We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A city centre hotel that is good value and provides a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at this hotel after a long flight from London. First impressions were not great as there was a computer problem which delayed our check in by a few minutes. Our room, on the 14th floor, was smaller than expected. However, this is a city centre hotel nestled amongst other skyscrapers so not too surprising that space was at a premium. The hotel was in an excellent state of decoration and was absolutely spotless throughout. The bed was very comfortable. We had a lovely warm welcome at breakfast, with a great choice of hot food cooked to order by chefs. Still feeling quite tired, we took the easy option and had dinner in our hotel. Again, a lovely warm welcome by hostess dressed in African costume. The meal was fresh, delicious and good value for money. The hotel is nicely situated for the V&A Waterfront, being a short stroll across pedestrian walkway and it was a pleasure to go back and forth from our hotel.

We had free WiFi in our room but were limited to 500 MB/day, although this was 500 MB/device per day so we tripled it by using iPad, iPhone and S8.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Philip B

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback following your stay with us.

It pleases us to see that our food and beverage offers as well as our team members made your stay so much more memorable.

It is noted with concern that your check in and room size did not quite meet your expectations.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

the team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 2 123 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always a great experience to stay at this establishment. The location is perfect and the ambience is awesome. Great experience, overall. I will always recommend southern sun waterfront to my friends and colleagues

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank georgemcoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear georgermcoza

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay with us.

We are pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay.
We thank you for support.

The team and I are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is in no way a 4 star outfit
Rooms are tiny boxes you find in a 2 star hotel
Only good aspect if you can call it is it’s location near the waterfront
Tiny bottles of water supplied in rooms - what an insult
Never book a holiday through Somak

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank rajp465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear rajp465

Thank you for providing us with feedback following your recent stay with us.

It is noted with concern that our rooms as well as the daily complimentary water supply did not quite meet your expectations. Rest assured of management's effort to continuously improve on the areas of service in which you raised your concerns.

Thank you for staying with us.

Kindest regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It blows me away to discover that a company (Tsogo Sun) that owns over 100 hotels doesn't realize the importance of access to the Internet. We've stayed at lots of hotels that have mediocre Wi-Fi, but this one was the worst...
▶ They cut off your "free" access to the Internet & make you pay a third party (called AlwaysOn) after a certain amount of data is used. I wasn't watching videos or doing anything that was data-intensive. When I called for support, to get connected again, the guy on the phone said I had already used 500 MB of data which seemed quite impossible for the time I was connected.
▶ I've never had so many hacker alerts brought up by my firewall software on any Wi-Fi connection in any country.

So the bottom line is that Southern Sun Waterfront Hotel—like the USA's FCC—fails to realize that in the 21st century, Internet access should be thought of as a utility that you provide along with electricity and water.

We stayed there as a family and had four rooms. All four rooms had the same issue. The hotel staff did nothing to solve our dissatisfaction, referring us to AlwaysOn which required that we pay for additional Internet access beyond our first hour.

It's a shame that this horrible choice of Wi-Fi service by their management ruined our [otherwise comfortable] stay. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again anyway because the "walkability" to find restaurants, shops or sightseeing nearby was not very good.

Room Tip: High floor room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Veloman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Veloman9

Thank you for providing us with feedback following your recent stay with us.

It is noted with concern that our WIFI offering negatively impacted your stay with us. Rest assured of management's effort to continuously improve on the areas of service in which you raised your concerns.

Thank you for staying with us.

Kindest regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was very comfortable and clean.
The shower was amazing.
Free WiFi was limited to 500mb, not enough if you want to download for a long flight.
On check out I had to pay a tourist tax which I didn't have to pay at any of the other 3 hotels I stayed at. Ruined how I felt about staying here

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank turrdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear tuttdle

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay with us.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is noted with concern that our WIFI offering did not quote meet your expectations. Rest assured of managements efforts to continuously improve on our offerings after receiving detailed feedback such as yours.

The team and I are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 804 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Cape Town
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 319 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 001 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R2 048 - R3 912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing