We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Ranked #37 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent hotel with fantastic professional staff. Everything is done by all to make your stay a great experience. Well situated with easy access to main attractions. I would highly recommend this hotel after staying here a few times.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Joan B

Thank you for your 'Fabulous' review and taking the time to share it with us.

It gives us such delight to know our hard work and ethos of Ubuntu has been appreciated by an amazing guest, such as yourself.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1 086 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well situated apartment type hotel in downtown Cape Town. Close to the Long St restaurants and bars. Underground parking available. Very clean and spacious rooms, many with a view of table mountain. A daily shuttle to the waterfront 3 times daily. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Safe area to walk around. Greenmarket square is around the corner and Company Gardens a short stroll away.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank daveoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear daveoto

Wamkelekile! "You're Welcome"

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our amazing property with us.

We take pride in our location and surrounds, and certainly feel that we have the best product to offer our guests, a luxury lifestyle in the heart of the City.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very helpful and great staff/service. After I complained for the cleaning, they was willing to offer us a free dinner at any restaurant. Instead I asked for a extrabed and they upgraded us to a two bedroom -apartment instead for free! This made my stay from not satisfied to very very satisfied instead! So important for me with that kind of service.

The hotell was placed in the middle of the city with walking distance to all your daily needs! If you wish to make your way to Waterfronts really good shopping -taxi would be recommended!

They also had a free-2-use phone (called ”Handy”) which you can use all around Cape town as much as you want (free local calls, free datapackage, download apps etc...) -Perfect for making calls to taxis and restaurants, as well for the web.

Their partner and restaurant Doppio, served very good breakfast and actually had one of the best pasta-dish I ever eaten: ”Calamari & Chorizo”

Will highly recommend this hotell!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank André P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Andre P

Wamkelekile! "You're Welcome".

Thank you for this amazing and beautiful review, we certainly appreciate you taking the time to share this with us.

Guest satisfaction and exceeding your expectations is what this year is all about for us as a team and we are so proud we have managed to achieve this.

Super proud that Doppio Zero delighted you with their amazing pasta, we certainly agree with you on that!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really nice hotel in the middle of the city. The staff was helpful, kind and made their best to make our stay awesome, which it was!

Their partner (restaurant) Doppio served us very good food. But they need to shape up on the vegan breakfast.






  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HannahJoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ManndySa

Wamkelekile! You're Welcome.
We appreciate your very positive sentiments and taking the time to share it with us.

We are very proud of our restaurant partner, Doppio Zero, they always aim to delight our guests with their delicious treats. I will share your thoughts on the vegan breakfast options with the management team and I am almost positive this can be remedied.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have an appartman with two bedrooms and livingroom with kitchen, and wiev to the Table mountain. It was realy very comfortable and nice. Only one problem was with piloow, who was a little bit hard.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lubomird397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear lubomird397

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience of Mandela Rhode Place Suite Hotel.

We are delighted you were happy with the views of your apartment and that the self-catering options was comfortable. We will certainly look into our pillow quality and appreciate your critique.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 408 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 356 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#36 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 015 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#33 of 112 in Cape Town Central
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel

Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 239 - R 3 555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing