We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$136
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$183
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$149
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2 281)
Filter reviews
2 281 results
Traveller rating
1 005
919
236
76
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 005
919
236
76
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery half hourshuttle bustsogo sunshuttle serviceconcierge desklarge hotelbreakfast buffetwater frontbusiness tripbusiness hoteleasy accessstayed here for nightsper dayenjoyed my staytable mountainsouth africalong street
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 2 281 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Always a great experience to stay at this establishment. The location is perfect and the ambience is awesome. Great experience, overall. I will always recommend southern sun waterfront to my friends and colleagues

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank georgemcoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear georgermcoza

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay with us.

We are pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay.
We thank you for support.

The team and I are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

This is in no way a 4 star outfit
Rooms are tiny boxes you find in a 2 star hotel
Only good aspect if you can call it is it’s location near the waterfront
Tiny bottles of water supplied in rooms - what an insult
Never book a holiday through Somak

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank rajp465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear rajp465

Thank you for providing us with feedback following your recent stay with us.

It is noted with concern that our rooms as well as the daily complimentary water supply did not quite meet your expectations. Rest assured of management's effort to continuously improve on the areas of service in which you raised your concerns.

Thank you for staying with us.

Kindest regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

It blows me away to discover that a company (Tsogo Sun) that owns over 100 hotels doesn't realize the importance of access to the Internet. We've stayed at lots of hotels that have mediocre Wi-Fi, but this one was the worst...
▶ They cut off your "free" access to the Internet & make you pay a third party (called AlwaysOn) after a certain amount of data is used. I wasn't watching videos or doing anything that was data-intensive. When I called for support, to get connected again, the guy on the phone said I had already used 500 MB of data which seemed quite impossible for the time I was connected.
▶ I've never had so many hacker alerts brought up by my firewall software on any Wi-Fi connection in any country.

So the bottom line is that Southern Sun Waterfront Hotel—like the USA's FCC—fails to realize that in the 21st century, Internet access should be thought of as a utility that you provide along with electricity and water.

We stayed there as a family and had four rooms. All four rooms had the same issue. The hotel staff did nothing to solve our dissatisfaction, referring us to AlwaysOn which required that we pay for additional Internet access beyond our first hour.

It's a shame that this horrible choice of Wi-Fi service by their management ruined our [otherwise comfortable] stay. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again anyway because the "walkability" to find restaurants, shops or sightseeing nearby was not very good.

Room Tip: High floor room facing the water.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Veloman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Veloman9

Thank you for providing us with feedback following your recent stay with us.

It is noted with concern that our WIFI offering negatively impacted your stay with us. Rest assured of management's effort to continuously improve on the areas of service in which you raised your concerns.

Thank you for staying with us.

Kindest regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

The room was very comfortable and clean.
The shower was amazing.
Free WiFi was limited to 500mb, not enough if you want to download for a long flight.
On check out I had to pay a tourist tax which I didn't have to pay at any of the other 3 hotels I stayed at. Ruined how I felt about staying here

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank turrdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear tuttdle

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay with us.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is noted with concern that our WIFI offering did not quote meet your expectations. Rest assured of managements efforts to continuously improve on our offerings after receiving detailed feedback such as yours.

The team and I are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days and it was good experience. Rooms are not big but very clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast is rich with good variety of food. The pool is small. They have the shuttle bus to the city but it’s timetable is quite odd. Although it is a really huge hotel one does not have feeling of that.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dundula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Dundula

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay with us.

We are pleased to see that our facilities as well as our Shuttle service exceeded your expectations.

The team and I are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews