We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 2 018
Protea Hotels
R 2 018
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Algotels
R 1 951
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 198)
Filter reviews
1 198 results
Traveller rating
390
422
195
105
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
422
195
105
86
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1 198 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2023

We stayed here for 5 nights in September (18th - 22nd). We were given the warmest of welcomes by front desk. Check in was smooth & fast. We had been given an upgrade which was a lovely surprise. Our room was clean, airy & the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style with a large selection of hot food, which also had an egg station. There was a great selection of pastries & fruit available. Dinner was also buffet style, again with a fantastic variety. There was also a bar menu (highly recommend the burgers). The bar area had comfortable seating to relax in. The only issue I had was with the driver out front that the concierge recommended to us, he was very expensive & overcharged us on numerous occasions. I felt he could have treated us better as we tipped him generously. We didn't realise this until we got a taxi at night that brought us back to hotel for half the price. My opinion would be to use an Uber. Other than this, our stay was fantastic.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AKeaneLaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations, Marketing at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your positive experience during your stay with us! We're thrilled to hear about the warm welcome, comfortable room, and enjoyable meals you had. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the driver recommendation. Your feedback is crucial, and we'll address this concern with our concierge team to ensure better experiences for our guests in the future. We hope to welcome you back soon.

The Fire & Ice Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2023

On a recent guided tour to South Africa, this was the hotel we were based in for our 4 days in Cape Town. It is handily located 5mins taxi ride (20min plus walk) from the Waterfront in Cape Town.

It is in a quiet part of the city. The hotel is modern, the staff very friendly and rooms well sized and equipped (although having a curtain to pull right across the width of the room to seperate the room when someone was in the shower is a novelty). Depending on which side of the hotel you are on you get a great view of Table Mountain/Signal Hill.

Breakfast was included and the hoetl breakfast selection was excellent, a good start to the day.

All in all a very pleasant stay, a great base for exploring Cape Town and a good start to the trip

Room tip: a room with a Table Mountain view if you can get one
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations, Marketing at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted to hear that our location, friendly staff, and breakfast offerings contributed to a pleasant stay for you in Cape Town. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next adventure!
The Fire & Ice Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2023

Superb staff who helped out with everything from a smooth and seamless check-in, to arranging a car service, bar drinks to a quick check-out. Location is convenient to just about everything - Ubers are inexpensive and plentiful. Room had everything needed for a five night stay. This is a great property!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jck010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations, Marketing at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Thank you for your glowing review! We're thrilled that our staff and location enhanced your Cape Town experience. Your positive feedback motivates us to continue delivering exceptional service. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
The Fire & Ice Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2023

Ohh my goodness, the staff is absolutely incredible. Each and everyone of them made my stay so comfortable. The chefs were very accommodating and creative with my dietary needs.
Thank you so much 😊

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Seaside22203695837
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations, Marketing at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Thank you for your heartwarming review! It's truly rewarding to hear about your positive experience with our staff and chefs. We aim to make every guest's stay as comfortable and tailored as yours. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
The Fire & Ice Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2023

Front desk staff here is really helpful and friendly. The arranged airport transport on fairly short notice. I was upgraded to a loft and it was a really cool room with a good view. The lofts are in a separate building. The only thing I think can be improved is I wish that the room service menu was more extensive. I had one meal which was really good--wish they had more options.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations, Marketing at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're glad to hear that our front desk staff and room upgrade added to the enjoyment of your stay. Your feedback regarding the room service menu is valued, and we'll certainly consider it as we continuously aim to enhance our guest experience. We hope to host you again soon.
The Fire & Ice Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews