We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 071)
Filter reviews
1 071 results
Traveller rating
322
394
181
98
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
394
181
98
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shark cage long street trendy hotel table mountain standard room bars and restaurants camps bay kloof street milkshakes waterfront lofts executive laptop rand ct sa uber
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1 071 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Just off Buitenchrat road and the bustling M62 lies a cornucopia of whimsy. From the framed Televisions and ancient newspaper wallpapers, to the face brick corridors and fiery carpets, this hotel hold its charm in a most Bohemian way.

A wonderful place to rest after a busy day in Cape Town. Perfect for couples, friends or Solo trips. The service and hospitality is reasonable. However there isn’t much in the way of facilities and activities on site.

Nevertheless a winner. And the breakfast looked amazing.

PS- Order the giant Lindt milkshake at 3am. My life was changed.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 434muhammadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anso V, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear 434muhammadk,

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Cape Town.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests.

Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Cape Town and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Kind Regards,
Anso Venter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Stayed here for five days in this lovely hotel. The premises and rooms are attractive, clean and super comfortable. It's situated nearby tons of amenities as well as the downtown core which is always bustling with activity. It's also a short drive to Table Mountain and great local beaches. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InTheVortex26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anso V, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear InTheVortex26,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Cape Town.

As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

We just spent 3 weeks in Africa. This hotel had an amazing staff!! And we spent a whole more money on the Blue Train and Rovos, but this staff out shined them!!! Good location, clean, safe, and modern hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank whitlocknancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anso V, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Whitlocknancy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Cape Town with us.

Your valuable feedback helps identify areas of opportunity for us to improve the guest experience. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

The hotel team is committed to delivering an exceptional experience and are always brainstorming creative ways to exceed the expectations of our VALUED GUEST, such as yourself. At your convenience, feel free to share any additional feedback on how we can elevate your experience whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Regards,

Anso Venter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Friendly staff, try their best to make you feel comfortable. Rooms are spacious enough. When there is a problem, management and staff tries to solve it as quickly as possible. There is a choice of at least 38 Milkshakes....

Room Tip: Cape town is windy from time to time and there is nothing you can do about that...so any room is good.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pstern74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anso V, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Pstern74,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Cape Town with us.

As a VALUED GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Anso Venter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Overall I was positively surprised. The ambiance is creative and informal. As I am in the creative field this worked very well for us as a group. The rooms are small-ish but has all the basics. Extra plus for amazingly comfortable pillows (one firm, one soft). The downside is clearly the wifi access. Why does hotels still ask you to sign in and have limited amount of GB? That got very annoying as we stayed for 8 nights. I got a cheese platter (nice) with a bottle of white wine upon arrival. Sweet, but the wine was god aweful, and nothing compared to the great wines the regions have to offer. Skip that treat and give us unlimited wifi instead.
Gym was clean, small but okey. Machines up to date which is a huge plus.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stina49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Stina49

I refer to the survey that you kindly completed during your stay with us. We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Cape Town is viewed in a serious light.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. Your experience of the service delivery overall most certainly does not reflect the high standard that Protea Hotel Fire & Ice is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed and that corrective action is being taken to rectify the shortcomings.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us. Should you require any further assistance from our side, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours sincerely,

Albert Smit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews