We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment, great location, bad wifi connection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We had a huge 2 bedroom apartment for our family of 5 with 2 shower/bath rooms and third toilet room. The accommodation was great, we had everything you would need for a family with young children- kitchen, dining room, longe. The only down side was the very poor wifi connection and daily limit on access, very frustrating!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 497guesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, Front Office Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear 497guesti

It was such an honour and a privilege to have you and your family stay with us here at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and thank you for the lovely review. Our apologies for the wifi frustrations and the limited data amount, however there is a solution that will see FREE unlimited wifi data and FREE calls from August 2017. This is just one of many upgrades we look forward to sharing with all our guests.

We are so thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 126 of 1 072 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017

Would stay in this hotel if you want to be central however if you like to walk out at night then this is the wrong location due to the street beggars that will not leave you alone and you are subject to being mugged, every local will warn you of this. If you are happy to come back in for the night then is great as you get an apartment with everything in it. Would stay in or closer to the V and A as there is security and no beggars with lots to do in the evening and easy to get in to the main city from of foot (day time only).

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank johnmatthewcrowembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear johnmatthewcrowembe

Thank you for your review of our property, although we strongly disagree on the points of security, beggars and being mugged versus staying in or closer to the V and A Waterfront.

We hope to have the opportunity some day soon to welcome you back.

Regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The hotel is centrally located near the local markets and shops. The rooms are clean and the furniture is relatively new and in good condition. Due to the central location, the rooms are quite at night. Security in the hotel is very good and so is the restaurant located in the premises.

Room Tip: High Floor offer a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ida Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear Ida Z

It brings us great joy to read such an amazing review and thank you for taking the time to write it. We appreciate all your comments and trust that we can welcome you back in the future for another wonderful stay.

Best regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

I was pleasantly surprised to find on arrival that I had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. It had everything I required and the only drawback was that when I did a load of laundry the dryer didn't work. I sought help and, as the dryer was located on a shelf in a cupboard, they had trouble getting to the power socket. It required removing a shelf and a hinge off the door and, after they found the switch was turned on and the dryer was faulty, Housekeeping took my wet clothes and dried them overnight.

The hotel is centrally located and the only thing I didn't like was that the bedroom window faced an atrium instead of outside, however this sitting area had a window onto the street. Meals were taken in a café downstairs, where breakfast was very good and I had an excellent pizza one night.

Another problem I encountered, and probably not the hotel's fault, was that they booked a transfer from the airport to the hotel for me and the driver didn't show up.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MikefromBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear MikefromBerry

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on our hotel. We do apologise for the inconveniences experienced however we have ensured these have all been tackled and remedied.

We hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy another great stay with us.

Regards
Terence Duckitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

If you like living in "the centre" of town, you must stay in the Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel. It is one of the best Hotels anywhere I have stayed in, in most countries. The staff are excellent, and the rooms are clean, comfortable, and cannot be faulted. I felt quite at home, as soon as I moved in.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bob2012Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Bob2012Sydney

It was such an honour and a privilege to have you stay with us here at Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Hotel and thank you for the lovely review. We are so thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and I shall be sure to share this feedback with the rest of our team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards
Terence and TEAM-MRP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
392 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 841 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#49 of 112 in Cape Town Central
267 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel

Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 683 - R3 748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing