We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$139
US$118
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$147
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$866
US$846
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 115)
Filter reviews
1 115 results
Traveller rating
571
385
88
40
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
385
88
40
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetwashing machinefull kitchentwo bedroom apartmenthotel spatable mountaingreenmarket squarefood lovers marketcompany gardensper daycentral locationrooftop poolself cateringtaj hotelgreen market squarehome away from homethe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1 115 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2018

Well situated apartment type hotel in downtown Cape Town. Close to the Long St restaurants and bars. Underground parking available. Very clean and spacious rooms, many with a view of table mountain. A daily shuttle to the waterfront 3 times daily. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Safe area to walk around. Greenmarket square is around the corner and Company Gardens a short stroll away.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank daveoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear daveoto

Wamkelekile! "You're Welcome"

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our amazing property with us.

We take pride in our location and surrounds, and certainly feel that we have the best product to offer our guests, a luxury lifestyle in the heart of the City.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

Very helpful and great staff/service. After I complained for the cleaning, they was willing to offer us a free dinner at any restaurant. Instead I asked for a extrabed and they upgraded us to a two bedroom -apartment instead for free! This made my stay from not satisfied to very very satisfied instead! So important for me with that kind of service.

The hotell was placed in the middle of the city with walking distance to all your daily needs! If you wish to make your way to Waterfronts really good shopping -taxi would be recommended!

They also had a free-2-use phone (called ”Handy”) which you can use all around Cape town as much as you want (free local calls, free datapackage, download apps etc...) -Perfect for making calls to taxis and restaurants, as well for the web.

Their partner and restaurant Doppio, served very good breakfast and actually had one of the best pasta-dish I ever eaten: ”Calamari & Chorizo”

Will highly recommend this hotell!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank André P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Andre P

Wamkelekile! "You're Welcome".

Thank you for this amazing and beautiful review, we certainly appreciate you taking the time to share this with us.

Guest satisfaction and exceeding your expectations is what this year is all about for us as a team and we are so proud we have managed to achieve this.

Super proud that Doppio Zero delighted you with their amazing pasta, we certainly agree with you on that!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

Really nice hotel in the middle of the city. The staff was helpful, kind and made their best to make our stay awesome, which it was!

Their partner (restaurant) Doppio served us very good food. But they need to shape up on the vegan breakfast.






  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HannahJoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear ManndySa

Wamkelekile! You're Welcome.
We appreciate your very positive sentiments and taking the time to share it with us.

We are very proud of our restaurant partner, Doppio Zero, they always aim to delight our guests with their delicious treats. I will share your thoughts on the vegan breakfast options with the management team and I am almost positive this can be remedied.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

We have an appartman with two bedrooms and livingroom with kitchen, and wiev to the Table mountain. It was realy very comfortable and nice. Only one problem was with piloow, who was a little bit hard.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lubomird397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear lubomird397

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience of Mandela Rhode Place Suite Hotel.

We are delighted you were happy with the views of your apartment and that the self-catering options was comfortable. We will certainly look into our pillow quality and appreciate your critique.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

While staying in Cape Town for 15 nights from 29/11/17 I briefly called into Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel foyer / reception area on the 02/12/17. Looking very impressive & also a very nice gift shop on entering the building. Situated a great location central to everything including all the local shops. Highly recommend a visit even if you're not actually staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Stephen N

Wamkelekile! "You're Welcome"

Thank you so much for sharing your sentiments on our amazing Hotel.
No matter if you not staying with us, everyone is welcome to come say hello at anytime. Come discover the history of Tata Madiba on a Free walking tour through our lobby area, take a picture with the Mandela Wire statue or just relax and read a newspaper in the lobby lounge with a cup of the best coffee in town from Motherland Coffee Company.

We certainly appreciate your recommendations and look forward to one day welcoming you as staying guest, to further explore our services and indulge in our ethos of Ubuntu.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Comfort. Convenience. Excellence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews