We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Ranked #82 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had asked several times to fix the air conditioner and it was simply hot most of the time. We were in Villa 4 which was not part of the main hotel. The villa was 2 bedrooms each with a king size bed and with a bathroom in each bedroom. We had a small refrigerator, kettle, and a microwave. The second bedroom was upstairs. Our rate included breakfast which was a wonderful buffet complete with an omelet station. It really didn’t seem like a typical Marriott which was a pro and a con. Probably would try a different hotel the next time.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank minnesotans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1 032 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just off Buitenchrat road and the bustling M62 lies a cornucopia of whimsy. From the framed Televisions and ancient newspaper wallpapers, to the face brick corridors and fiery carpets, this hotel hold its charm in a most Bohemian way.

A wonderful place to rest after a busy day in Cape Town. Perfect for couples, friends or Solo trips. The service and hospitality is reasonable. However there isn’t much in the way of facilities and activities on site.

Nevertheless a winner. And the breakfast looked amazing.

PS- Order the giant Lindt milkshake at 3am. My life was changed.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 434muhammadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anso V, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 434muhammadk,

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Cape Town.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests.

Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Cape Town and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Kind Regards,
Anso Venter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Stayed here for five days in this lovely hotel. The premises and rooms are attractive, clean and super comfortable. It's situated nearby tons of amenities as well as the downtown core which is always bustling with activity. It's also a short drive to Table Mountain and great local beaches. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InTheVortex26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anso V, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear InTheVortex26,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Cape Town.

As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

We just spent 3 weeks in Africa. This hotel had an amazing staff!! And we spent a whole more money on the Blue Train and Rovos, but this staff out shined them!!! Good location, clean, safe, and modern hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank whitlocknancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anso V, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Whitlocknancy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Cape Town with us.

Your valuable feedback helps identify areas of opportunity for us to improve the guest experience. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

The hotel team is committed to delivering an exceptional experience and are always brainstorming creative ways to exceed the expectations of our VALUED GUEST, such as yourself. At your convenience, feel free to share any additional feedback on how we can elevate your experience whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Regards,

Anso Venter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Friendly staff, try their best to make you feel comfortable. Rooms are spacious enough. When there is a problem, management and staff tries to solve it as quickly as possible. There is a choice of at least 38 Milkshakes....

Room Tip: Cape town is windy from time to time and there is nothing you can do about that...so any room is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pstern74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anso V, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Pstern74,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Cape Town with us.

As a VALUED GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Anso Venter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
667 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
368 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
392 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Address: 64 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#62 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 487 - R3 072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire Ice
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing