We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This is an excellent accommodation, friendly staff and great restaurant. Perfect for family or for business purpose.

The hotel is located at the Cape Town city center which makes it perfect for travel for work and for visiting popular sites

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank innocentt752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear innocentt752

THANK YOU!!!
Your review of our amazing Hotel, Mandela Rhodes Place, is very much appreciated.

Location and staff service is very important to us and I am so glad we ticked all the boxes for you.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 1 071 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

Very nice location near long street and nice view of Table Mountain. Huge room.
But only 200MB of internet per day, and no spa in the hotel even tho it says spa in its name. No fitness club inside. Randomly bang on door for room clean at 9:30 am when I was sleeping, so couldnt sleep anymore.
Pros and cons are very clear. Its more like an apartment than a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wanderer751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear wanderer751

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Mandela Rhodes Place.

Internet is limited at this stage to 200mb p/d however we are in the process of changing this to unlimited data with a new mobile device, including free calls. This process is currently in the conversion stage and we hope to officially role this out before end OCT 2017. Our humble apologies this limited your experience whilst with us.

We have not been trading inclusive of a Spa, since Nov 2016 and all details within the Hotel has been updated as such. If you feel there was any miscommunication of this then please do let us know in order that we may further review and ensure this does not occur again.

I am terribly sorry our Housekeeping team woke you at 09h30 for service. All our rooms are fitted with a "Do Not Disturb" sign at the entrance door of the room.

I do hope the pros and cons will not detur you from spending your next Cape Town escape with us.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Overall very good. The gentleman on reception when we arrived and left was superb; very friendly and helpful. The area in which the hotel is located has deteriorated in my view, and I did not feel 100% safe in the surrounding streets

Unfortunately I left a new t shirt behind in the room

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank timothycH2041XF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear timothycH2041XF

Thank you for your review of our amazing property, Mandela Rhodes Place.

I shall convey your sentiments to the Reception team on your appreciation of their helpfulness and friendliness, this certainly delights us!

Please could you make direct contact with us in regards to your t-shirt, we'd like to assist you in finding this item but need to get a few details from you.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Stayed Superior room for 5 nights. Great apartment hotel. But don't expect hotel service. It is more self catered apartment.
Pros:
Convenient location.
Spacious room with kitchen and laundry.
Modern and bright
Great value
Table mountain view with terrace
Some security staff are very friendly and helpful
Great breakfast restaurant (food and service)
Cons:
Weak WIFI (This is the major issue!)
Bathroom looks nice but not practical
Minimum bathroom amenity

If I pay the same or more for standard room at the other hotel, I would choose here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelProNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear TravelProNewYork

Thank you for your reviewing our amazing property, Mandela Rhodes Place.

With the added benefit of a fully fitted kitchen with all luxuries home-away-from-home for self-catering options, all guests have full access to Hotel services and amenities. Wifi is a going concern and receiving our full attention in order to remedy this matter. I am very interested in know your thoughts in regards to the bathroom not being "practical"?

So happy to know that you will return and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Very nice apartments, my apartment just needs a better decorating. In my apartment the hotel internet was very poor. The breakfast was included in my reservation but the two restaurants in the hotel dont have buffet they are fast food restaurants. Hotel guest's have to pay for the car parking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lukeni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Lukeni A

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us at Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Hotel.

All the apartments are currently going through a refurbishment, so I hope on your next visit we can showcase our amazing efforts.

The wifi solution will also be in place shortly with FREE data and calls so the poor internet will be a thing of the past.

The restaurants, Doppio Zero and Motherland Coffee Company, are by no means "fast food" outlets, however the breakfast options available should have been explained to you upon your check-in, I will ensure my team are updated on this to ensure this is done.

Parking is surcharged at R75 per vehicle per night, a standard across all City hotels in Cape Town.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 393 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
393 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 843 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#50 of 112 in Cape Town Central
270 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel

Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 659 - R3 660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing