We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy , stylish,home away from home.”
Review of Dunkley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunkley House
Ranked #97 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Very clean. Great welcome.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Good breakfast. Extra perks,gown and hot water bottle provided,made stay comfortable and Very close to amenities. Sightseeing advice given too
. Just great

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amandakS7605NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017

very nice and friendly staff, very clean, excellent location it takes about 15 minutes by Cab (cheap and easy) to get to the waterfront which is the famous and safe shopping/ going out area; loved the place
הצוות מאוד נחמד, מלון קטן ונקיא ושקט במיקום מעולה, מומלץ בחום Aly-Israel

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1234aly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunkleyhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkley House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Beloved Guest
Thank you for your most valued review, from the look of things you really enjoyed everything and we are glad we managed to meet your expectations and we assure you we will keep improving our standards.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and Thank you.

Kind regards
Dunkley house

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

WE took an impromptu trip to Cape Town recently..Initially I had my wife and I booked into a Backpackers in Muizenberg for 5 days so i could surf....wife was not happy with facilities so i had a lot riding on the 2nd leg of the trip...Fortunately they did not disappoint and we loved our stay at Dunkleys. Great setting, I had brilliant room I believe some rooms are not up to scratch. I liked the communal kitchenette shared by a few rooms with an honesty bar...very convenient and helpful to warm up food and use fridge~ One of the better places we have stayed at in CT..great and convenient location..parking is a bit iffy as your vehicles are vulnerable on the street nowadays...a few niggles like very weak Wi-Fi in our room that really messed us around, and I woke up one night with the aircon dripping water on my face..other than that I will very likely be back during summer when they are in full swing with full staff compliment...Breakfast was sufficient without winning any awards, but definitely did the job. Good experience and we were sad to leave~

Room Tip: perhaps insist on them putting you in one of the best rooms....this whilst they renovate the other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyh51904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

I recently spent 3 weeks at Dunkley house in the lovely room 10 and found it delightful! The staff was always helpful, and in a rarity, any problem I had with the room was promptly fixed the next day. The location is quite convenient with many good restaurants in safe walking distance. It was extremely good value for the location, room and lovely staff. Many thanks to all of you!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank spressner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

I chose the place because there as something (cant remember what exactly) that I really liked about its online presence. I must admit my expectations were exceeded when we were showed our room. it was spacious, modern, clean and trendy.
Quality of sleep was really good too.
The breakfast was adequate, their muffins were delicious. And the staff is generally friendly.
WIFI was weak from the rooms.
Downfall came when on our second day there we get a call and we are told that they double booked us with another couple and we therefore need to change rooms. At this point we were on our way to Franschoek for the day. So they ended up having to move our stuff from the one room to another. Obviously I have plenty issues with this whole scenario however there was nothing I could do.
The room we were moved to was smaller with less amenities but it was also quite trendy and futuristic even though some of the fancy features didn't quite work.
I just feel like there was a better way to have handled that situation and so an average rating is all I can give, based on this.
I had forgotten my watch there when we checked out and we were contacted to arrange how I can get it back. This was impressive.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potlakol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Winchester Mansions
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 158 reviews
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
#21 of 112 in Cape Town Central
370 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 447 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 617 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkley House

Address: 3B Gordon Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 952 - R 1 823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Dunkley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in Cape Town's crown, Dunkley House is a shining example of how modern design and styling can enhance a period property's original features. From a family residence built in the early 1900's, we have created an elegant, contemporary boutique guest establishment in a quaint Victorian street in Cape Town's historic old quarter offering luxury accommodation in the City Bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunkley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing