We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$149
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$360
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$225
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$995
US$670
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$864
US$771
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$400
US$343
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 102)
Filter reviews
1 102 results
Traveller rating
565
380
88
38
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
380
88
38
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetwashing machinefull kitchentwo bedroom apartmenthotel spatable mountaingreenmarket squarefood lovers marketcompany gardensper daycentral locationrooftop poolself cateringtaj hotelgreen market squarehome away from homethe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 1 102 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Very nice location near long street and nice view of Table Mountain. Huge room.
But only 200MB of internet per day, and no spa in the hotel even tho it says spa in its name. No fitness club inside. Randomly bang on door for room clean at 9:30 am when I was sleeping, so couldnt sleep anymore.
Pros and cons are very clear. Its more like an apartment than a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wanderer751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear wanderer751

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Mandela Rhodes Place.

Internet is limited at this stage to 200mb p/d however we are in the process of changing this to unlimited data with a new mobile device, including free calls. This process is currently in the conversion stage and we hope to officially role this out before end OCT 2017. Our humble apologies this limited your experience whilst with us.

We have not been trading inclusive of a Spa, since Nov 2016 and all details within the Hotel has been updated as such. If you feel there was any miscommunication of this then please do let us know in order that we may further review and ensure this does not occur again.

I am terribly sorry our Housekeeping team woke you at 09h30 for service. All our rooms are fitted with a "Do Not Disturb" sign at the entrance door of the room.

I do hope the pros and cons will not detur you from spending your next Cape Town escape with us.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Overall very good. The gentleman on reception when we arrived and left was superb; very friendly and helpful. The area in which the hotel is located has deteriorated in my view, and I did not feel 100% safe in the surrounding streets

Unfortunately I left a new t shirt behind in the room

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank timothycH2041XF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear timothycH2041XF

Thank you for your review of our amazing property, Mandela Rhodes Place.

I shall convey your sentiments to the Reception team on your appreciation of their helpfulness and friendliness, this certainly delights us!

Please could you make direct contact with us in regards to your t-shirt, we'd like to assist you in finding this item but need to get a few details from you.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Stayed Superior room for 5 nights. Great apartment hotel. But don't expect hotel service. It is more self catered apartment.
Pros:
Convenient location.
Spacious room with kitchen and laundry.
Modern and bright
Great value
Table mountain view with terrace
Some security staff are very friendly and helpful
Great breakfast restaurant (food and service)
Cons:
Weak WIFI (This is the major issue!)
Bathroom looks nice but not practical
Minimum bathroom amenity

If I pay the same or more for standard room at the other hotel, I would choose here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelProNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear TravelProNewYork

Thank you for your reviewing our amazing property, Mandela Rhodes Place.

With the added benefit of a fully fitted kitchen with all luxuries home-away-from-home for self-catering options, all guests have full access to Hotel services and amenities. Wifi is a going concern and receiving our full attention in order to remedy this matter. I am very interested in know your thoughts in regards to the bathroom not being "practical"?

So happy to know that you will return and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Very nice apartments, my apartment just needs a better decorating. In my apartment the hotel internet was very poor. The breakfast was included in my reservation but the two restaurants in the hotel dont have buffet they are fast food restaurants. Hotel guest's have to pay for the car parking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lukeni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Lukeni A

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us at Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Hotel.

All the apartments are currently going through a refurbishment, so I hope on your next visit we can showcase our amazing efforts.

The wifi solution will also be in place shortly with FREE data and calls so the poor internet will be a thing of the past.

The restaurants, Doppio Zero and Motherland Coffee Company, are by no means "fast food" outlets, however the breakfast options available should have been explained to you upon your check-in, I will ensure my team are updated on this to ensure this is done.

Parking is surcharged at R75 per vehicle per night, a standard across all City hotels in Cape Town.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Stayed for 4 nights. Realised on last night that money was missing from our bags. Foreign currency went missing from a small, hidden compartment in one bag, and from a 'travel pocket' kept inside another larger bag. I mention this detail to make it clear that bags are obviously thoroughly searched by presumably housekeeping staff.
Security manager investigated but concluded that "no conclusive evidence has been produced to ascertain any wrongdoing by any employees of the hotel".
So, if you choose to stay at this hotel, place ALL your valuables in the safe; knowing that your other possessions in the room will be tampered with.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CapeTownDeidre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear CapeTownDeidre

Thank you for review of Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel.

Unfortunately it seems your facts are very selectively shared in your review, perhaps because you could not supply us with concrete information. All staff were put through an extensive and vigorous investigation, as these matters are taken very seriously by Management. Your accussation of our Housekeeping staff "presumably" or alledgely stealing from you is unfounded for reasons already shared in our report.

Strange that you realise how important the safe is, a security measure put inplace for your very benefit by the Hotel, once something actually happens...

Should you wish to discuss this matter further please contact me directly at the Hotel.

Regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews