We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$60
Hotels.comUS$60
TripadvisorUS$60
FindHotel
PricelineUS$60
eDreamsUS$60
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 157)
Filter reviews
1 157 results
Traveller rating
369
413
191
102
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
369
413
191
102
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews table mountain bars and restaurants milkshakes waterfront uber
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1 157 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2020

We spent five nights here in December and stayed in one of the bi-level suites. Good service and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast with eggs made to order etc. A'la carte dinner was ok. Great rooms with fantastic beds and plenty of space.
Small pool and gym, the gym was good - according to my son...
So, the location. Fantastic view over Table mountain, Lions Head, Signal Hill. Easy access in and out of the city. But still, we didn't feel comfortable walking around the neighborhood, especially at night. Uber to and from restaurants worked fine.
It's just a little bit different.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Figge_Reis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHFire_Ice, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

Dear Figge_Reis

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the survey that you completed during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Cape Town. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Albert Smit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

4 couples meeting on a Saturday evening to plan our group initiatives and events for the next few months. We received awesome service from our waiter Wawa, the crazy and unusual milkshake options and the vibe with a live DJ just topped it for us. The waiter was on top of his game and moved us to a comfortable spot as other people moved on. A place we will definitely use more often.

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank Zaahir5Zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHFire_Ice, Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Dear Zaahir5ZERO

Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of WAWA in particular is highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated him on doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice again soon.

Kind Regards
Nastasja Douglass
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020

Visited Protea Hotel Fire & Ice this evening for a quick meal while catching up on some work and once again the service and food was Excellent! Staff are very friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to make me feel at home. Special thanks to Wawa my waiter who was absolutely awesome and the Food was amazing!
Will definitely be back again

Date of stay: February 2020
2  Thank TamaraRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHFire_Ice, Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2020

Good day TamaraRP

Hope this message finds you well.

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Cape Town with us.

We appreciate your business and value your honest feedback. Your comments have been shared with
the hotel team, as well as Wawa, as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver exceptional service to guests like you.

Thank you once again for Visiting us.

Kind Regards
Chad Bartman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020

My group of 12 stayed at this property over the New Year's holiday. I booked 5 rooms and the 1 bedroom loft suite. There was a mix-up with our loft room 2 days before check-in but they were able to fix this once we arrived but offering my group breakfast vouchers. I worked with Janine and Victoria and they always greeted me by name. The rest of the staff was hospitable and great as well.

The property was new and trendy. It's a great area if you want to walk to the bars and restaurants on Long St. There was also a free car service that will take you where ever you'd like within a certain distance.

The food was GREAT. The breakfast buffet had a great variety to jump-start our day. The milkshake makes staying here worth it. I was told the Fire and Ice properties have great milkshakes.

There is a nice pool that allows for a few laps or relaxing.
Overall it was a great stay and my group plans to return in October 2020.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PointsDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHFire_Ice, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2020

Dear PointsDiva

Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of Janine and Victoria in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice again soon.

Kind Regards

Albert Smit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2020 via mobile

An excellent view of the Table mountains. Convenient and central location. The V & A waterfront is close by. A place with so much offerings for both young and old. Day and night. Perfect ambiance. Treed streets, guess some of the oldest trees in this region.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Munyamakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHFire_Ice, Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Dear Munyamakota

Thank you for your words of appreciation on the survey that you completed during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Cape Town. We are delighted to receive your compliments.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice and to hearing from you again!

Best regards,

Natsasja Douglass
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews