We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #33 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2015

What an enjoyable trip .. thank you for great service and wonderful accommodation. I have to comment that the hotel was perhaps the best of the bunch i have had to stay in over the past 3 weeks of traveling around South Africa. Thank You Waterfront ....

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 841ramonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Thank you, 841ramonl for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you found your stay with us enjoyable.
Your wonderful words have been noted and passed on to the staff, who really appreciate the positive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future for business or leisure.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 956 of 2 126 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2015

Despite the early arrival, staff went an extra mile to make their guests feel at home. They were very helpful, well groomed and of assistance at all times. well located Amenities, spacious rooms, breakfast befitting the star grading, and centrally located to easily reach all required destinations within Cape Town. Keep up the excellent customer care that you have displayed.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Heerengracht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Thank you, Heerengracht for choosing to stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all the hotel amenities, and that we were able to accommodate your early arrival.
We are glad that you enjoyed our recently refurbished rooms and your kind words have been passed on to the staff who are grateful for the feedback.

We hope to see you back with us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

We once again loved our stay at this hotel and received excellent service from the friendly and helpful staff who always had a smile on their face and a warm greeting :-) The food and accommodation is excellent and the free half-an-hourly shuttle to and from the V&A Waterfront very convenient. The complimentary Hot Chocolate and Sweets in the Reception area is also a nice touch and your 4-Night Winter Special is real value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Colleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2015

Thank you, Colleen E for choosing to stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to enjoy the hotel's facilities and friendly staff. The winter special package currently running is definitely value for money. The package includes dinner, bed and breakfast, as well as a spa treatment and access to the Two Oceans Aquarium.
We are glad you enjoyed the sweets and hot chocolate on arrival, as they do make the hotel a lot more welcoming when arriving out of the cold winter weather outside.

We hope to welcome you back with us in the near future again.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Staying for a conference was easy in this space - so close to the waterfront (where we walked every evening for meals), shuttles available, beautiful views from every room, great food and interested and knowledgeable staff. All of this added together to make our Cape Town experience superb!

Room Tip: All appeared to have good view, but you could ask directly for a mountain or a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike12345536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Good day, Mike12345536

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
We are glad to hear that the hotel location suited your needs. As the hotel is located in the Cape Town CBD and close to the Cape Town Convention Centre as well as the V&A Waterfront, the hotel is able to cater for both business and leisure guests needs, as you found out for yourself.
We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's facilities and knowledgeable staff, and your comments have been passed on to them.

We hope to welcome you back to Southern Sun Waterfront when next you are in Cape Town.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015

All my expectations were exceeded, from the personal friendly staff service, beautiful spacious room, excellent food, etc. By far the best 'home away from home', looking forward to my next stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, Amanda N.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that our friendly staff could exceed your expectations and create a magic memories for you.
We strive to create a home away from home for all our guests, and we are glad that that was your experience of staying with us.
Your lovely comments will be passed on to all the staff, as comments like these are a huge motivating factor for them.

We wish you safe travels and hope to see you back with us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 807 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 321 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 003 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R2 009 - R3 871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing