We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Family friendly nice hotel with very good service. the room was clean and the food was very good. we loved the breakfast and I had my birthday there and the staff were so friendly came in the morning at breakfast singing for me. it was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 25maya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear 25maya

Thank you for your positive comments following your stay with us in Cape Town.

We are pleased to see that our services and cleanliness met your expectations. It was a privilege hosting you for your birthday.

We trust we will see you again soon, possibly for your birthday again next year.

Kindest regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 129 of 2 123 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

I have visited quite a few of The Southern Sun hotels, it is not the best but it is still quite lovely. We arrived to friendly faces and a warm South African welcome. The dinner was a huge thumbs up for me, the hosts and waiters were just heavenly sent, they were so friendly and caring- they catered to our every need. The rooms are comfortable although we had really noisy neighbors in the room next to us. My only downside was, I accidentally locked myself out of my room, and there was this lady who works for the hotel and I asked her to please open my room since she has an all access key. She rudely said that she won't use her card and I should go to reception, on top of that she rolled her eyes. That was even my last day and all I wanted was my luggage. I left the hotel very angry and disappointed. But I won't hold one rude employee against the entire hotel, I enjoyed my stay up until the last day.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms' views are blocked by a tall blue FNB building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EricaMwinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear EricaMwinga

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback following your recent stay in Cape Town.

We are pleased to see that you were satisfied with our services, especially our food and beverage department.

The team and I are looking forward to potentially welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Nós tivemos uma experiência muito desagradável com o atendimento da recepção deste hotel.
As acomodações são boas para um hotel executivo, tem um transfer para o waterfront, o atendimento do concierge é muito atencioso, mas a recepção deixou muito a desejar.
Em um determinado momento de nossa estadia, tive um problema com o acesso à internet, que é limitada à 500MB por aparelho. Quando liguei na recepção, a recepcionista pediu que eu fosse pessoalmente para conversarmos. Quando cheguei à recepção, a senhora Azipheli me destratou e passou o atendimento para o senhor Mtembeni, quando pedi a ele que vinculasse o meu número de hospede frequente ao quarto, ele me disse que não o faria, pois eu não tenho o perfil do hóspede frequente que eles desejam para a rede. Não sei exatamente qual é o perfil de hóspede frequente que esta rede deseja, mas alguem que faz ao menos uma viagem internacional a lazer por ano e viaja em torno de 70% do tempo a trabalho, não me parece um perfil ruim de hóspede frequente.
Fiquei extremamente decepcionada com esse atendimento, pois em toda a nossa estadia na África do Sul (8 hotéis, incluindo esse) eu fui muito bem tratada. Esse hotel foi uma exceção, uma exceção ruim.

---

We had a very unpleasant experience with the front desk attendance at this hotel.
The accommodations are good for an executive hotel, it has a shuttle to the waterfront, the concierge is very attentive but the front desk left a lot to be desired.
At one point in our stay, I had a problem with internet access, which is limited to 500MB per device. When I called the front desk, the receptionist asked me to go in person to talk. When I arrived at the reception, Mrs. Azipheli disowned me and Mr. Mtembeni attended me, when I asked him to link my frequent guest number to the room, he told me wouldnt do so, because I don't have the guest's profile they wanted. I don't know exactly what is the frequent guest profile they want, but someone who makes at least one international leisure trip per year and travels around 70% of the time for work does not seem to me a bad profile of a frequent guest.
I was extremely disappointed with this service, as throughout our stay in South Africa (8 hotels, including this one) we were treated very well. This hotel was an exception, a bad exception.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafaella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Rafaella P

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay in Cape Town.

We are happy to hear that our overall service met your expectations.
Your concerns regarding the front desk have already been addressed.

The team and I are looking forward to potentially having another chance to provide you with the service levels we here at Southern Sun Waterfront pride ourselves in.

Kindest regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We were in Cape Town for the last 6 days of our trip and chose a hotel so we could relax and enjoy. We certainly did that from the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Every member of staff was friendly, approachable and nothing was too much. They all spoke to the children as well which made them feel included.
Breakfast was spectacular, so much choice and all fresh. We had dinner twice and both times it was delicious and the service was first class.
The rooms were very comfortable and we had a great view.
The hotel was spotlessly clean.
The shuttle to the waterfront was a brilliant service which we used a lot!
The position of the hotel was perfect for getting around.
We had a wonderful experience and didn't want to leave. It was a great end to the holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Emmarc817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Emmarc817

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback following your stay with us.

I am happy to see you and your family had such a great stay at our hotel.

I trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back again for your next holiday in Cape Town.

Kindest Regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

From the time of my booking to check-in I had the most amazing support from the staff. I thank you for a wonderful stay. My family enjoyed every minute of the stay at the hotel. The cleanliness and attitude of the staff was excellent. Keep up the good service

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank mnnaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter T, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear mnnaidoo

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback following your stay with us.
The entire team is happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience.

I trust we will see you again soon.

Kindest regards

Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 804 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Cape Town
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 319 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 001 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R2 048 - R3 912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing