We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay with amazing hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

I booked Derwent House after reading the many reviews on Trip Advisor. I was mainly looking for a nice place to stay in an area where my friend and I could walk places, instead of driving. I ended up booking an apartment (they have 2, I believe) that is directly behind Derwent House. I stayed here 6 nights (3 in one apartment 6 and 3 in apartment 7) and had a great experience! Both apartments have a designated parking spot and the entire complex is gated. The apartments are very well appointed with oven, fridge, a nice family room with comfortable couches and kitchen is stocked with basics- tea, coffee, milk, bottled water, butter, jam, and a selection of cookies, pastries, and even a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. One apartment has a dishwasher and the other has a washing machine. The beds are very comfortable, too! It is a very short walk to Kloof street where there are many restaurants. I think we tried them all. The staff were very accommodating and provided us with great information, maps, and suggestions for things to see and do in the area! Staying in the apartment you can also use the facilities at the main house, where they have a pool, spa, and honor bar stocked with wine and some complimentary items- cookies, pastries and similar items. Derwent House is a great value and I would recommend staying here that wants to stay at a home away from home.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 317 of 1 472 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2015

This beautiful hotel is a must stay.
It's clean, has friendly and efficient staff, is nicely decorated and quiet with great breakfasts, as well as snacks and drinks available throughout the day.
The proprietors of Derwent House, Armin and Anahid, were very hands on and around to provide very knowledgeable tips on where to eat and what to see. Not only did they make great recommendations for restaurants and wines, they made the reservations for us!
We felt like we stayed with good friends in Cape Town.

The location is incredible and walking distance to great eatery's and shopping.
No taxi needed.
A must try is Chef's Warehouse and Canteen, but a word of caution, go early for dinner as they don't take reservations and the food was fabulous.
Wifi is free with good speed and strength throughout the hotel. I had no issues or dropped calls.
Cape Town is a safe and walk-able city.
The Hop On and Hop Off was a great way to learn about the city.
Many thanks to Lucky for her hospitality and infectious smile.
Overall we had a fabulous stay and would recommend Derwent House to all travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeannie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

My family stayed at Derwent House a year ago. It was a great base for exploring Cape Town - quiet, walkable, easy cab ride to other locations. The staff was very helpful and the hotel itself was charming and comfortable. I would return!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We spent a lovely few days here whilst on our honeymoon. The staff were amazing presenting us with a congratulatory bottle of bubbly on our arrival. They recommended and booked some fabulous restaurants and Carol, the owner, managed to get us a lunch booking at The Taste Kitchen for our last day in the City. The breakfasts were delicious and the honesty bar had a great selection of wines.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fi2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We stayed in the fabulous room for 7 nights. The hotel is very cozy and feels like home.
The breakfast was amazing. The room was a little bit small. The service was perfect everyone was very welcoming and helpful with recommending activities and restaurants and booking for us everything.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 917 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
473 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 354 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 006 - R 3 355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing