we can; we make an effort to befriend our restaurant colleagues and work hard at being good neighbours . . . so that we can can call in favours for guests like you.

And thanks as well for recognising (and supporting!) our water conservation efforts at Derwent House. We know it's no fun for visitors on holiday to worry about water use, but thanks to the cooperation of guests, we've managed to reduce water consumption by almost 40% over the same time last year. We really appreciate your support and understanding.

Please do come back and see us again -- Cape Town has so much to offer, you've still lots to see and do.

From all of us at Derwent House, we wish you a very happy new year and many grateful thanks,

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 1 472 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2017

I loved everything about the Derwent House Boutique Hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were welcomed with a glass of wine and a tour of the property. The hotel is beautifully decorated and kept immaculately clean. The breakfast was surprisingly plentiful, lots of options including a hot menu. Tea and coffee are always available and cakes are put out each afternoon. In addition there is an honor bar in case you want other beverages or snacks.
The hotel is located on a quiet block so there is no noise to keep you up at night. However just two blocks away is Kloof Street where there are several good restaurants and shops.
And if the that weren't all enough, they lend you a smartphone for the duration of your stay so that you can make calls, use google maps, order an uber and research where you want to go next without having to find a place with decent wifi or pay roaming charges.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank l0rilainyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, General Manager at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear l0rilainyc,

What an amazing compliment! On behalf of the whole team, we're thrilled that you so enjoyed your Derwent House experience, the "best in 22 years." You've made our day-- so happy that we could do the same for you on your recent visit!

It was great to get to know you and we were happy to be able to share some insider tips. Kloof Street is indeed a [not-so-]secret weapon in our neighbourhood. No-one expects such a lively, vibrant avenue steps away from a peaceful residential street as Derwent Road.

Come back soon and see what we have in store for you next time: we're constantly working on improving at Derwent House, so you're sure to find something new to your liking. We'll be waiting for you two!

Heartfelt thanks from all of us,

Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

The difference between a nice place and a fabulous place is in the details and the care that you receive from the staff. It is clear from the food, the decor, and the selection of the items in the room that Derwent House is not just another hotel. I got the sense right away that management has exquisite taste and work very hard to make guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank anagross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thanks so much, anagross! We could say the same about nice vs fabulous guests . . . It was such a pleasure to host you both and assist such enthusiastic, appreciative and avid visitors with travel planning and arrangements. I'm delighted that Derwent House met your exacting standards--yes, we do all work very hard to make guests feel welcome and love Cape Town like we do, so it's incredibly rewarding to get feedback like yours'.

We also greatly appreciate your support for our Rhino conservation initiative--please pass on the message back home as well. We need all the help we can get.

Do come back any time: there's so much more to see!

All the best from all of us,

Anahid & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

We stayed here for 6 nights. I gave it 5 stars as a Boutique hotel, and the overall value and service. The room was great with 2 balconies, though due to the windstorms we were unable to avail ourselves of there use. It was not the best room we had on our South Africa travels, but certainly did not lack and the whole place is very well maintained. For more money you could get better a better room, but not better service. (Like I said 5 star for value).

The location was about 10-15 minutes walk from the heart of Kloof/Long Streets, plenty of excellent eateries within 5 minutes walk. It is in a quiet neighbourhood.

Included breakfast was excellent, good cold buffet, and good hot food menu to choose from, plus interesting daily breakfast specials. Breakfast room was excellent too. Pool and common rooms were excellent, though we did not use the pool (that windstorm thing again).

From the moment we arrived the staff treat you like family. Always attentive to your needs and definitely watching out for you. If they weren't helping with suggestions, they were always checking on your plans as you went out the door. We felt like they were making sure we didn't do anything foolish and knew exactly where we were going.

Our only complaint was the occasional noise. The place seemed full all the time, and all the guests were quiet so generally not a problem. We were above the breakfast room so sometimes at 07:30 we had some noise but again quiet guests. You could tell the staff tried to be quiet. Only once were we woken up by a guest at 02:30 talking on the speakerphone somewhere on some balcony (what were they thinking?). The biggest noise makers the pigeons on the balcony roofs every morning.

If we return to Capetown we will not hesitate to return to the Derwent.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thanks so much, Randy Z, for your thorough and generous review of your stay with us at Derwent House -- it's really welcome to get such detailed feedback! Indeed, it was a shame that the famous "Cape Doctor" chose your dates to sweep through the city: it's one of the few things we don't love about our town, and does limit your options as Cape Town is such an outdoorsy place.

But I'm delighted that our renowned breakfast fit the bill and you enjoyed the specials -- we have lots of fun coming up with new ideas from our travels around the world a couple of times a year to make sure there's variety for longer-staying guests like you. Mostly, I'm delighted to hear that you felt like family and well-looked after. That's really what we're all about, and it's heartening to get feedback like your's.

Apologies meanwhile for the inconsiderate guest (what were they thinking indeed!!) and likewise for our tiresome feathered friends! If it's not the ubiquitous pigeons and Starlings, then the raucous Hadedas practicing choir early in the morning . . .

We'll be waiting for your next visit; thanks again for your wonderful review.

Warm greetings from sunny (and still windy!) Cape Town,

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

If you are a first timer to South Africa, I can’t recommend this enough. Great service even before we arrived with recommendations, bookings and everything in between. It continued when we arrived and sitting in a nice central location at a reasonable price this was so worth it.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vidale_Rodri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Manager at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Well, we hope you'll be back for a second time, Vidale_Rodi . . . Very glad that we were able to assist with your pre-arrival arrangements: we believe that personalised service, tips and advice are the best reasons to choose a boutique hotel like ours', so take this very seriously.

I'm so pleased that you felt comfortable and happy with our location and value. Thanks for your great review and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best from the entire team -- and our very best wishes for the holidays,

Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 918 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
474 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 356 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 986 - R 3 345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing