We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$157
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$194
US$161
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$190
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$33
US$22
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2 299)
Filter reviews
2 299 results
Traveller rating
1 013
926
237
78
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 013
926
237
78
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery half hourshuttle bustsogo sunshuttle serviceconcierge desklarge hotelwater frontbreakfast buffetbusiness hotelbusiness tripeasy accessstayed here for nightsper dayenjoyed my staytable mountainsouth africalong street
Filter
Updating list...
1 105 - 1 110 of 2 299 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Despite the early arrival, staff went an extra mile to make their guests feel at home. They were very helpful, well groomed and of assistance at all times. well located Amenities, spacious rooms, breakfast befitting the star grading, and centrally located to easily reach all required destinations within Cape Town. Keep up the excellent customer care that you have displayed.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Heerengracht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Thank you, Heerengracht for choosing to stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all the hotel amenities, and that we were able to accommodate your early arrival.
We are glad that you enjoyed our recently refurbished rooms and your kind words have been passed on to the staff who are grateful for the feedback.

We hope to see you back with us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

We once again loved our stay at this hotel and received excellent service from the friendly and helpful staff who always had a smile on their face and a warm greeting :-) The food and accommodation is excellent and the free half-an-hourly shuttle to and from the V&A Waterfront very convenient. The complimentary Hot Chocolate and Sweets in the Reception area is also a nice touch and your 4-Night Winter Special is real value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Colleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2015

Thank you, Colleen E for choosing to stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to enjoy the hotel's facilities and friendly staff. The winter special package currently running is definitely value for money. The package includes dinner, bed and breakfast, as well as a spa treatment and access to the Two Oceans Aquarium.
We are glad you enjoyed the sweets and hot chocolate on arrival, as they do make the hotel a lot more welcoming when arriving out of the cold winter weather outside.

We hope to welcome you back with us in the near future again.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Staying for a conference was easy in this space - so close to the waterfront (where we walked every evening for meals), shuttles available, beautiful views from every room, great food and interested and knowledgeable staff. All of this added together to make our Cape Town experience superb!

Room Tip: All appeared to have good view, but you could ask directly for a mountain or a sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike12345536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Good day, Mike12345536

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
We are glad to hear that the hotel location suited your needs. As the hotel is located in the Cape Town CBD and close to the Cape Town Convention Centre as well as the V&A Waterfront, the hotel is able to cater for both business and leisure guests needs, as you found out for yourself.
We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's facilities and knowledgeable staff, and your comments have been passed on to them.

We hope to welcome you back to Southern Sun Waterfront when next you are in Cape Town.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015

All my expectations were exceeded, from the personal friendly staff service, beautiful spacious room, excellent food, etc. By far the best 'home away from home', looking forward to my next stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, Amanda N.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that our friendly staff could exceed your expectations and create a magic memories for you.
We strive to create a home away from home for all our guests, and we are glad that that was your experience of staying with us.
Your lovely comments will be passed on to all the staff, as comments like these are a huge motivating factor for them.

We wish you safe travels and hope to see you back with us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015

I can highly recommend this hotel, very professional, helpful and friendly staff! General service was outstanding! Very central and accessible. Thank you for a very pleasant stay! Will definitely stay


  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 636petrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Thank you, 636petrac for choosing to stay with us.

Your comments are most appreciated and will be passed on to all the staff, and we thank you for the kind words.
We are glad that the hotel's central and accessible location suited your stay in Cape Town, and we hope to see you again when next you are down here.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews